Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.
CEU’s 1.5
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0647.pdf PDF 113KB
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

June 12 - 13, 2018 | August 18 - 19, 2018 | September 8 - 9, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level. More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:
• First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel currently enrolled in the NFA Managing Officer will be provided priority selection

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
June 12 - 13, 2018 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Academic Instructor
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2018 Winnsboro, Louisiana

Christine Melancon
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
September 8 - 9, 2018 Pueblo, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
October 4 - 5, 2018 Carson City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2018 Longview, Texas

Michael Cole
Regional Manager
TEEX/ESTI
903-752-0926
michael.cole@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Andy Parker
Training Chief
Longview Fire Department
903-237-1209
aparker@longviewtexas.gov

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2018 Snohomish, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Greg Osborne
Captain/Training Officer
Snohomish Fire District #4
360-568-2141
grego@snohomishfire.org

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2018 Ft Monroe, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training & Operations Chief
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Doreen McAndrews
Division Chief
VDFP
757-848-5828
doreen.mcandrews@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 17 - 18, 2018 Maple Grove, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Chris Kummer
Deputy Chief
Maple Grove Fire Department
763-494-6303
ckummer@maplegrovemn.gov

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2018 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-222-2799
rknuth@nd.gov

Joe Mangin
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-793-6446
JMangin@FargoND.gov

Course coordination plan
December 4 - 5, 2018 Watertown, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-237-9998
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
January 3 - 4, 2019 Missouri City, Texas

Ben Kennedy
Regional Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-229-1263
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX/ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Kenneth Johnson
Training Chief
Missouri City Fire Department
281-403-4303
kenneth.johnson@missouricitytx.org

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Cheney, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bill Dennstaedt
Division Chief
Spokane County Fire District 3
509-235-6645
billd@scfd3.org

Course coordination plan
January 15 - 16, 2019 Alcoa, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Instructor II
TFACA
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Steven Owen
Chief
Alcoa Fire Department
865-254-9528
sowen@cityofalcoa-tn.gov

Course coordination plan
January 31, 2019 - February 1, 2019 Lacey, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Ryan Cox
Training Captain
Lacey Fire District 3
360-870-2088
rcox@laceyfire.com

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 21 - 22, 2019 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Project Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan Yes
February 23 - 24, 2019 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 23 - 24, 2019 Fort Wainwright, Alaska

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
Division of Fire Life Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Justin Boddy
Captain
Fort Wainwright Fire Department
907-353-1475
justinmboddy@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
June 20 - 21, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Ed Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2019 Biloxi, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Jeff Merrill
Training Chief
Biloxi Fire Department
228-435-6200
jmerrill@biloxi.ms.us

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments