Leadership in Supervision: Perspectives in Thinking F0647

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.
CEU’s
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0647.pdf PDF 113KB
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

March 10 - 11, 2018 | March 19 - 20, 2018 | April 11 - 12, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the conceptual foundation and framework for success in leadership roles by exploring creative, analytical, political and critical thinking perspectives. The course addresses skills needed for assessing situations from multiple perspectives, making critical decisions, fostering creativity and innovation, and using persuasion.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level. More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:
• First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel currently enrolled in the NFA Managing Officer will be provided priority selection

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
March 10 - 11, 2018 Bloomfield, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

John Mohler
Fire Chief
Bloomfield Fire Department
505-632-6363
jmohler@bloomfieldnm.com

Course coordination plan
March 19 - 20, 2018 Joliet, Illinois

Jodi Beccue
Administrative Assistant
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-244-6674
jbeccue@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

John W Ross
Fire Science Coordinator
Joliet Junior College
815-280-2619
jross@jjc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2018 South St. Paul, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Mike Nelson
Training Chief
South Metro Fire
651-552-4193
mnelson@southmetrofire.com

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2018 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
April 18 - 19, 2018 Cancelled Fairfax, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
May 1 - 2, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
June 12 - 13, 2018 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Academic Instructor
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2018 Winnsboro, Louisiana

Christine Melancon
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
September 8 - 9, 2018 Pueblo, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments