An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Dave Donohue
301-447-1094

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in critical thinking and innovation.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0647.pdf PDF 26KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0647.pdf PDF 113KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
March 10 - 11, 2021 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Mike Taylor
Assistant Chief
Sacramento City Fire Department
916-767-2207
mltaylor@sfd.cityofsacramento.org

Course coordination plan
March 15 - 16, 2021 Salem, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Training Coordinator
VDFP
804-920-0614
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
March 15 - 16, 2021 Cancelled Roanoke, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-920-0614
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
May 1 - 2, 2021 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mike Scott
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
michael.scott@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
May 3 - 4, 2021 Tallahassee, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA State Coordinator
Florida Division of State Fire Marshal
352-620-7247
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Mike Hadden
Division Chief
Tallahassee Fire Department
850-661-8346
Mike.Hadden@TalGov.com

Course coordination plan
May 21 - 22, 2021 Idaho Falls, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Paul Radford
Training Division Chief
Idaho Falls Fire Department
208-612-8506
pradford@idahofallsidaho.gov

Course coordination plan
May 25 - 26, 2021 Kirkwood, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Office of the State Fire Marshal
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Brian Zaitz
Assistant Chief
Kirkwood Fire Department
314-568-1501
zaitzbt@kirkwoodmo.org

Course coordination plan
August 14 - 15, 2021 West Pawlet, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Program Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Bangor, Maine

James A Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Elizabeth Doyle
Fire Science Chair Person
Eastern Maine Community College
207-974-4610
edoyle@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course builds upon and gives you the tools needed to enhance your management skills.