Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations W0455

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-Day On-Campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or public safety.

This two-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of one or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_w0455.pdf PDF 135KB
Course Syllabus
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0455.pdf PDF 219KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual

Selection criteria

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Virginia and North Carolina: Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending. All other states: Apply online.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
February 8 - 9, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
240-832-2928
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
MFRI
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

John B. Gilmore Jr
State Training Director
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services/ Office of Fire Prevention & Control
518-242-5249
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief, Fire Operations & Training Branch
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services/ Office of Fire Prevention & Control
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
May 30 - 31, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
Administrative Officer I
PA State Fire Academy
717-247-2737
tebrooks@pa.gov

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina Marie Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@sfm.dps.ri.gov

Mark A. St. Pierre
Chief
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
August 15 - 16, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Vincent Miller
Training Administrator
Delaware State Fire School
302-739-4773
vincenet.miller@delaware.gov

Vincent Miller
Training Administrator
Delaware State Fire School
302-739-4773
vincent.miller@delaware.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Excellent refresher on many topics that we do not see in our day-to-day operations.