usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in critical thinking and innovation.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0647.pdf PDF 26KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0647.pdf PDF 113KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
December 14 - 15, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
January 8 - 9, 2022 Marshall, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Jasmine DeSmet
Director
Merit Center
507-337-6163
jasmine.desmet@ci.marshall.mn.us

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2022 Mustang, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Josh Moore
Training Officer
Mustang Fire Department
405-476-5115
jmoore@cityofmustang.org

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 West Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Matt Berg
Training Officer
West Fargo Fire Department
701-318-8497
matthew.berg@westfargond.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 15 - 16, 2022 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-568-2902
kirsten.fornseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

David Baldwin
Battalion Chief
Sacramento Fire Department
916-767-2240
dbaldwin@sacfire.org

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2022 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2022 Grand Island, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
SFM Nebraska Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
April 5 - 6, 2022 Oxford, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov

Jamie Phillips
Training Chief
Oxford Fire Department
662-816-5822
ofdtraining@oxfordms.net

Course coordination plan
April 21 - 22, 2022 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
May 26 - 27, 2022 Albuquerque, New Mexico

Brad Brunson
Deputy State Fire Marshal
New Mexico Fire Academy
575-835-7500
brad.brunson@state.nm.us

Jonathon Longdon
Professional Development
Albuquerque Fire Academy
505-768-9316
jlongdon@cabq.gov

Course coordination plan
June 14 - 15, 2022 Hollywood, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Training Office, POC
Division of State Fire Marshal - Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

James Russo
Division Chief, Training/Special Operations
Hollywood Fire Rescue
954-967-4248
jrusso@hollywoodfl.org

Course coordination plan
June 25 - 26, 2022 Rogers, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Cliff Thompson
Deputy Chief
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
cthompson@rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2022 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course builds upon and gives you the tools needed to enhance your management skills.