An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Fire Investigation: First Responders F0770

Curriculum: Fire Investigation
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in public safety administration.

This two-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation. The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation, and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation of the convergence of suppression, investigation, science, and law.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
April 21 - 22, 2021 Jefferson City, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Office of the State Fire Marshal
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Course coordination plan Yes
April 24 - 25, 2021 Milan, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-795-2349
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

Joseph DeSoto
Fire Chief
Milan Fire Department
505-290-7719
jcpdesoto@msn.com

Course coordination plan
April 24 - 25, 2021 Randolph, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2755
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Program Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
April 28 - 29, 2021 Martin, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Kory Green
Training Officer
Martin Fire Department
731-587-4919
kgreen@cityofmartin.net

Course coordination plan
May 6 - 7, 2021 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
June 17 - 18, 2021 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Barney P. Hanson
Fire Fighter III, Training and Research Bureau Administrative Section
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
June 19 - 20, 2021 Great Falls, Montana

Troy Petersen
Regional Manager
Montana State Univeristy - Fire Services Training School
406-836-0086
troy.petersen1@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State Univeristy - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
June 26 - 27, 2021 McCarran, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Jeremy Loncar
Battalion Chief
Storey County Fire Protection District
775-847-0954
jloncar@storeycounty.org

Course coordination plan
June 29 - 30, 2021 Atoka, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Ben Wexler
Fire Service Program Supervisor
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-434-7000
ben.wexler@tn.gov

Bill Scott
Lieutenant
Atoka Fire Department
901-331-2099
bscott@townofatoka.com

Course coordination plan
July 14 - 15, 2021 Jefferson City, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Office of the State Fire Marshal
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Course coordination plan Yes
August 14 - 15, 2021 Fremont, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal - Training Division
308-385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Darin Lintner
Training Specialist
Nebraska State Fire Marshal - Training Division
308-385-6892
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
August 20 - 21, 2021 Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

David Douget
Training Officer
Saint Martin Parish Fire District Training Center
337-332-1314
ddouget@stmartinparish.net

Course coordination plan
August 25 - 26, 2021 Bloomington, Indiana

Zach Westfall
Field Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security - Fire Academy
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov

Tinia Daffron
Training Chief
Bloomington Fire Department
812-349-3896
daffrota@bloomington.in.gov

Course coordination plan
August 31, 2021 - September 1, 2021 Plainfield, Indiana

Zach Westfall
Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan
September 18 - 19, 2021 Burlington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
606-309-8055
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Bill Burkle
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
859-442-4134
bill.birkle@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Bangor, Maine

James A Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Elizabeth Doyle
Fire Science Chair Person
Eastern Maine Community College
207-974-4610
edoyle@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan