Leadership in Supervision: Frameworks to Success F0648

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation ACE has not yet reviewed this course.
CEU’s
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0648.pdf PDF 112KB
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

December 11 - 12, 2017 | January 6 - 7, 2018 | January 13 - 14, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the knowledge and skills to perform successfully in the fire and Emergency Medical Services environments. The course addresses professionalism, resilience, emotional intelligence, and situational awareness, as well as managing conflict, delegating mentoring, coaching, empowering, and building collaboration and synergy for professional growth.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level. More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:
• First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel currently enrolled in the NFA Managing Officer will be provided priority selection

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 11 - 12, 2017 Newton, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Scott Metzler
Fire Chief
Newton Fire/EMS
316-284-6060
scottmetzler@newtonfireems.com

Course coordination plan
January 6 - 7, 2018 Colchester, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-798-2505
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
January 13 - 14, 2018 Fort Smith, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Mark Hess
Training Officer
Fort Smith Fire Department
479-308-3350
mhess@fortsmithar.gov

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2018 Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge Roque
PSTI 3
Georgia Fire Academy
476-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Jeff Dean
Manager
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
jdean@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2018 Gallup, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Clyde Espinosa
Assistant Fire Chief
Gallup Fire Department
505-722-4195
cespinosa@gallupnm.gov

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2018 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
February 10 - 11, 2018 Laurel, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
February 12 - 13, 2018 Ridgefield, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol -Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Abe Rommel
Training Captain
Clark County Fire & Rescue
360-887-4609
abe.rommel@clarkfr.org

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 15 - 16, 2018 Emporia, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Bill Harmon
Battalion Chief
Emporia Fire Department
620-343-4230
bharmon@emporia-kansas.gov

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2018 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-222-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Jeff Phillips
Assistant Director
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
April 13 - 14, 2018 South St. Paul, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Mike Nelson
Training Chief
South Metro Fire
651-552-4193
mnelson@southmetrofire.com

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2018 Joliet, Illinois

Jodi Beccue
Administrative Assistant
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-244-6674
jbeccue@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

John W Ross
Fire Science Coordinator
Joliet Junior College
815-280-2619
jross@jjc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 20 - 21, 2018 Cancelled Fairfax, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
June 5 - 6, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
July 10 - 11, 2018 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Academic Instructor
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
August 7 - 8, 2018 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 Winnsboro, Louisiana

Christine Melancon
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments