Shaping the Future F0602

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.

This is two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving.

Topics include:

  • Use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations.
  • Applying problem-solving methodologies.
  • The importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations.
  • How to quantify problems and solutions.
  • Factors in organizational and individual resistance to change.
  • Strategies for implementing change.

The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

  • First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.
  • Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.
  • Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
January 14 - 15, 2019 New Braunfels, Texas

Darren Smith
Regional Manager
TEEX/ESTI
210-269-9437
darren.smith@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Donny Obuch
Battalion Chief - Training
New Braunfels Fire Department
830-221-4260
DObuch@nbtexas.org

Course coordination plan
March 4 - 5, 2019 Virginia, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Dustin Erickson
Training Chief
Virginia Fire Department
218-290-3809
ericksond@virginiamn.us

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2019 La Crosse, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Annette Geisler
Executive Assistant
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
800-588-2989
wsfa@wi-state-firefighters.org

Course coordination plan
March 9 - 10, 2019 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
March 19 - 20, 2019 Henderson, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Monica Day
Training Officer
Henderson Fire Department
702-267-2290
Monica.Day@cityofhenderson.com

Course coordination plan
May 4 - 5, 2019 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
May 4 - 5, 2019 Tulsa, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University
405-744-5727
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordinator
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Greta Hurt
Chief
Tulsa Fire Department
918-596-1989
ghurt@cityoftulsa.org

Course coordination plan
May 13 - 14, 2019 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
July 13 - 14, 2019 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information on dealing with issues that can impact the fire service.