An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Dave Donohue
301-447-1094

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in leadership and management theories.

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
January 30 - 31, 2021 Cancelled Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Michael Scott
State Fire Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
michael.scott@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 10 - 11, 2021 Glen Allen, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

John Fugman
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1994
john.fugman@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Cancelled Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manger
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2021 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Mike Taylor
Assistant Chief
Sacramento City Fire Department
916-767-2207
mltaylor@sfd.sacramento.org

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2021 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2021 Mitchell, South Dakota

Mike Jones
State Training Coordinator
South Dakota Fire Marshal
605-280-8165
michael.jones@state.sd.us

Dan Pollreisz
Captain
Mitchell Fire Department
605-995-8445
danp@mitchelldps.com

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2021 Idaho Falls, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Paul Radford
Training Division Chief
Idaho Falls Fire Department
208-612-8506
pradford@idahofallsidaho.gov

Course coordination plan
May 6 - 7, 2021 Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Tyler Nagamine
Fire Captain
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8772
Tyler.Nagamine@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
May 12 - 13, 2021 The Villages, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA State Coordinator
Florida Division of State Fire Marshal
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Robert Ramage
Division Chief
The Villages Public Safety Department
352-875-2667
robert.ramagejr@districtgov.org

Course coordination plan
May 18 - 19, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
June 8 - 9, 2021 Mustang, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
OSU Fire Service Training
405-326-0992
rfoster@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
OSU Fire Service Training
918-914-1124
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Josh Moore
Corporal
Mustang Fire Department
405-476-5115
jmoore@cityofmustang.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Very informative--provided new methods to becoming a more effective leader.