usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, public administration, emergency management, or emergency medical services.

This is 2-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
August 4 - 5, 2021 Cancelled Laredo, Texas

Scott Matthews
Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-324-6089
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Chris Hughes
Deputy Chief - Training
Laredo Fire Department
956-718-6000
chughes@ci.laredo.tx.us

Course coordination plan
August 4 - 5, 2021 Edinburg, Texas

Dallas Renfrew
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-324-6089
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Projects Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Ubaldo Perez
Deputy Chief
Edinburg Fire Department
956-383-7691
bperez@cityofedinburg.com

Course coordination plan
September 24 - 25, 2021 West Jordan, Utah

David Owens
Assistant Director of Operations
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
daveo@uvu.edu

Travis Ball
Training Captain
West Jordan Fire Department
801-260-7345
travis.ball@westjordan.utah.gov

Course coordination plan
October 16 - 17, 2021 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.davies@us.af.mil

Course coordination plan
November 13 - 14, 2021 Rogers, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Cliff Thompson
Deputy Chief
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
cthompson@rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan
November 16 - 17, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
January 20 - 21, 2022 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Barney P. Hanson
Fire Fighter III- TRB Administrative Section
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
January 26 - 27, 2022 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 30, 2022 - May 1, 2022 Jacksonville, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Grant Warner
Division Chief Training
Jacksonville Fire Department
501-951-0028
gwarner@cityofjacksonville.net

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.