Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.

This is two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
July 13 - 14, 2019 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
August 19 - 20, 2019 Layton, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-540-0225
daveo@uvu.edu

Scott Maughan
Battalion Chief
Layton Fire Department
801-336-3950
smaughan@laytoncity.org

Course coordination plan Yes
August 22 - 23, 2019 Layton, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-540-0225
daveo@uvu.edu

Scott Maughan
Battalion Chief
Layton Fire Department
801-336-3950
smaughan@laytoncity.org

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
October 1 - 2, 2019 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
October 19 - 20, 2019 Blountville, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-224-0851
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Ben Wexler
Region Coordinator
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-434-7000
ben.wexler@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2019 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2019 Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge O. Roque Jr.
PSTI III
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2019 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
860-627-6363
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
December 3 - 4, 2019 Watertown, South Dakota

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota State Fire Marshal's Office
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-237-9998
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
January 22 - 23, 2020 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Darren Cluff
Division Chief
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District
928-537-5123
dcluff@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
February 1 - 2, 2020 Moscow, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

Scott Williams
Training Officer
Moscow Fire Department
208-883-7082
swilliams@ci.moscow.id.us

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2020 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Christopher Pieper
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-476-6760
cpieper@fargond.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2020 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Educational Specialist
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Malvern, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Jonathan Farber
Training Officer
Malvern Fire Department
501-332-7611
jfarber@malvernar.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Salem, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-561-7460
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
March 3 - 4, 2020 Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Chad Roberson
Training Officer
Saint George Fire Protection District
225-454-6550
fcroberson@stgeorgefire.com

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2020 Lexington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.