usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Fire Investigation: First Responders F0770

Curriculum: Fire Investigation
Training Specialist

Kevin Oliver
301-447-1613

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in public safety administration.

This two-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation. The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation, and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation of the convergence of suppression, investigation, science, and law.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 18 - 19, 2022 Cancelled Annandale, Virginia

William MacKay
Training Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1990
william.mackay@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-3232
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2022 Manassas Park, Virginia

William MacKay
Training Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1990
william.mackay@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-3232
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
January 29 - 30, 2022 Riverton, Wyoming

Eric Siwik
Training Coordinator
Wyoming State Fire Marshal
307-857-6820
eric.siwik@wyo.gov

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2022 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2022 Green Bay, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Annette Geisler
Executive Assistant
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
800-588-2989
wsfa@wi-state-firefighters.org

Course coordination plan
March 26 - 27, 2022 Butte, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjappson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2022 Albertville, MN, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Eric Bullen
Fire Chief
Albertville Fire Department
612-991-0401
ebullen@ci.albertville.mn.us

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2022 Olathe, Kansas

Joseph Clow
Fire Officer Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-2705
jmclow@ku.edu

Timothy Linot
Fire Marshal
Olathe Fire Department
913-971-7900
talinot@olatheks.org

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2022 Hawthorne, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Chris Lawrence
Fire Chief
Mineral County Fire Department
775-945-2497
clawrence@mineralcountynv.org

Course coordination plan
April 28 - 29, 2022 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Fire Training Office, POC
Division of State Fire Marshal - Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
May 9 - 10, 2022 Great Bend, Kansas

Joseph Clow
Fire Officer Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-2705
jmclow@ku.edu

Brent Smith
Assistant Chief
Great Bend Fire Department
620-793-4140
bsmith@greatbendks.net

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Laurel, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2022 Arkadelphia, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Tate Chanler
Director
Clark County Office of Emergency Management
870-246-0013
tatec@clarkcountyarkansas.com

Course coordination plan
July 23 - 24, 2022 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Ben Wexler
Fire Program Supervisor
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-434-7000
ben.wexler@tn.gov

Nichole Brown
Fire Program Assistant
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4127
nichole.brown@tn.gov

Course coordination plan