Leadership in Supervision: Frameworks to Success F0648

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the knowledge and skills to perform successfully in the fire and Emergency Medical Services environments. The course addresses professionalism, resilience, emotional intelligence, and situational awareness, as well as managing conflict, delegating mentoring, coaching, empowering, and building collaboration and synergy for professional growth.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 15 - 16, 2018 Winnsboro, Louisiana

Christine Melancon
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
October 1 - 2, 2018 Lompoc, California

Dawn Robinson
Deputy State Fire Marshal III Specialist
CAL FIRE-Office of the State Fire Marshal-State Fire Training
626-622-2092
dawn.robinson@fire.ca.gov

Garrett Huff
Training Captain
Santa Barbara County Fire Department
805-896-6357
Garrett.huff@sbcfire.com

Course coordination plan
October 20 - 21, 2018 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.j.davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2018 Reno, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2018 Cancelled Ft Monroe, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training & Operations Chief
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Doreen McAndrews
Division Chief
VDFP
757-848-5828
doreen.mcandrews@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2018 Sandston, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

John Fugman
Division Chief
VDFP
804-249-1994
john.fugman@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2018 Maple Grove, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Chris Kummer
Deputy Chief
Maple Grove Fire Department
763-494-6303
ckummer@maplegrovemn.gov

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-222-2799
rknuth@nd.gov

Joe Mangin
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-793-6446
JMangin@FargoND.gov

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2019 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Brian Plumley
Division Chief
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical
928-537-5100
bplumley@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2019 Lexington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
January 26 - 27, 2019 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Section Chief
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Opelousas, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Christine Melancon Earnheart
Training Coordinator
Louisiana State University
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Richard Joseph
Training
Opelousas Fire Department
337-945-3934
training@opelousasfire.org

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 28 - 29, 2019 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Project Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan Yes
June 6 - 7, 2019 Hilo, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lono Lindsey
Fire Apparatus Trainer
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8520
Lono.Lindsey@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2019 Bell Buckle, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2019 Olympia, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Mr. Kelly Merz
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Fire Training Division
425-453-3000
kelly.merz@wsp.wa.gov

Mark Nelson
Assistant Chief
East Olympia Fire District #6
360-491-5533
mnelson@eofd.org

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan