Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation ACE has not yet reviewed this course.
CEU’s
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

October 2 - 3, 2017 | October 7 - 8, 2017 | October 16 - 17, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course presents the supervisory with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level. More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:
• First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions
• Fire and emergency medical services personnel currently enrolled in the NFA Managing Officer will be provided priority selection

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 2 - 3, 2017 Layton, Utah

Brad Wardle
Assistant Director
Utah Fire & Rescue Academy
801-863-7707
bradley.wardle@uvu.edu

Scott Maughan
Battalion Chief
Layton City Fire Department
801-336-3940
smaughan@laytoncity.org

Course coordination plan
October 7 - 8, 2017 Pasco, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Tawna Maiden
EMS Officer
Franklin County Fire District 3
509-547-9306
tmaiden@fcfd3.org

Course coordination plan
October 16 - 17, 2017 Salina, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Mark Grosland
Training Chief
Salina Fire Department
785-227-2099
mark.grosland@salina.org

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2017 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-222-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Jeff Phillips
Assistant Director
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
October 21 - 22, 2017 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.j.davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
November 4 - 5, 2017 Vancouver, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Chris Grant
Fire Training Captain
Clark County Fire District 6
360-949-8150
chris.grant@ccfd6.org

Course coordination plan
November 6 - 7, 2017 Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge Roque
PSTI 3
Georgia Fire Academy
476-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Jeff Dean
Manager
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
jdean@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2017 Temple, Texas

Jeff Rhoads
Regional Manager
TEEX / ESTI
254-541-8244
jeff.rhoads@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Jonathan Christian
Captain
Temple Fire & Rescue
254-298-5989
jchristian@templetx.gov

Course coordination plan
November 11 - 12, 2017 Rayne, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-202-3722
Jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
December 2 - 3, 2017 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-222-2799
rknuth@nd.gov

Joe Mangin
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-793-6446
JMangin@cityoffargo.com

Course coordination plan
December 7 - 8, 2017 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-689-5821
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
December 9 - 10, 2017 Billings, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
December 11 - 12, 2017 Jefferson City, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Deana Edwards
Program Manager
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
deedee.edwards@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Jerry Blomberg
Battalion Chief
Jefferson City Fire Department
573-634-6403
jblomberg@jeffcitymo.org

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2017 Watertown, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-237-9998
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
January 4 - 5, 2018 Missouri City, Texas

Ben Kennedy
Regional Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-229-1263
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Jaime Ponce DeLeon
Training Chief
Missouri City Fire Department
281-403-4304
jponcedeleon@missouricitytx.gov

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2018 Honolulu, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Ed Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

James Todd
Captain
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7005
jtodd@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
January 22 - 23, 2018 Overland Park, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Gary Wilson
Training Chief
Overland Park Fire Department
913-895-8407
gary.wilson@opkansas.org

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Middlebury, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2018 Bullhead City, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Joshua Livermore
Division Chief
Bullhead City Fire Department
928-758-3971
jlivermore@bullheadfire.org

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2018 Joliet, Illinois

Jodi Beccue
Administrative Assistant
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-244-6674
jbeccue@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

John W Ross
Fire Science Coordinator
Joliet Junior College
815-280-2619
jross@jjc.edu

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2018 Carson City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Course coordination plan
February 24 - 25, 2018 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 24 - 25, 2018 Silver City, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Milo E. Lambert
Deputy Chief
Silver City Fire Department
575-956-1273
mlambert@silvercitymail.com

Course coordination plan
April 3 - 4, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Chris Beaumont
Chairman
Eastern Maine Community College
207-447-2205
cbeaumont@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments