Health and Safety Officer (Revised) F0730

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety or fire science.
CEU’s 1.6
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0730.pdf PDF 97.7KB
Training Specialist

Michael Stern
michael.stern@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1253

Upcoming offerings

August 9 - 10, 2017 | September 16 - 17, 2017 | November 27 - 28, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course examines the Health and Safety Officer's role in identifying, evaluating and implementing policy and procedures that affect health and safety aspects for emergency responders. Risk analysis, wellness, and other occupational safety issues will be the main emphasis of this course.

Selection criteria

Individuals who have department-level health and safety responsibilities. Individuals attending this course should have working knowledge of the Incident Command System as taught by the National Fire Academy, working knowledge of applicable National Fire Protection Association and Occupational Safety and Health Administration requirements and recommendations, and responsibility for setting policy for the department on such issues.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
August 9 - 10, 2017 Washington, District of Columbia

Erika Temple
Emergency Management State Training Officer
DCHSEMA
202-481-3022
erika.temple@dc.gov

Russell Smith
Captain
DC Fire & EMS
202-673-3251
russell.smith@dc.gov

Course coordination plan
September 16 - 17, 2017 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Walter Morris
Training Program Manager
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-205-2762
wmorris@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
November 27 - 28, 2017 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 12 - 13, 2018 Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Michael Clauson
Battalion Chief of Training
Sioux Falls Fire Rescue
605-773-6961
mclauson@siouxfalls.org

Course coordination plan
February 24 - 25, 2018 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Chris Beaumont
Chairman
Eastern Maine Community College
207-447-2205
cbeaumont@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments