Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations F0455

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or public safety.

This two-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of one or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0455.pdf PDF 219KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0455.pdf PDF 135KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
January 8 - 9, 2020 South Saint Paul, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal-Training
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-201-7219
Jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Mike Nelson
Training Chief
South Metro Fire Rescue
612-760-5707
MNelson@southmetrofire.com

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2020 Eagle River, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Fire Training Coordinator
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Richard Boothby
State Fire Marshal
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & life Safety
907-269-5491
richard.boothby@alaska.gov

Chris Wilkins
Training Coordinator
Chugiak Volunteer Fire and Rescue Company
907-694-2010
chris.wilkins@cvfrd.com

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Belgrade, Montana

Terry Larson
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-868-0655
terry.larson@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2020 Miller, South Dakota

Michael Jones
State Training Coordinator
South Dakota State Fire Marshal's Office
605-280-8165
michael.jones@state.sd.us

Adam Seeklander
Training Officer
Miller Fire Department
605-695-8712
aseeklander@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
January 25 - 26, 2020 Belfair, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Angie McCormick/Scott Cooper
Administrative Assistant/Assistant Chief
North Mason Regional Fire Authority
360-275-6711
amccormick@northmasonrfa.com

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2020 Ninilchik, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Fire Training Coordinator
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Richard Boothby
State Fire Marshal
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & Life Safety
907-269-5491
richard.boothby@alaska.gov

David Bear
Chief Officer
Ninilchik Emergency Services
907-953-0355
davidbear68@live.com

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2020 Carlsbad, New Mexico

Sharlynn Montoya
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Sharlynn.Montoya@state.nm.us

Richard Burks
Captain
Eddy County Fire Service
575-628-5450
rburks@eddycofire.org

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2020 Mason City, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.ua

Aaron Beemer
Deputy Chief
Mason City Fire Department
641-421-3640
abeemer@masoncity.net

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2020 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
May 2 - 3, 2020 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certifications Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
August 4 - 5, 2020 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is useful for anyone who has aspirations to promote or who has to regularly fill in "out of title."