Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Fire Investigation: First Responders W0770

Training Specialist


Kevin Oliver
301-447-1613

Delivery type


2-day on-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in public safety administration.

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.

This 2-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation for the first responder. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation.

The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation for the convergence of suppression, investigation, science and law.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to download the Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0770.pdf PDF 108KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_w0770.pdf PDF 246KB

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed required training.

Upcoming offerings

Interested in attending a State or National Weekend Program course?

Apply online
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
April 27 - 28, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu
James E Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu
Paul Froman
Maine State Weekend Coordinator
Southern Maine Community College
207-741-5897
pfroman@smccme.edu
CCP
April 27 - 28, 2024 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland
Angie Cain
Student Services Manager
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2818
angie.cain@MyFloridaCFO.com
Angie Cain
Student Services Manager
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2818
Angie.Cain@MyFloridaCFO.com
CCP
May 11 - 12, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NY State Fire
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov
Stefano Napolitano
Deputy State Fire Administrator
NY State Fire
518-242-5252
stefano.napolitano@dhses.ny.gov
CCP
May 18 - 19, 2024 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland
Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NY State Fire
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov
Stefano Napolitano
Deputy State Fire Administrator
NY State Fire
518-242-5252
stefano.napolitano@dhses.ny.gov
CCP
June 15 - 16, 2024
Women in Fire
Emmitsburg, Maryland
June 22 - 23, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Reid Vaughan
Section Chief, Regional
Alabama Fire College
205-499-6905
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org
Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor, Training
Alabama Fire College
205-566-3940
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org
CCP
June 29 - 30, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Dave Belcher
Deputy Superintendent
Division of State Fire Marshal-Ohio Fire Academy
614-752-7119
david.belcher@com.state.oh.us
CCP
July 13 - 14, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-563-1265
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov
Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov
CCP
July 20 - 21, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Terri Brooks
Coordinator
PA State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov
CCP