usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations W0455

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day on-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or fire technology.

This two-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of one or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0455.pdf PDF 219KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_w0455.pdf PDF 135KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Apply online if you are interested in attending a state or national weekend program.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
April 9 - 10, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

James Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-294-2285
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Paul Froman
Maine State Weekend Coordinator
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
pfroman@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
June 25 - 26, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jack Smith
Superintendent
Ohio Division of State Fire Marshal - Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
jack.smith@com.state.oh.us

Dave Belcher
Instructor
Ohio Division of State Fire Marshal - Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
belcher591@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina Marie Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@dbr.ri.gov

Mark St. Pierre
Chief/Coordinator
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
July 16 - 17, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Jeni Binkley
Secretary / Treasurer
Michigan State Firemen's Association
910-635-9513
office@msfassoc.net

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Zach Westfall
Field Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security - Fire Academy
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov

Megan Thiele
Field Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security - Fire Academy
317-518-4645
mthiele@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Excellent refresher on many topics that we do not see in our day-to-day operations.