Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Dave Donohue
301-447-1094

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, public administration, emergency management, or emergency medical services.

This is two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
March 22 - 23, 2021 Monroe, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Greg Hill
Training Officer
Monroe Fire Department
318-366-6552
greg.hill@cimonroe.la.us

Course coordination plan
April 6 - 7, 2021 Mesquite, Texas

Ken King
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
903-818-1823
ken.king@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Projects Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2021 The Villages, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA State Coordinator
Florida Division of State Fire Marshal
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Robert Ramage
Division Chief
The Villages Public Safety Department
352-875-2667
robert.ramagejr@districtgov.org

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2021 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 24 - 25, 2021 Marquette, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Michigan Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Tom LaTourneau
Engineer
Marquette Fire Department
906-251-8556
tlatourneau@marquettemi.gov

Course coordination plan
July 15 - 16, 2021 Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center For Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Carl Stello
Battalion Chief/Training Officer
lake Havasu City Fire Department
928-855-4396
stelloc@lhcaz.gov

Course coordination plan
July 22 - 23, 2021 Lihue, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Adam Hussey
Training Bureau Captain
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4165
ahussey@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
August 4 - 5, 2021 Laredo, Texas

Scott Matthews
Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-324-6089
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Chris Hughes
Deputy Chief - Training
Laredo Fire Department
956-718-6000
chughes@ci.laredo.tx.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.