Preparation for Initial Company Operations F0458

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in firefighting operations or fire science.

This two-day course is designed to develop a better understanding of the role and responsibilities of Company Officers (COs) in preparing their company for incident operations and to clarify the transition from firefighter to CO and the new roles relating to leadership and safety.

This course is designed for COs, acting COs, or senior firefighters responsible for the management of a single fire company at an emergency incident, including those officers who are responsible for company readiness, personnel safety, and leadership as it relates to company operation.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

COs, acting officers, or senior firefighters who command a fire company during emergency operations.

Those officers who are responsible for maintaining skills and company readiness.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 14 - 15, 2019 Cancelled Enosburgh Falls, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
January 7 - 8, 2020 Cancelled Waukegan, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
University of Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Brett Stickels
Battalion Chief
Waukegan Fire Department
847-625-6895
brett.stickels@waukeganil.gov

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2020 Silvis, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
University of Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Darrin Armstrong
Training Officer
Silvis Fire Department
309-792-4815
dragondar@mchsi.com

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2020 Cancelled Boise, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

Bob Kielty
Division Chief Training
Boise Fire Department
208-570-6664
bkielty@cityofboise.org

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2020 Boise, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

Bob Kielty
Division Chief Training
Boise Fire Department
208-570-6664
bkielty@cityofboise.org

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 14 - 15, 2020 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2020 Dubuque, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Greg Harris
Assistant Chief
Dubuque Fire Department
563-543-6525
gharris@cityofdubuque.org

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2020 Opelousas, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Richard Joseph
Training Chief
Opelousas Fire Department
337-948-2586
training@opelousasfire.org

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2020 McLean, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Eric Fulk
Fire Chief
Mount Hope-Funks Grove Fire Protection District
309-874-2532
eric.fulk@mhfgfire.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course is a good foundation of the company officer position and what it entails.