Leadership in Supervision: Frameworks to Success F0648

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the knowledge and skills to perform successfully in the fire and Emergency Medical Services environments. The course addresses professionalism, resilience, emotional intelligence, and situational awareness, as well as managing conflict, delegating mentoring, coaching, empowering, and building collaboration and synergy for professional growth.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 1 - 2, 2018 Maple Grove, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Chris Kummer
Deputy Chief
Maple Grove Fire Department
763-494-6303
ckummer@maplegrovemn.gov

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-222-2799
rknuth@nd.gov

Joe Mangin
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-793-6446
JMangin@FargoND.gov

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2019 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Brian Plumley
Division Chief
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical
928-537-5100
bplumley@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2019 Lexington, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
January 26 - 27, 2019 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Section Chief
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Opelousas, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Cheri Mullenix
Training Coordinator
Louisiana State University
225-334-6158
cmullenix1@lsu.edu

Richard Joseph
Training
Opelousas Fire Department
337-945-3934
training@opelousasfire.org

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 28 - 29, 2019 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Project Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan Yes
April 15 - 16, 2019 Garden City, Kansas

Dirk Christian
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-2705
dachristian@ku.edu

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Ken Sierer
Battalion Chief
Garden City Fire Department
620-276-1140
ksierer@gardencity.gov

Course coordination plan
May 2 - 3, 2019 Tulsa, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University
405-744-5727
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordinator
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Greta Hurt
Chief
Tulsa Fire Department
918-596-1989
ghurt@cityoftulsa.org

Course coordination plan
May 25 - 26, 2019 Anchorage, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Training Coordinator
Alaska Division of Fire & Life Safety - Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
Alaska Division of Fire & Life Safety - Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Alex Boyd
Assistant Chief
Anchorage Fire Department
907-267-4943
alexander.boyd@anchorageak.gov

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2019 Hilo, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Lono Lindsey
Fire Apparatus Trainer
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8520
Lono.Lindsey@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
August 13 - 14, 2019 Blue Springs, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Robert Little
Division Chief
Central Jackson County Fire Protection District
816-229-9118
Blittle@cjcfpd.org

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2019 Bell Buckle, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2019 Olympia, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Robert Jones
Regional Direct Delivery
Fire Training Academy
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Mark Nelson
Assistant Chief
East Olympia Fire District #6
360-491-5533
mnelson@eofd.org

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2019 Jefferson City, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
Debbie.Plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is relevant for today's fire service and supervision for a successful future.