usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, public administration, emergency management, or emergency medical services.

This is 2-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 26 - 27, 2022 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 19 - 20, 2022 Elko, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Jack Snyder
Deputy Chief
Elko Fire Department
775-777-7350
jssnyder@elkocitynv.gov

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2022 Sparta, Wisconsin

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Blake Deiber
Fire District Coordinator
Western Technical College
608-789-4747
deiberb@westerntc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 30, 2022 - May 1, 2022 Jacksonville, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Grant Warner
Division Chief Training
Jacksonville Fire Department
501-951-0028
gwarner@cityofjacksonville.net

Course coordination plan
May 16 - 17, 2022 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Jack Beall
Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
888-691-4628
jbeall@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
May 19 - 20, 2022 Lihue, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Jeremy Cole
Training Captain
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4165
kfdtrain@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 22, 2022 Grand Island, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal - Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.