usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations F0455

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or fire technology.

This two-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of one or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0455.pdf PDF 219KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0455.pdf PDF 135KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 23 - 24, 2021 Cancelled Superior, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Tim Halbur
Fire Services Director
Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College
715-234-7082
tim.halbur@witc.edu

Course coordination plan
September 23 - 24, 2021 Rice Lake, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
Angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Tim Halbur
Fire Services Director
Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College
715-234-7082
Tim.halbur@witc.edu

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Cancelled Montour Falls, New York

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NYS DHSES, Office of Fire Prevention
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov

John Gilmore
Branch Chief
NYS DHSES, Office of Fire Prevention
518-474-6746
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Bryan Monacelli
Deputy Chief
NYS DHSES, Office of Fire Prevention
607-535-7136
bryan.monacelli@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
October 7 - 8, 2021 Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
WI Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
WI Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Bethany Julson
Office Coordinator II
Milwaukee Fire Department
414-286-5289
bjulso@milwaukee.gov

Course coordination plan
October 12 - 13, 2021 Vicksburg, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov

Courtney Reed
Training Officer
Vicksburg Fire Department
601-634-4510
creed@vicksburg.org

Course coordination plan
October 16 - 17, 2021 Norwich, Connecticut

Mark Waters
Unit Leader
CT Fire Academy
860-608-5437
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
October 23 - 24, 2021 Forrest City, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Zakk Jumper
Training Officer
Forrest City Fire Department
870-633-2414
zakkjumper@forrestcityfire.com

Course coordination plan
October 23 - 24, 2021 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy Vancleve
Coorinator
SFRT Area 3
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
SFRT
270-273-3187
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2021 Rio Rancho, New Mexico

Sharlynn M. Montoya
Administrative Services Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
Sharlynn.Montoya@state.nm.us

Jimmy Defillippo
Deputy Chief
Rio Rancho Fire Rescue Department
505-891-5281
jdefillippo@rrnm.gov

Course coordination plan
January 15 - 16, 2022 Northfield, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Alburgh, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Chillicothe, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-333-3800
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Tim Strunk
Assistant Chief
Chillicothe Community Fire Protection District
309-274-3567
tstrunk@chillifd.com

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2022 Fond du Lac, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Jim Austad
President
Wisconsin Society of Emergency Services Instructors
920-735-5633
austad@fvtc.edu

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 5 - 6, 2022 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2022 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Barney P. Hanson
Fire Fighter III- TRB Administrative Section
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2022 Elk City, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Danny Britton
Business Director
Western Technology Center
580-243-8212
dbritton@westtech.edu

Course coordination plan
April 20 - 21, 2022 Bullhead City, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Rink Gordon
Administrative Captain
Bullhead City Fire Department
928-758-3971
rgordon@bullheadfire.org

Course coordination plan
April 25 - 26, 2022 Mustang, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Josh Moore
Training Officer
Mustang Fire Department
405-476-5115
jmoore@cityofmustang.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is useful for anyone who has aspirations to promote or who has to regularly fill in "out of title."