Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations F0455

Training Specialist


Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.5

ACE recommendation


Pending (ACE Review): In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire science or fire technology.

This 2-day course is designed to meet the needs of Company Officers (COs) responsible for managing the operations of 1 or more companies during structural firefighting operations. This course is designed to develop the management skills needed by COs to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0455.pdf PDF 109KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0455.pdf PDF 135KB

Senior firefighters who may at times assume the responsibilities of the CO (National Fire Protection Association 1001, Standard for Fire Fighter Professional Qualifications, Level II).

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
July 20 - 21, 2024 Cancelled Topeka, Kansas
James Zeeb
Fire Officer Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-7227
jzeeb@ku.edu
Kevin Flory
Assistant Chief
Shawnee Heights Fire District
785-379-0566
kflory@shfd.us
CCP
July 20 - 21, 2024 Williston, North Dakota
Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov
Corey Johnson
Assistant Chief
Williston Fire Department
701-572-3400
coreyj@ci.williston.nd.us
CCP
July 27 - 28, 2024 Missoula, Montana
Rick Paulsen
Regional Training Manager
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-381-2390
rick.paulsen@montana.edu
Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-381-2390
holly.harris@montana.edu
CCP
August 22 - 23, 2024 Heber City, Utah
Dennis Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire Rescue Academy
801-652-3852
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu
Marc McElreath
Assistant Director
Utah Fire Rescue Academy
801-652-3852
marcm@uvu.edu
Seth Dearden
Training Officer
Wasatch County Fire District
435-940-9636
seth@wasatchfire.org
CCP
September 19 - 20, 2024 Ames, Iowa
Don Minks
Special Program Manager
State Fire Marshal Division/Fire Service Training Bureau/Iowa Department of Public Safety
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Rich Higgins
Fire Chief
Ames Fire Department
515-239-5414
rich.higgins@cityofames.org
CCP
October 5 - 6, 2024 Virginia, Minnesota
Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us
Justin Bachman
Training Division Coordinator
Virginia Fire Department
218-404-3567
bachmanju@virginiamn.us
CCP
October 5 - 6, 2024 Harrison, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Fire Program Manager
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Bryan Wheeler
Training Officer
Harrison Fire Department
870-741-9042
bwheeler@harrisonar.gov
CCP
October 12 - 13, 2024 Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Don Minks
Special Program Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Jess Dunn
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
dunn@dps.state.ia.us
Anthony Gaul
Fire Chief
Sergeant Bluff Fire Department
712-251-7170
anthonygaul166@gmail.com
CCP
October 12 - 13, 2024 Pendleton, Oregon
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety and Training
503-569-8325
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov
Madison Hockett
Fire Training Specialist
Department of Public Safety and Training
971-433-7899
madison.hockett@dpsst.oregon.gov
Mike Bozeman
Fire District Training Coordinator
Department of Public Safety and Training
541-303-3303
mike.bozeman@dpsst.oregon.gov
CCP
October 16 - 17, 2024 Pocatello, Idaho
Brad Terry
Program Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-605-4546
brad.terry@cte.idaho.gov
Matthew Frisbie
Training Coordinator
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-605-4548
matthew.frisbie@cte.idaho.gov
Mark Mendez
Division Chief of Training
Pocatello Fire Department
208-234-6579
mmendez@pocatello.gov
CCP
October 26 - 27, 2024 Tillamook, Oregon
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-569-8325
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov
Madison Hockett
Fire Training Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
971-433-7899
madison.hockett@dpsst.oregon.gov
Josh Feller
Fire District Training Coordinator
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-580-7392
josh.feller@dpsst.oregon.gov
CCP
October 26 - 27, 2024 Sitka, Alaska
Jarvis Schultz
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Marshal's Office
907-465-3117
jarvis.schultz@alaska.tov
Virginia M McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Marshal's Office
907-351-6345
virginia.mcmichael@alaska.gov
David Johnson
Assistant Fire Chief
Sitka Fire Department
907-747-3233
david.johnson@cityofsitka.org
CCP
November 6 - 7, 2024 Enid, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Services Coordinator
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Caroline Reed
Director
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Mark Meier
Training Officer
Enid Fire Department
580-616-7158
mmeier@enid.org
CCP
November 12 - 13, 2024 Elko, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Joel Finley
Deputy Chief
City of Elko Fire Department
775-777-7350
jfinley@elkocitynv.gov
CCP
November 13 - 14, 2024 South Sioux City, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
SFM Nebraska - Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
Darin Lintner
Training Coordinator
SFM
402-269-0856
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov
CCP
December 5 - 6, 2024 Chauvin, Louisiana
Daniel Copeland
Regional Instructor
Louisiana Fire and Emergency Training Academy
318-451-3181
daniel.copeland@la.gov
Amanda Thibodeaux
Fire Chief
Little Caillou Fire Department
504-234-2161
littlecailloufd7@gmail.com
CCP
December 7 - 8, 2024 Coal Valley, Illinois
James P. Moore
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu
Michael Walz
Captain
Coal Valley Fire Protection District
309-799-5534
m.walz@cvfpd.org
CCP
December 12 - 13, 2024 Minot, North Dakota
Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov
Jason Babinchak
Battalion Chief
Minot Fire Department
701-857-4740
jason.babinchak@minotnd.gov
CCP
January 9 - 10, 2025 Palm Harbor, Florida
Angie Cain
Student Services Manager
Division of State Fire Marshal, Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2818
angie.cain@myfloridacfo.com
Jason Haynes
Training Chief
Palm Harbor Fire Rescue
727-683-1642
trainingchief@palmharborfd.com
CCP
January 11 - 12, 2025 Searcy, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Fire Program Manager
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Andrew Bogan
Assistant Chief
City of Searcy Fire Department
501-279-1066
abogan@cityofsearcy.org
CCP
February 1 - 2, 2025 Grand Junction, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
Laura Renville
Program Assistant
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-238-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 McGehee, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Fire Program Manager
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Cameron Chapman
Deputy Chief
McGehee Fire Department
870-818-8140
emt18967@yahoo.com
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 Salem, Oregon
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-569-8325
Kayla.Ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov
Aaron Bielemeier
Fire Training Coordinator
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-302-5523
Aaron.Bielemeier@dpsst.oregon.gov
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 Alburgh, Vermont
Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator IV
Vermont Fire Academy
802-798-9389
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov
CCP
March 10 - 11, 2025 Globe, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Travis Murphy
Captain/Paramedic
Tri-City Fire District
928-147-3236
tcfd140@tricityfiredistrict.com
CCP
March 11 - 12, 2025 Watertown, South Dakota
Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
DPS-Fire Marshals
605-280-8165
Michael.Jones@state.sd.us
Adam Heinrich
Lieutenant
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-882-5030
aheinrich@watertownfirerescue.com
CCP
April 28 - 29, 2025 Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reid Vaughan
Section Chief
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org
Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor, Training
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org
CCP
May 7 - 8, 2025 Fernley, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
JT McCoy
Training Captain
North Lyon County Fire Protection District
775-575-3310
jmccoy@northlyonfire.com
CCP
July 10 - 11, 2025 Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Daniel Copeland
Regional Instructor
Louisiana Fire Emergency Training Academy
318-451-3181
daniel.copeland@la.gov
David Douget
Training Officer
Saint Martin Parish Fire District
337-332-1314
ddouget@stmartinparish.net
CCP
September 17 - 18, 2025 Lansing, Michigan
Daniel Hammerberg
Region Training Chief
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services, Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov
Matt Sahr
President
Michigan Professional Firefighters Union
596-549-5384
mattsahr@mpffu.org
CCP