usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Fire Investigation: First Responders W0770

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Fire Investigation
Training Specialist

Kevin Oliver
301-447-1613

Delivery type
2-day on-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in public safety administration.

This two-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation for the first responder. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation.

The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation, and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation of the convergence of suppression, investigation, science and law.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Apply online if you are interested in attending a state or national weekend program.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
July 31, 2021 - August 1, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
Administrative Officer I
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov

Course coordination plan
August 7 - 8, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
September 11 - 12, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
November 20 - 21, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Monna Gillespie
Administrative Coordinator
NC Office of the State Fire Marshal
919-647-0088
monna.gillespie@ncdoi.gov

N/A
N/A
N/A
919-919-0000
N/A

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-608-5437
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

James Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-294-2285
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Paul Froman
Maine State Weekend Coordinator
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
pfroman@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 30, 2022 - May 1, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

John B. Gilmore Jr.
NYS Fire Training Director - Chief of Fire Training & Education Branch
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
518-474-6746
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief, Fire Training & Education Branch
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
716-847-3934
Brian.Benstead@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina Marie Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@dbr.ri.gov

Mark St. Pierre
Chief/Coordinator
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
July 30 - 31, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
Administrative Officer I
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov

Tom Cook
Administrator
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy
717-247-3741
thomcook@pa.gov

Course coordination plan