Preparation for Initial Company Operations F0458

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in firefighting operations or fire science.

This two-day course is designed to develop a better understanding of the role and responsibilities of Company Officers (COs) in preparing their company for incident operations and to clarify the transition from firefighter to CO and the new roles relating to leadership and safety.

This course is designed for COs, acting COs, or senior firefighters responsible for the management of a single fire company at an emergency incident, including those officers who are responsible for company readiness, personnel safety, and leadership as it relates to company operation.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0458.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0458.pdf PDF 133KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

COs, acting officers, or senior firefighters who command a fire company during emergency operations.

Those officers who are responsible for maintaining skills and company readiness.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 7 - 8, 2020 Forsyth, Georgia

Ike McConnell
Director
GPSTC
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Jorge O Roque
PST III
GPSTC
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2020 Nampa, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coodinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Jeff Mutchie
Division Chief of Training
Nampa Fire Department
208-468-5770
mutchiej@cityofnampa.us

Course coordination plan
January 6 - 7, 2021 Owatonna, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Ryan Seykora
Training Chief
Owatonna Fire Department
507-444-2454
ryan.seykora@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Pewaukee, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Kevin Gerarden
Executive Secretary
Wisconsin Society of Emergency Services Instructors
920-235-5494
kgerarden@wsesi.org

Courtney Hall Carlson
Associate Dean of Fire/EMS Training
Waukesha County Technical College
262-691-5363
chull1@wctc.edu

Course coordination plan
March 13 - 14, 2021 West Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Matt Berg
Training Chief
West Fargo Fire Department
701-799-9059
matthew.berg@westfargond.gov

Course coordination plan
June 12 - 13, 2021 Lexington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course is a good foundation of the company officer position and what it entails.