Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations F0455

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or fire technology.

This two-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of one or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0455.pdf PDF 219KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0455.pdf PDF 135KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
October 6 - 7, 2020 Sierra Vista, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center For Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Johnathan Popp
Battalion Chief of Training
Fry Fire District
520-378-2222
jpopp@fryfiredistrict.com

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2020 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
October 24 - 25, 2020 Cancelled Bennington, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Program Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2755
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2020 Fort Dodge, Iowa

John Kraemer
Bureau Chief
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
kraemer@dps.state.ia.us

Steve Hergenreter
Fire Chief
Fort Dodge Fire Department
515-576-1031
shergenreter@fortdodgeiowa.org

Course coordination plan
November 14 - 15, 2020 Lewistown, Montana

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Luke Shevela
Training Officer
Lewistown Fire Department
406-535-1780
l.shevela@ci.lewistown.mt.us

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2020 Jackson, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Billy Johnson
Chief of Training
Jackson Fire Department
601-960-2298
bjohnson@jacksonms.gov

Course coordination plan
December 9 - 10, 2020 Forsyth, Georgia

Ike McConnell
Director
GPSTC
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Jorge O Roque
PST III
GPSTC
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2020 Little Rock, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Brent Buford
Captain
Little Rock Fire Department
501-569-4107
bbufford@littlerock.gov

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2021 North Platte, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
SFM Nebraska - Training Division
308-385-6893
missy.meyer@nebraska.gov

Ralph Moul
Training Specialist
SFM Nebraska - Training Division
308-726-5715
ralph.moul@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2021 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chris Pieper
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-715-0971
cpieper@fargond.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Glendive, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 El Paso, Texas

Tony Lenard
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
830-370-9636
tony.lenard@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Projects Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Jonathan Killings
Training Deputy Chief
El Paso Fire Department
915-212-5301
killingsjp@elpasotexas.gov

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2021 Lihue, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Adam Hussey
Training Bureau Captain
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4165
ahussey@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
April 6 - 7, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
April 13 - 14, 2021 Gulfport, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Eric Valles
Training Chief
Gulfport Fire Department
228-229-0253
evalles@gulfport-ms.gov

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2021 Dillon, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
June 10 - 11, 2021 Lexington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
July 13 - 14, 2021 Jackson, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is useful for anyone who has aspirations to promote or who has to regularly fill in "out of title."