Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.

This is two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
January 22 - 23, 2020 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Darren Cluff
Division Chief
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District
928-537-5123
dcluff@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
February 1 - 2, 2020 Moscow, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

Scott Williams
Training Officer
Moscow Fire Department
208-883-7082
swilliams@ci.moscow.id.us

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2020 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Christopher Pieper
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-476-6760
cpieper@fargond.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2020 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Educational Specialist
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Malvern, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Jonathan Farber
Training Officer
Malvern Fire Department
501-332-7611
jfarber@malvernar.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Salem, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-561-7460
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
March 3 - 4, 2020 Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Chad Roberson
Training Officer
Saint George Fire Protection District
225-454-6550
fcroberson@stgeorgefire.com

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2020 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2020 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2020 Lexington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
July 8 - 9, 2020 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan Yes
August 18 - 19, 2020 Pascagoula, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Jon Hyatt
Chief of Training
Pascagoula Fire Department
228-990-7279
jhyatt@cityofpascagoula.com

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certifications Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.