usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Fire Investigation: First Responders F0770

Curriculum: Fire Investigation
Training Specialist

Kevin Oliver
301-447-1613

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in public safety administration.

This two-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation. The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation, and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation of the convergence of suppression, investigation, science, and law.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 11 - 12, 2022 Cancelled Livingston, Montana

Terry Larson
Regional Manager
MT State University - Fire Service Training School
406-868-0655
terry.larson@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MT State Univeristy - Fire Service Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2022 Arkadelphia, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Andy Woody
Director
AR Fire Service Training Academy
870-574-1521
awoody@sautech.edu

Tate Chanler
Director
Clark County Office of Emergency Management
870-246-0013
tatec@clarkcountyarkansas.com

Course coordination plan
July 23 - 24, 2022 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Ben Wexler
Fire Program Supervisor
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-434-7000
ben.wexler@tn.gov

Nichole Brown
Fire Program Assistant
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4127
nichole.brown@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
October 1 - 2, 2022 Kalispell, Montana

Jessica Kinzer
Regional Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-758-7760
jkinzer@kalispell.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2022 Iron Mountain, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Bureau of Fire Services - FFTD
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Jeff Friedenstab
President
Dickinson County FF Association
906-774-0622
imfdchief@cityofironmountain.com

Course coordination plan
November 1 - 2, 2022 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2023 Lenexa, Kansas

Erin McGruder
Instructional Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-0650
erinmcg@ku.edu

Butch Diekemper
Assistant Chief
Lenexa Kansas Fire Department
913-477-7915
adiekemper@lenexa.com

Course coordination plan
January 21 - 22, 2023 Wilmington, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 9 - 10, 2023 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist/State NFA Coordinator
SCFA
803-896-9842
Mike.Dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SCFA
803-896-4074
Bonita.Watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2023 Beatrice, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
TD-SFM
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Dennis Baber
Training Coordinator
TD-SFM
308-385-6892
dennis.baber@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2023 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
270-273-3187
Jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2023 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
March 18 - 19, 2023 Dillon, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2023 Owatonna, Minnesota

Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us

John Ehret
Supervisor
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Ryan Seykora
Training Chief
Owatonna Fire Department
507-444-2454
ryan.seykora@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Course coordination plan
April 15 - 16, 2023 Libby, Montana

Rick Paulsen
Regional Manager
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-381-2390
rick.paulsen@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
May 15 - 16, 2023 Rio Rico, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

George Cluff
Fire Marshal
Rio Rico Medical and Fire District
520-281-8421
gcluff@rioricofire.org

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 21, 2023 Silver City, New Mexico

Austin Meuli
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico State Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
austin.meuli@state.nm..us

Milo Lambert
Fire Chief
Silver City Fire Department
575-590-0339
firechief@silvercitynm.gov

Course coordination plan
July 15 - 16, 2023 Williston, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chris Mahoney
Training Captain
Williston Fire Department
701-572-3400
chrism@ci.williston.nd.us

Course coordination plan