Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking W0647

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day On-Campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

ICS-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
November 23 - 24, 2019 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Kim Williams
Deputy Director
NC OSFM
919-647-0088
kim.williams@ncdoi.gov

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
240-832-2928
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
MFRI
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
March 28 - 29, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Phil Mellencamp
Training Program Manager
Fire and Public Safety Academy
317-512-9174
pmellencamp@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan
May 30 - 31, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
Administrative Officer I
PA State Fire Academy
717-247-2737
tebrooks@pa.gov

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist/SC NFA State Coordinator
SC State Fire Academy
803-896-9842
Mike.Dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Manager of Curriculum
SC State Fire Academy
803-896-4074
Bonita.Watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina Marie Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@sfm.dps.ri.gov

Mark A. St. Pierre
Chief
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

TJ Richardson
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
517-285-6803
richardsont14@michigan.gov

Dan Hammerberg
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Jeni Binkley
Secretary
Michigan State Firemen's Association
810-635-9513
office@msfassoc.ne

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It makes you think outside the box and forces you to look at discussions in a new perspective.