usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Preparation for Initial Company Operations F0458

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in firefighting operations or fire science.

This two-day course is designed to develop a better understanding of the role and responsibilities of Company Officers (COs) in preparing their company for incident operations and to clarify the transition from firefighter to CO and the new roles relating to leadership and safety.

This course is designed for COs, acting COs, or senior firefighters responsible for the management of a single fire company at an emergency incident, including those officers who are responsible for company readiness, personnel safety, and leadership as it relates to company operation.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0458.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0458.pdf PDF 133KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

COs, acting officers, or senior firefighters who command a fire company during emergency operations.

Those officers who are responsible for maintaining skills and company readiness.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
November 6 - 7, 2021 Cheney, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Ryan Power
Division Chief
Spokane County Fire District 3
509-235-6645
rpower@scfd3.org

Course coordination plan
November 13 - 14, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
December 4 - 5, 2021 Kearney, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
January 22 - 23, 2022 Omaha, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal Training Division
308-385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Darin Lintner
Training Specialist
Nebraska State Fire Marshal Training Division
402-269-0856
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
January 29 - 30, 2022 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chad Cutshaw
Deputy Fire Chief
Grand Forks Fire Department
701-746-2566
ccutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
April 12 - 13, 2022 Sugarland, Texas

Tommy Jacobs
Regional Manager - Region 2
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
254-289-2232
tommy.jacobs@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Javier Crespo
Assistant Chief
Sugarland Fire Department
281-275-2873
jcrespo@suagrlandtx.gov

Course coordination plan
August 9 - 10, 2022 Gulfport, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov

Eric Valles
Training Chief
Gulfport Fire Department
228-229-0253
evalles@gulfport-ms.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course is a good foundation of the company officer position and what it entails.