Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations F0455

Training Specialist


Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.5

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire science or fire technology.

This 2-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of 1 or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0455.pdf PDF 219KB
Course Syllabus: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0455.pdf PDF 135KB

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 11 - 12, 2023 Concord, New Hampshire
Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov
CCP
March 4 - 5, 2023 Woodward, Oklahoma
Caroline Reed
Director
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Paddy Metcalf
Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org
Steven Rogers
Director
High Plains Career Tech
405-216-3665
srogers@hptc.edu
CCP
March 9 - 10, 2023 La Crosse, Wisconsin
Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Annette Geisler
Executive Assistant
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
608-401-1650
wsfa@wi-state-firefighters.org
CCP
March 18 - 19, 2023 Chester, Vermont
Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov
CCP
March 25 - 26, 2023 Boise, Idaho
Karine Johnson
Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
Karine.johnson@cte.idaho.gov
Steve Rasulo
Division Chief
Boise Fire Department
208-573-7806
srasulo@cityofboise.org
CCP
April 1 - 2, 2023 Cancelled Elk City, Oklahoma
Caroline Reed
Director
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Paddy Metcalf
Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org
Dannie Britton
Director
Western Technology Center
580-243-8212
dbritton@westtech.edu
CCP
April 4 - 5, 2023 Pascagoula, Mississippi
David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov
Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov
Jon Hyatt
Chief of Training
Pascagoula Fire Department
228-990-7279
jhyatt@cityofpascagoula.com
CCP
April 18 - 19, 2023 Fort Wainwright, Alaska
Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.mcmichael@alaska.gov
Justin Boddy
Captain
Fort Wainwright Fire Department
907-353-6981
justinmboddy@gmail.com
CCP
May 18 - 19, 2023 Coos Bay, Oregon
Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
DPSST
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
DPSST
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov
Connor Lane
Southern Oregon Fire Training Coordinator
DPSST
541-302-9264
connor.lane@dpsst.oregon.gov
CCP
June 23 - 24, 2023 Junction City, Kansas
James Zeeb
Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-7227
JZeeb@ku.edu
Ian Strickland
Operations Chief
Junction City Fire Depatrment
785-238-6822
ian.strickland@jcks.com
CCP
July 11 - 12, 2023 Yuma, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Paul Evancho
Fire Captain/Training Officer
Yuma Fire Department
928-373-7016
Paul.evancho@yumaaz.gov
CCP
July 13 - 14, 2023 Socorro, New Mexico
Austin Meuli
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico State Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
austin.meuli@state.nm.us
CCP
July 25 - 26, 2023 Greenville, Mississippi
David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov
Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov
Lonagcio Smith
Division Chief of Training
Greenville Fire Department
662-378-1616
lsmith@greenvillems.org
CCP
August 17 - 18, 2023 Bluemont, Virginia
Kristoffer McAlister
Training and Safety Officer
Mount Weather Fire Department
540-542-2660
kristoffer.mcAlister@fema.dhs.gov
CCP
August 24 - 25, 2023 Kahului, Hawaii
Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov
Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov
Clement Enomoto
Training Captain
County of Maui, Department of Fire & Public Safety
808-270-5545
C.Enomoto@co.maui.hi.us
CCP
August 29 - 30, 2023 Las Vegas, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
John Jolley
Captain
Las Vegas Fire Rescue
702-229-0470
jjolley@lasvegasnevada.gov
CCP
September 9 - 10, 2023 Black Hawk, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
Laura Renville
Program Assistant
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP