usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in leadership and management theories.

This 2-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
May 23 - 24, 2022 Anderson, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist
SC Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SC Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Wayne Craft
Region 7 Coordinator
SC Fire Academy
864-401-8036
wayne.craft@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
June 13 - 14, 2022 Cancelled Anderson, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist
SC Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SC Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Wayne Craft
Region 7 Coordinator
SC Fire Academy
864-401-8036
wayne.craft@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
July 16 - 17, 2022 Bend, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
DPSST
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
DPSST
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov

Hayden Jones
Fire Training Coordinator
DPSST
503-779-5744
hayden.jones@dpsst.oregon.gov

Course coordination plan
September 5 - 6, 2022 Addison, Texas

Michael Cole
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-500-6807
michael.cole@teex.tamu.edu

Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

CJ Alexander
Deputy Chief
Addison Fire Department
972-450-7203
calexander@addisontx.gov

Course coordination plan
September 20 - 21, 2022 Watertown, South Dakota

Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-280-8165
michael.jones@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3417
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Assistant Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-237-9998
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 19, 2022 Wentzville, Missouri

Greg Landwehr
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-1625
greg.landwehr@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Mike Scott
Deputy Chief
Wentzville Fire Protection District
636-332-9869
mscott@wentzvillefire.org

Course coordination plan
October 24 - 25, 2022 Springfield, Missouri

Greg Landwehr
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-1625
greg.landwehr@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Ben Wahl
Battalion Chief
Springfield Fire Department
417-576-4805
bwahl@springfieldmo.gov

Course coordination plan
October 31, 2022 - November 1, 2022 Lehi, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director - Operations
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
daveo@uvu.edu

Dennis R. Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

Vicki Utley
Lehi Campus Coordinator
Utah Valley University
801-863-6225
utley@uvu.edu

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2022 Reno, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Dennis Pinkerton
Bureau Chief
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7520
dpinkerton@dps.state.nv.us

Joe Schum
Division Chief
Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District
775-326-6000
jschum@tmfpd.us

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2022 New Braunfels, Texas

Darren Smith
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
210-269-9437
darren.smith@teex.tamu.edu

Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

Chris Nored
Training Captain
New Braunfels Fire Department
830-221-4264
cnored@nbtexas.org

Course coordination plan
January 10 - 11, 2023 Dublin, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE State Fire Training
916-902-5191
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
DSFM Supervisor
CAL FIRE State Fire Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Jeff Luepke
Division Chief of Training
Alameda County Fire Department
510-693-3419
jeffrey.luepke@acgov.org

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2023 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2023 Dickinson, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Jared Rhode
Training Officer
Dickinson Fire Department
920-598-0126
jared.rhode@dickinsongov.com

Course coordination plan
March 9 - 10, 2023 West Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Matt Berg
Training Chief
West Fargo Fire Department
701-318-8497
Matthew.Berg@westfargond.gov

Course coordination plan
March 13 - 14, 2023 Lehi, Utah

Dave Owens
Assistant Director - Operations
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7719
daveo@uvu.edu

Dennis R. Goudy
Program Manager
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7727
dennis.goudy@uvu.edu

Vicki Utley
Lehi Campus Coordinator
Utah Valley University
801-863-6225
utley@uvu.edu

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2023 Mukilteo, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Michael Lingrey
Division Chief of Training
Everett Fire Department
425-257-8131
mlingrey@everettwa.gov

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2023 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Very informative--provided new methods to becoming a more effective leader.