Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Preparation for Initial Company Operations F0458

Training Specialist


Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.6

ACE recommendation


In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in firefighting operations or fire science.

This two-day course is designed to develop a better understanding of the role and responsibilities of Company Officers (COs) in preparing their company for incident operations and to clarify the transition from firefighter to CO and the new roles relating to leadership and safety.

This course is designed for COs, acting COs, or senior firefighters responsible for the management of a single fire company at an emergency incident, including those officers who are responsible for company readiness, personnel safety, and leadership as it relates to company operation.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0458.pdf PDF 74KB
Course Syllabus: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0458.pdf PDF 133KB

COs, acting officers, or senior firefighters who command a fire company during emergency operations.

Those officers who are responsible for maintaining skills and company readiness.

None

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 15 - 16, 2022 Maumelle, Arkansas Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu Michael Cossey
Division Chief
Maumelle Fire Department
501-851-1337
cossey@gmail.com
CCP
October 26 - 27, 2022 Fairbanks, Alaska Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov Scott Raygor
Acting Fire Chief
Fairbanks Fire Department
907-687-8172
sraygor@fairbanks.us
CCP
December 10 - 11, 2022 Norfolk, Nebraska Alan Joos
Chief
TD-SFM
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov Bill Pfeifer
Training Coordinator
TD-SFM
308-385-6892
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov
CCP
February 25 - 26, 2023 Owensboro, Kentucky Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
270-273-3187
Jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu Marc Rudder
Director
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu
CCP
May 6 - 7, 2023 Boise, Idaho Karine Johnson
Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
Karine.johnson@cte.idaho.gov Steve Rasulo
Division Chief
Boise Fire Department
208-573-7806
srasulo@cityofboise.org
CCP