usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Command and Control of Incident Operations N0312

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
6-day off-campus
Continuing education units
3.4
ACE recommendation
In the upper division baccalaureate degree category, three semester hours in fire science or fire engineering.

In this six-day course, fire officers are introduced to the Incident Command System (ICS) and they study proper command techniques for control and extinguishment of fires ranging from small, residential structures to multioccupancy, commercial complexes.

Topics covered include:

  • Problem-solving and fire command.
  • Interagency and mutual aid.
  • The ICS and incident management.
  • Size-up and strategy, tactics and action plans.
  • Truck company operations and engine company operations.
  • Building construction and fire behavior.
  • Preincident preparation, incident organization and strategic command.

Special emphasis is placed on firefighter safety.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/pcm_n0312.pdf PDF 585KB
Welcome Letter, Instructions to Download Student Manual, Pre-course Assignment
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_n0312.pdf PDF 112KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

Individuals who have responsibility to command incidents within their jurisdiction, Company Officers (COs), and/or newly appointed officers, including those in an acting position of CO and/or newly appointed officers from small paid or combination fire departments.

Additionally, individuals who are upwardly mobile in their organizations may be considered.

Prerequisites

ICS-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief’s signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.


Note: A pre-course assignment, which will be graded, will be emailed to students six to eight weeks prior to class start date.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 20 - 25, 2021 Pinehurst, North Carolina

Monna Gillespie
Administrative Coordinator
NC OSFM
919-647-0088
monna.gillespie@ncdoi.gov

Kim Williams
Division Chief
NC OSFM
919-647-0089
kim.williams@ncdoi.gov

Derrick Clouston
Deputy Fire Chief
Village of Pinehurst
910-295-5575
dclouston@vopnc.org

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 23, 2021 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-795-2439
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Assistant Fire Chief
Ruidoso Fire Department
575-257-4116
michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 23, 2021 West Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Mattew Berg
Training Officer
West Fargo Fire Department
701-799-9059
Matthew.Berg@westfargond.gov

Course coordination plan
November 1 - 6, 2021 Helena, Montana

Holly Harris
Training
Montana State University – Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Troy Petersen
Training
Montana State University – Fire Services Training School
406-791-8967
troy.petersen1@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 24 - 29, 2022 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
May 8 - 13, 2022 Florence, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Jarrod Wallace
Training Chief
Florence Fire Department
256-760-6475
jlwallace@florenceal.org

Course coordination plan