Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation ACE has not yet reviewed this course.
CEU’s
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0647.pdf PDF 113KB
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

November 4 - 5, 2017 | November 9 - 10, 2017 | November 13 - 14, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level. More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:
• First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel currently enrolled in the NFA Managing Officer will be provided priority selection

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
November 4 - 5, 2017 Pasco, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Tawna Maiden
EMS Officer
Franklin County Fire District 3
509-547-9306
tmaiden@fcfd3.org

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2017 Cancelled Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge Roque
PSTI 3
Georgia Fire Academy
476-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Jeff Dean
Manager
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
jdean@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
November 13 - 14, 2017 Lawrence, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Shaun Coffey
Training Chief
Lawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical
785-830-7000
scoffey@lawrenceks.org

Course coordination plan
January 6 - 7, 2018 Crescent City, California

Dawn Robinson
Deputy State Fire Marshal III Specialist
CAL FIRE/OSFM
626-622-2092
dawn.robinson@fire.ca.gov

Curt Watkins
Deputy Chief
Crescent City Fire and Rescue
707-464-2421
Watkins-curt@sbcglobal.net

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2018 Camas, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Greg Payne
Battalion Chief
Camas-Washougal Fire Department
360-834-2262
gpayne@cityofcamas.us

Course coordination plan
January 15 - 16, 2018 Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge Roque
PSTI 3
Georgia Fire Academy
476-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Jeff Dean
Manager
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
jdean@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2018 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-689-5821
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2018 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-222-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Jeff Phillips
Assistant Director
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Miles City, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
February 9 - 10, 2018 Hastings, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
SFM-Training Division
308-385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Brian Busse
Training Specialist
SFM-Training Division
402-984-3068
brian.busse@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
February 10 - 11, 2018 White River Junction, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 12 - 13, 2018 Park City, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Larry Tangney
Deputy Chief
Sedgwick County Fire District #1
316-258-9690
larry.tangney@sedgwick.gov

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2018 Bloomfield, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

John Mohler
Fire Chief
Bloomfield Fire Department
505-632-6363
jmohler@bloomfieldnm.com

Course coordination plan
March 19 - 20, 2018 Joliet, Illinois

Jodi Beccue
Administrative Assistant
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-244-6674
jbeccue@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

John W Ross
Fire Science Coordinator
Joliet Junior College
815-280-2619
jross@jjc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2018 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
May 1 - 2, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments