Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
November 17 - 18, 2018 Maple Grove, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Chris Kummer
Deputy Chief
Maple Grove Fire Department
763-494-6303
ckummer@maplegrovemn.gov

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2018 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-222-2799
rknuth@nd.gov

Joe Mangin
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-793-6446
JMangin@FargoND.gov

Course coordination plan
December 4 - 5, 2018 Watertown, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-237-9998
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
January 3 - 4, 2019 Missouri City, Texas

Ben Kennedy
Regional Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-229-1263
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Kenneth Johnson
Training Chief
Missouri City Fire Department
281-403-4303
kenneth.johnson@missouricitytx.org

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Cheney, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Robert Jones
Regional Direct Delivery
Fire Training Academy
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Bill Dennstaedt
Division Chief
Spokane County Fire District 3
509-235-6645
billd@scfd3.org

Course coordination plan
January 15 - 16, 2019 Alcoa, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Instructor II
TFACA
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Steven Owen
Chief
Alcoa Fire Department
865-254-9528
sowen@cityofalcoa-tn.gov

Course coordination plan
January 31, 2019 - February 1, 2019 Lacey, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Robert Jones
Regional Direct Delivery
Fire Training Academy
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Aaron Hammond
Training Lieutenant
Lacey Fire District 3
360-528-2303
ahammond@laceyfire.com

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 21 - 22, 2019 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Project Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan Yes
February 23 - 24, 2019 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 2 - 3, 2019 Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Tim Heiman
Battalion Chief - Training
Oshkosh Fire Department
920-236-5236
theiman@ci.oshkosh.wi.us

Course coordination plan
March 23 - 24, 2019 Fort Wainwright, Alaska

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
Division of Fire Life Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Justin Boddy
Captain
Fort Wainwright Fire Department
907-353-1475
justinmboddy@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
May 2 - 3, 2019 Lihue, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Justin Kinoshita
Firefighter III
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4169
jkinoshita@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
June 19 - 20, 2019 Barnhart, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Steve Williams
Battalion Chief
Antonia Fire Protection District
636-948-4433
mean67chevy@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
June 20 - 21, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2019 Biloxi, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Jeff Merrill
Training Chief
Biloxi Fire Department
228-435-6200
jmerrill@biloxi.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 1 - 2, 2019 Columbia, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Peter Martin
Training Chief
Columbia Fire Department
573-874-7391
peter.martin@como.gov

Course coordination plan
August 12 - 13, 2019 Pittsburg, Kansas

Dirk Christian
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-2705
dachristian@ku.edu

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Mike Simons
Fire Chief
Pittsburg Fire Department
620-230-5596
mike.simons@pittks.org

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course builds upon and gives you the tools needed to enhance your management skills.