Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.
CEU’s
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

February 24 - 25, 2018 | March 24 - 25, 2018 | April 3 - 4, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level. More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:
• First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel currently enrolled in the NFA Managing Officer will be provided priority selection

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
February 24 - 25, 2018 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 24 - 25, 2018 Silver City, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Milo E. Lambert
Deputy Chief
Silver City Fire Department
575-956-1273
mlambert@silvercitymail.com

Course coordination plan
April 3 - 4, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
April 5 - 6, 2018 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Ed Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Kaaina Keawe
Captain
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8520
Kaaina.Keawe@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2018 South St. Paul, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Mike Nelson
Training Chief
South Metro Fire
651-552-4193
mnelson@southmetrofire.com

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2018 Midwest City, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State University
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Rodney Foster
Training Chief
Midwest City Fire Department
405-739-1355
MWC138@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2018 Cancelled Fairfax, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
May 8 - 9, 2018 Huntington Beach, California

Dawn Robinson
Deputy State Fire Marshal III Specialist
CAL FIRE OSFM
626-622-2092
dawn.robinson@fire.ca.gov

Eric McCoy
Fire Captain/Training Officer
Huntington Beach Fire Department
714-536-5418
emccoy@surfcity-hb.org

Course coordination plan
May 8 - 9, 2018 Washington, District of Columbia

Erika Temple
Emergency Management Training Officer
DC HSEMA
202-481-3022
erika.temple@dc.gov

Russell Smith
Captain
DC Fire & EMS
202-673-3251
russell.smith@dc.gov

Course coordination plan
May 19 - 20, 2018 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
MFRI
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
MFRI
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
May 19 - 20, 2018 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
May 30 - 31, 2018 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Academic Instructor
The Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
July 14 - 15, 2018 Glenmora, Louisiana

Christine Melancon
Coordinator
LSU FETI
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
August 16 - 17, 2018 Lihue, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Admininstrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Ed Suzuki
Admininstrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Mike Scovel
Captain
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4165
kfdtrain@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Chris Beaumont
Chairman
Eastern Maine Community College
207-447-2205
cbeaumont@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments