usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Frameworks to Success F0648

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Technical
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in self-leadership.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the knowledge and skills to perform successfully in the fire and Emergency Medical Services environments. The course addresses professionalism, resilience, emotional intelligence, and situational awareness, as well as managing conflict, delegating mentoring, coaching, empowering, and building collaboration and synergy for professional growth.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 11 - 12, 2021 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mike Scott
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
michael.scott@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2021 Cancelled Kirkwood, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Office of the State Fire Marshal
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Brian Zaitz
Assistant Chief
Kirkwood Fire Department
314-568-1501
zaitzbt@kirkwoodmo.org

Course coordination plan
September 18 - 19, 2021 Montour Falls, New York

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NYS DHSES, Office of Fire Prevention
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov

John Gilmore
Branch Chief
NYS DHSES, Office of Fire Prevention
518-474-6746
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Bryan Monacelli
Deputy Chief
NYS DHSES, Office of Fire Prevention
607-535-7136
bryan.monacelli@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
November 11 - 12, 2021 Berkeley, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Dave Sprague
Deputy Fire Chief
Berkeley Fire
510-981-5501
dsprague@cityofberkeley.info

Course coordination plan
December 4 - 5, 2021 Louisville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Rick Larkins
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training Area 6
859-753-7282
rick.larkins@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
January 10 - 11, 2022 Hammond, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Samuel Sparacello
Training Officer
Hammond Fire Department
985-277-5800
sparacello_sj@hammond.org

Course coordination plan
January 13 - 14, 2022 Mustang, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Josh Moore
Training Officer
Mustang Fire Department
405-476-5115
jmoore@cityofmustang.org

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2022 Tulsa, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Brock Clark
Training Officer
Tulsa Fire Department
918-596-9411
brockclark@cityoftulsa.org

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2022 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-568-2902
kirsten.fornseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

David Baldwin
Battalion Chief
Sacramento Fire Department
916-767-2240
dbaldwin@sacfire.org

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2022 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2022 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
March 12 - 13, 2022 Marshall, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Jasmine DeSmet
Director
Merit Center
507-337-6163
jasmine.desmet@ci.marshall.mn.us

Course coordination plan Yes
March 19 - 20, 2022 Brunswick, Maine

James Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 5 - 6, 2022 Southaven, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov

Dustin Ford
Chief of Training
Southaven Fire Department
662-985-0181
dford@southaven.org

Course coordination plan
April 28 - 29, 2022 Kahului, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Jeffrey Robson
Training Captain
County of Maui, Department of Fire & Public Safety
808-270-5545
jeffrey.robson@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
May 23 - 24, 2022 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
August 20 - 21, 2022 Rogers, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Cliff Thompson
Deputy Chief
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
cthompson@rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan
August 26 - 27, 2022 Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

David Douget
Training Officer
Saint Martin Fire District
337-332-1314
ddouget@stmartinparish.net

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2022 Brunswick, Maine

James Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is relevant for today's fire service and supervision for a successful future.