Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.
This two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving. Topics include use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations; applying problem-solving methodologies; the importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations; how to quantify problems and solutions; factors in organizational and individual resistance to change; and strategies for implementing change. The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

• First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

• Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.

• Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
August 14 - 15, 2018 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Academic Instructor
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 West Memphis, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Jeff Jones
Assistant Fire Chief
West Memphis Fire Department
870-732-7570
wmfire60@aol.com

Course coordination plan
September 18 - 19, 2018 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-222-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Jeff Phillips
Assistant Director
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
October 6 - 7, 2018 Miles City, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
October 6 - 7, 2018 Rogers, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director of Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
Jrubow@sautech.edu

Joey Everhart
Captain
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
Weverhart@Rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan
October 9 - 10, 2018 Tulsa, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordinator
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Greta Hurt
Chief
Tulsa Fire Department
918-596-1989
ghurt@cityoftulsa.org

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2018 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
Creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Firefighter Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
Pmetcalf@osufst.org

Louis Marschik
Public Educator Instructor
Oklahoma City Fire Department
405-297-3318
Louis.marschik@okc.gov

Course coordination plan
October 23 - 24, 2018 Fairbanks, Alaska

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
Department of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Scott Raygor
Battalion Chief
Fairbanks Fire Department
907-450-6673
sraygor@fairbanks.us

Course coordination plan
November 2 - 3, 2018 Minden, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Gray Young
Coordinator
LSU FETI
225-202-8835
gyoung01@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
January 14 - 15, 2019 New Braunfels, Texas

Darren Smith
Regional Manager
TEEX/ESTI
210-269-9437
darren.smith@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Donny Obuch
Battalion Chief - Training
New Braunfels Fire Department
830-221-4260
DObuch@nbtexas.org

Course coordination plan
March 4 - 5, 2019 Virginia, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Dustin Erickson
Training Chief
Virginia Fire Department
218-290-3809
ericksond@virginiamn.us

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2019 La Crosse, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Annette Geisler
Executive Assistant
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
800-588-2989
wsfa@wi-state-firefighters.org

Course coordination plan
March 9 - 10, 2019 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
March 19 - 20, 2019 Henderson, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Monica Day
Training Officer
Henderson Fire Department
702-267-2290
Monica.Day@cityofhenderson.com

Course coordination plan