usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, public administration, emergency management, or emergency medical services.

This is 2-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
August 11 - 12, 2022 Draper, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
dave.owens@uvu.edu

Dennis Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

Steve Chaffin
Fire Inspector
Draper City Fire Department
385-253-0592
steve.chaffin@draperutah.gov

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2022 Salt Lake City, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
dave.owens@uvu.edu

Dennis Goudy
QA Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

David Chugg
Battalion Chief, Training Division
Salt Lake City Fire Department
801-535-1922
david.chugg@slcgov.com

Course coordination plan
October 8 - 9, 2022 Omaha, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
TD-SFM
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Darin Lintner
Training Coordinator
TD-SFM
308-385-6892
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2022 Reno, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Dennis Pinkerton
Bureau Chief
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7520
dpinkerton@dps.state.nv.us

Joe Schum
Division Chief
Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District
775-326-6000
jschum@tmfpd.us

Course coordination plan
January 10 - 11, 2023 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
January 14 - 15, 2023 Dickinson, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Jared Rhode
Training Officer
Dickinson Fire Department
920-598-0126
jared.rhode@dickinsongov.com

Course coordination plan
February 3 - 4, 2023 Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Mark Schwartz
Fire Coordinator
Chippewa Valley Technical College
715-855-7515
mschwartz11@cvtc.edu

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2023 Lehi, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director - Operations
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
daveo@uvu.edu

Dennis R. Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

Vicki Utley
Lehi Campus Coordinator
Utah Valley University
801-863-6225
utley@uvu.edu

Course coordination plan
February 21 - 22, 2023 Mukilteo, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Michael Lingrey
Division Chief of Training
Everett Fire Department
425-257-8131
mlingrey@everettwa.gov

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2023 Center Rutland, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2023 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2023 Forsyth, Georgia

Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Fire Academy
478-999-3467
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Jorge O. Roque Jr.
Instructor
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4685
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
March 22 - 23, 2023 Bullhead City, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Rink Gordon
Captain
Bullhead City Fire Department
928-758-3971
rgordon@bullheadfire.org

Course coordination plan
April 15 - 16, 2023 Rogers, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Brian Ervin
Assistant Chief
Avoca Fire Department
479-631-6551
avocafire702@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
May 18 - 19, 2023 Lihue, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov

Jeremy Cole
Training Captain
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4165
kfdtrain@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.