Incident Command System for Structural Collapse Incidents F0322

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in emergency management.

This two-day course is designed to provide fire officers with an understanding of command operations at structural collapse incidents.

Students completing this course will be able to:

  • Describe the aspects of a structural collapse.
  • Explain basic command procedures and Incident Command System (ICS) organizational structure.
  • Identify various resource levels, types and capabilities used for structural collapse incidents.
  • Identify critical factors and issues that affect scene management.
  • Describe all unique operational considerations used at a structural collapse incident.
  • Describe all response operations phases associated with a structural collapse incident.
  • Describe the technical rescue expertise and equipment required for safe operations and effective incident management.

Students attending should understand and be able to apply the ICS concept.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have statutory authority/responsibility and may serve in a Unified Command structure at a structural collapse; fire command officers.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
January 13 - 14, 2020 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Educational Specialist
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Marshall, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal-Training
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-201-7219
Jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Jasmine DeSmet
Director
Merit Center
507-337-6163
Jasmine.DeSmet@ci.marshall.mn.us

Course coordination plan
February 24 - 25, 2020 Lake Barrington, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
University of Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Scott Motisi
Assistant Chief
Barrington-Countryside Fire Protection District
224-848-4800
smotisi@bcfpd.us

Course coordination plan
March 14 - 15, 2020 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
May 2 - 3, 2020 Omaha, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Firefighter Training
385-205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Darin Lintner
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal Nebraska - Training Division
402-269-0856
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2020 Belton, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Training Coordinator
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

David Michael
Training Chief
Belton Fire Department
816-331-7969
dmichael@beltonfire.org

Course coordination plan
June 25 - 26, 2020 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Good class to get you thinking about the resources that you have in your city or area.