Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Fire Investigation: First Responders F0770

Training Specialist


Kevin Oliver
301-447-1613

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in public safety administration.

This 2-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation. The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation for the convergence of suppression, investigation, science and law.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0770.pdf PDF 108KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0770.pdf PDF 238KB

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.



Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 1 - 2, 2024 Cancelled Grand Forks, North Dakota
Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov
Jason Swope
Training Captain
Grand Forks Fire Department
701-757-1191
jswope@grandforksgov.com
CCP
June 13 - 14, 2024 Wichita, Kansas
James Zeeb
Fire Officer Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-7227
jzeeb@ku.edu
Jose Ocadiz
Battalion Chief
Wichita Fire Department
316-268-4466
jocadiz@wichita.gov
CCP
June 14 - 15, 2024 Watertown, South Dakota
Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
DPS State Fire Marshal
605-280-8165
Michael.Jones@state.sd.us
Charlie Kludt
President
South Dakota Firefighters Association
605-326-5072
cdkludt@iw.net
CCP
June 18 - 19, 2024 Stow, Massachusetts
Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov
Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov
CCP
September 7 - 8, 2024 Cancelled Black Hawk, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
Laura Renville
Program Assistant
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP
September 7 - 8, 2024 Greenwood Village, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
CCP
November 2 - 3, 2024 Onawa, Iowa
Don Minks
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Jess Dunn
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
dunn@dps.state.ia.us
Adam Sutton
Fire Chief
Onawa Volunteer Fire Department
712-420-0301
onawavfd@gmail.com
CCP
November 4 - 5, 2024 Shawnee, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Services Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Joe Henry
Training Chief
Shawnee Fire Department
405-878-1530
jhenry@shawneeok.org
CCP
November 14 - 15, 2024 Honolulu, Hawaii
Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov
Socrates Bratakos
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
sbratakos@honolulu.gov
Charles Riemer
Fire Captain Training and Research Bureau
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7009
criemer@honolulu.gov
CCP
December 3 - 4, 2024 Stow, Massachusetts
Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator III
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov
Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov
CCP
January 18 - 19, 2025 Palmer, Alaska
Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Marshal's Office
907-351-6345
virginia.mcmichael@alaska.gov
Jarvis Schultz
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska State Fire Marshal
907-465-3117
jarvis.schultz@alaska.gov
Michael Shipton
Chief
Butte Fire & Rescue
907-861-8125
michael.shipton@matsugov.us
CCP
January 25 - 26, 2025 Norfolk, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
SFM Nebraska - Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
Bill Pfeifer
Training Coordinator
SFM Nebraska
402-641-7194
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov
CCP
February 8 - 9, 2025 Columbia, South Carolina
Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, SC NFA Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-563-1265
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov
Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov
CCP
February 19 - 20, 2025 Covington, Louisiana
Daniel Copeland
Regional Instructor
Louisiana Fire Emergency Training Academy
318-451-3181
daniel.copeland@la.gov
David Murden
Training Officer
Covington Fire Department
504-458-0561
dmurden@covla.com
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 Owensboro, Kentucky
Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu
Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
606-309-8055
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu
CCP
March 18 - 19, 2025 Stow, Massachusetts
Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator III
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov
Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov
CCP
March 24 - 25, 2025 Tulare, California
Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
Cal Fire State Fire Training
916-508-3100
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov
David Rossman
Division Chief
Tulare Fire Department
559-684-4367
drossman@tulare.ca.gov
CCP
September 20 - 21, 2025 Brunswick, Maine
James A. Graves
Fire Training Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu
James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu
CCP