Shaping the Future F0602

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.
CEU’s 1.4
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0602.pdf PDF https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0602.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

January 28 - 29, 2017 | February 11 - 12, 2017 | March 16 - 17, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving. Topics include use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations; applying problem-solving methodologies; the importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations; how to quantify problems and solutions; factors in organizational and individual resistance to change; and strategies for implementing change. The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Selection criteria

• First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

• Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.

• Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 28 - 29, 2017 Cancelled Moorhead, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshals Division
651-295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Rick Loveland
Fire Program Manager
M State - Moorhead Campus
701-261-5363
mfd@arvig.net

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 Socorro, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
NMFTA
575-835-7509
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Course coordination plan
March 16 - 17, 2017 Hilo, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
State Fire Council (SFC)
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Edmond Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
State Fire Council (SFC)
808-723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2017 St. Cloud, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
MN State Fire Marshal Division
651-295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Michael Thompson
Division Chief of Training
Saint Cloud Fire Department
320-492-7825
michael.thompson@ci.stcloud.mn.us

Course coordination plan
May 10 - 11, 2017 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
May 15 - 16, 2017 West Jordan, Utah

Brad Wardle
Assistant Director of Training
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7718
Bradley.wardle@uvu.edu

Mike Powell
Training Captain
West Jordan Fire Department
801-260-7345
mikep@wjordan.com

Course coordination plan
June 5 - 6, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
September 18 - 19, 2017 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
September 21 - 22, 2017 Concord, New Hampshire

Jeffrey Phillips
Bureau Chief
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH DOS, Division of Fire Standards, Training and EMS
603-223-4200
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments