usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Frameworks to Success F0648

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in self-leadership.

This 2-day course provides the supervisor with the knowledge and skills to perform successfully in the fire and Emergency Medical Services environments. The course addresses professionalism, resilience, emotional intelligence, and situational awareness, as well as managing conflict, delegating mentoring, coaching, empowering, and building collaboration and synergy for professional growth.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
May 23 - 24, 2022 Cancelled Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
June 27 - 28, 2022 Anderson, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist
SC Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SC Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Wayne Craft
Region 7 Coordinator
SC Fire Academy
864-401-8036
wayne.craft@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
July 6 - 7, 2022 Coral Springs, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Training Office, POC
Division of State Fire Marshal - Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Liz Williams
Operations Manager (Acting)
Coral Springs Regional Institute of Public Safety
954-344-2355
ewilliams@coralsprings.org

Course coordination plan
August 20 - 21, 2022 Rogers, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Andy Woody
Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
awoody@sautech.edu

Cliff Thompson
Deputy Chief
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
cthompson@rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan
August 26 - 27, 2022 Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland343@outlook.com

David Douget
Training Officer
Saint Martin Fire District
337-332-1314
ddouget@stmartinparish.net

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2022 Brunswick, Maine

James Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2022 Bend, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
DPSST
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
DPSST
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov

Hayden Jones
Fire Training Coordinator
DPSST
503-779-5744
hayden.jones@dpsst.oregon.gov

Course coordination plan
November 4 - 5, 2022 Lehi, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director - Operations
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
daveo@uvu.edu

Dennis R. Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

Vicki Utley
Lehi Campus Coordinator
Utah Valley University
801-863-6225
utley@uvu.edu

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2023 Temple, Texas

Darren Smith
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
210-269-9437
darren.smith@teex.tamu.edu

Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

Mark Engelke
Training Chief
Temple Fire and Rescue
254-298-5992
mengelke@templetx.gov

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2023 Lake Crystal, Minnesota

Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us

John Ehret
Supervisor
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Jack Volz
Lead Instructor
Safety and Security Consultation Specialists
507-381-4466
jackv@sascs.net

Course coordination plan
March 13 - 14, 2023 Dublin, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE State Fire Training
916-902-5191
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
DSFM Supervisor
CAL FIRE State Fire Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Jeff Luepke
Division Chief of Training
Alameda County Fire Department
510-693-3419
jeffrey.luepke@acgov.org

Course coordination plan
March 17 - 18, 2023 Lehi, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director - Operations
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
daveo@uvu.edu

Dennis R. Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

Vicki Utley
Lehi Campus Coordinator
Utah Valley University
801-863-6225
utley@uvu.edu

Course coordination plan
March 20 - 21, 2023 Springfield, Missouri

Greg Landwehr
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-1625
greg.landwehr@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Ben Wahl
Battalion Chief
Springfield Fire Department
417-576-4805
bwahl@springfieldmo.gov

Course coordination plan
April 24 - 25, 2023 Longview, Texas

Michael Cole
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
903-752-0926
Michael.Cole@teex.tamu.edu

Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

Andy Parker
Training Section Chief
Longview Fire Department
903-237-1209
aparker@longviewtexas.gov

Course coordination plan
May 15 - 16, 2023 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist/State NFA Coordinator
SCFA
803-896-9842
Mike.Dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SCFA
803-896-4074
Bonita.Watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
May 16 - 17, 2023 Mukilteo, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Michael Lingrey
Division Chief of Training
Everett Fire Department
425-257-8131
mlingrey@everettwa.gov

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 21, 2023 Goodland, Kansas

Erin McGruder
Instructional Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-0650
erinmcg@ku.edu

Matthew Breininger
Training Officer
Sherman County Rural Fire
785-821-3876
mbreininger@shermancountyks.gov

Course coordination plan
August 10 - 11, 2023 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov

Charles Riemer
Fire Captain
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7009
criemer@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is relevant for today's fire service and supervision for a successful future.