Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
November 17 - 18, 2018 Fort Wainwright, Alaska

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
Division of Fire Life Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Justin Boddy
Captain
Fort Wainwright Fire Department
907-353-1475
justinmboddy@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2018 Cheney, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Robert Jones
Regional Direct Delivery
Fire Training Academy
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Bill Dennstaedt
Division Chief
Spokane County Fire District 3
509-235-6645
billd@scfd3.org

Course coordination plan
December 13 - 14, 2018 Lihue, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Justin Kinoshita
Firefighter III
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4169
jkinoshita@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
January 5 - 6, 2019 Bristol, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Crescent City, California

Chris Fowler
Supervising Deputy State Fire Marshal
CAL FIRE-Office of the State Fire Marshal-State Fire Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Cufrt Watkins
Deputy Fire Chief
Crescent City Fire and Rescue
707-464-2421
cwatkins@ccfr.crescentcity.org

Course coordination plan
January 17 - 18, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2019 Pewaukee, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Courtney Carlson Hull
Associate Dean of Fire/EMS Training
Waukesha County Technical College
262-691-5363
chull1@wctc.edu

Course coordination plan
January 24 - 25, 2019 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Project Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan Yes
February 2 - 3, 2019 Black Hawk, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Kurt Klunder
Fire Chief
Black Hawk Fire Department
605-787-6415
kntdklun@rushmore.com

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2019 Kirkland, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Robert Jones
Regional Direct Delivery
Fire Training Academy
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Dave Van Valkenburg
Deputy Chief
Kirkland Fire Department
425-614-8673
dvanvalkenburg@kirklandwa.gov

Course coordination plan
February 12 - 13, 2019 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2019 Artesia, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-629-2634
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Rick Burks
Division Chief
Artesia Fire Department
575-746-5056
rburks@artesianm.gov

Course coordination plan
March 16 - 17, 2019 Duluth, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Kurt Rogers
Fire Chief, Committee Member
Minnesota Fire Chiefs
218-391-0896
lakewoodchief@hotmail.com

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2019 Council Bluffs, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Rob Schoening
Training Officer
Council Bluffs Fire Department
712-328-4674
rschoening@councilbluffs-ia.gov

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2019 Perry, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Steven Duke
Training Officer
Perry Department
580-336-9755
sduke108@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
April 18 - 19, 2019 Belton, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

John Sapp
Training Chief
Belton Fire Department
816-331-7969
jsapp@beltonfire.org

Course coordination plan
April 22 - 23, 2019 Saint Louis, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

David Neighbors
Captain
Saint Louis Fire Department
573-874-7391
neighborsd@stlouis-mo.gov

Course coordination plan
May 7 - 8, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
June 14 - 15, 2019 Lincoln, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Dennis Baber
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal-Nebraska
402-947-1520
dennis.baber@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
July 20 - 21, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 1 - 2, 2019 Kahului, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Michael Gormley
Training Captain
Maui Fire Department
808-270-6208
michael.gormley@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2019 Pueblo, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2019 Hays, Kansas

Dirk Christian
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-2705
dachristian@ku.edu

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Ryan Hagans
Fire Chief
Hays Fire Department
785-628-7330
rhagans@haysusa.com

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Very informative--provided new methods to becoming a more effective leader.