Shaping the Future F0602

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.
CEU’s 1.4
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0602.pdf PDF 119KB
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

February 24 - 25, 2018 | April 7 - 8, 2018 | April 19 - 20, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving. Topics include use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations; applying problem-solving methodologies; the importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations; how to quantify problems and solutions; factors in organizational and individual resistance to change; and strategies for implementing change. The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Selection criteria

• First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

• Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.

• Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
February 24 - 25, 2018 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2018 Pierre, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Ian Paul
Fire Chief
Pierre Fire Department
605-773-7401
ian.paul@ci.fpierre.sd.us

Course coordination plan
April 19 - 20, 2018 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
April 25 - 26, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
Julie.olsen-fink@state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
May 3 - 4, 2018 Prescott Valley, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

John Feddema
Training Chief
Central Arizona Fire and Medical
928-759-6934
jfeddema@cazfire.org

Course coordination plan
August 14 - 15, 2018 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Academic Instructor
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 West Memphis, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Jeff Jones
Assistant Fire Chief
West Memphis Fire Department
870-732-7570
wmfire60@aol.com

Course coordination plan
September 18 - 19, 2018 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-222-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Jeff Phillips
Assistant Director
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments