Command and Control of Incident Operations N0312

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
6-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
3.4
ACE recommendation
In the upper division baccalaureate, three semester hours in fire science or emergency management.

In this six-day course, fire officers are introduced to the Incident Command System (ICS) and they study proper command techniques for control and extinguishment of fires ranging from small, residential structures to multioccupancy, commercial complexes.

Topics covered include:

  • Problem-solving and fire command.
  • Interagency and mutual aid.
  • The ICS and incident management.
  • Size-up and strategy, tactics and action plans.
  • Truck company operations and engine company operations.
  • Building construction and fire behavior.
  • Preincident preparation, incident organization and strategic command.

Special emphasis is placed on firefighter safety.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_n0312.pdf PDF 112KB
Course Syllabus
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/pcm_n0312.pdf PDF 585KB
Welcome Letter, Instructions to Download Student Manual, Pre-course Assignment

Selection criteria

Individuals who have responsibility to command incidents within their jurisdiction, Company Officers (COs), and/or newly appointed officers, including those in an acting position of CO and/or newly appointed officers from small paid or combination fire departments.

Additionally, individuals who are upwardly mobile in their organizations may be considered.

Prerequisites

ICS-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief’s signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.


Note: A pre-course assignment, which will be graded, will be emailed to students six to eight weeks prior to class start date.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 2 - 7, 2019 Lake Barrington, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Scott Motisi
Assistant Chief
Barrington-Countryside Fire Protection District
224-848-4800
smotisi@bcfpd.us

Course coordination plan
January 13 - 18, 2020 Dayton, Ohio

Jack Smith
Superintendent
Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
jack.smith@com.state.oh.us

Ian Emmons
Deputy Chief of Operations
Washington Township Fire Department
937-433-3083
ian.emmons@washingtontwp.org

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 21, 2020 Alabaster, Alabama

Ried Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Tim Love
Chief
Alabaster Fire Department
205-621-8752
tlove@alabasterfire.org

Course coordination plan
March 1 - 6, 2020 North Pole, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Fire Training Coordinator
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
State of Alaska - Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Christopher Edsell
Training Captain
North Star Volunteer Fire Department
907-488-3400
cedsell@northstarfire.org

Course coordination plan
March 23 - 28, 2020 Warwick, Rhode Island

Tina Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@sfm.dps.ri.gov

Matthew O'Donnell
Training Officer
Warwick Fire Department
401-468-4056
matthew.t.odonnell@warwickri.com

Course coordination plan