Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0647.pdf PDF 26KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0647.pdf PDF 113KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
October 10 - 11, 2020 Cancelled Kenai, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Training Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia Lauer-McMichael
Fire Training Specialist/Public Education Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Course coordination plan
October 12 - 13, 2020 Lenexa, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Don Tinsley
Deputy Chief
Lenexa Fire Department
913-477-7924
dtinsley@lenexa.com

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2020 Derby, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

John Turner
Fire Chief
Derby Fire Department
316-788-4435
JohnTurner@DerbyWeb.com

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2020 Cancelled Culpeper, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Jeff Liebold
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-717-0096
jeffrey.liebold@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2020 Remington, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-3232
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Jeff Liebold
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-317-7674
jeff.liebold@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2020 Las Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

David Bray
Batattion Chief
Las Vegas Fire and Rescue
702-229-0735
dbray@lasvegasnevada.gov

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2020 Cancelled Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2021 Nampa, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coodinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Jeff Mutchie
Division Chief of Training
Nampa Fire Department
208-468-5770
mutchiej@cityofnampa.us

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2021 Hammond, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Anthony Maurer
Training
Hammond Fire Department
985-277-5810
maurer_aj@hammond.org

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2021 Idaho Falls, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Paul Radford
Training Division Chief
Idaho Falls Fire Department
208-612-8506
pradford@idahofallsidaho.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Agency Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manger
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 West Pawlet, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Program Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2021 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinatpr
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2021 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Mike Taylor
Assistant Chief
Sacramento City Fire Department
916-767-2207
mltaylor@sfd.sacramento.org

Course coordination plan
March 15 - 16, 2021 Salem, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Training Coordinator
VDFP
804-920-0614
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
March 15 - 16, 2021 Cancelled Roanoke, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-920-0614
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Bangor, Maine

James A Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Elizabeth Doyle
Fire Science Chair Person
Eastern Maine Community College
207-974-4610
edoyle@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course builds upon and gives you the tools needed to enhance your management skills.