Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
June 19 - 20, 2019 Barnhart, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Steve Williams
Battalion Chief
Antonia Fire Protection District
636-948-4433
mean67chevy@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
June 20 - 21, 2019 Cancelled Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2019 Biloxi, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Jeff Merrill
Training Chief
Biloxi Fire Department
228-435-6200
jmerrill@biloxi.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 1 - 2, 2019 Columbia, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Peter Martin
Training Chief
Columbia Fire Department
573-874-7391
peter.martin@como.gov

Course coordination plan
August 7 - 8, 2019 Layton, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-540-0225
daveo@uvu.edu

Scott Maughan
Battalion Chief
Layton Fire Department
801-336-3950
smaughan@laytoncity.org

Course coordination plan
August 12 - 13, 2019 Pittsburg, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
866-804-8841
rtgreene@ku.edu

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Mike Simons
Fire Chief
Pittsburg Fire Department
620-230-5596
mike.simons@pittks.org

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Cancelled Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
October 12 - 13, 2019 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.j.davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2019 Everett, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Tony Mace
Captain
Paine Field Fire Department
425-388-5480
tony.mace@snoco.org

Course coordination plan
November 11 - 12, 2019 Fairfax, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 21 - 22, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Barney P. Hanson
Fire Fighter III- TRB Administrative Section
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
December 3 - 4, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
December 7 - 8, 2019 Kalispell, Montana

Jon Campbell
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-407-1996
jcampbell@kalispell.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2020 West Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Kendel Frost
Battalion Chief
West Fargo Fire Department
701-799-9059
kendel.frost@westfargond.gov

Course coordination plan
January 25 - 26, 2020 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certifications Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2020 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2020 Pinckney, Michigan

TJ. Richardson
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
517-285-6803
richardsont14@michigan.gov

Dan Hammerberg
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Nick Miller
Fire Chief
Hamburg Township Fire Department
810-222-1100
nmiller@hamburg.mi.us

Course coordination plan Yes
February 8 - 9, 2020 Hays, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Ryan Hagans
Fire Chief
Hays Fire Department
785-628-7330
rhagans@haysusa.com

Course coordination plan
February 15 - 16, 2020 Salem, Oregon

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 28 - 29, 2020 Tulsa, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
Creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Michael Hall
Fire Chief
Berryhill Fire Protection District
918-446-1211
michael.hall@berryhillfire.com

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-224-0851
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course builds upon and gives you the tools needed to enhance your management skills.