usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Technical
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in leadership and management theories.

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
October 5 - 6, 2021 Arlington, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Mark Boyd
Fire Service Instructor II
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
615-416-1812
mark.a.boyd@tn.gov

James McMillen
Assistant Chief
Arlington Fire Department
901-377-2891
jmcmillen@townofarlington.org

Course coordination plan
October 7 - 8, 2021 Ball, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Wes Anders
Fire Chief
Ball Fire Department
318-640-9283
ballfiredept@townofball.com

Course coordination plan
October 14 - 15, 2021 Berkeley, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Dave Sprague
Deputy Fire Chief
Berkeley Fire
510-981-5501
dsprague@cityofberkeley.info

Course coordination plan
November 1 - 2, 2021 Kenai, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia Lauer-McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Tony Prior
Fire Chief
City of Kenai Fire Department
907-283-7666
tprior@kenai.city

Course coordination plan
November 2 - 3, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
November 13 - 14, 2021 Deer Park, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Rana Mahmood
Captain
Spokane County Fire District #4
509-467-4500
ranam@scfd4.org

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2021 Alcoa, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Nichole Brown
ASA II
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4127
nichole.brown@tn.gov

Colin Hurst
Deputy Chief
Alcoa Fire Department
865-274-7297
churst@cityofalcoa-tn.gov

Course coordination plan
December 4 - 5, 2021 South Hill, Virginia

William MacKay
Training Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1990
william.mackay@vdfp.virginia.gov

Tom Berry
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
434-392-3277
tom.berry@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
January 10 - 11, 2022 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-568-2902
kirsten.fornseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE Office of the State Fire Marshal, Training
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

David Baldwin
Battalion Chief
Sacramento Fire Department
916-767-2240
dbaldwin@sacfire.org

Course coordination plan
January 26 - 27, 2022 Amarillo, Texas

Henry Perry
Regional Manager - Region 5
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
512-848-7319
henry.perry@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Dana Havlik
District Chief, Training
Amarillo Fire Department
806-378-9339
dana.havlik@amarillo.gov

Course coordination plan
January 29 - 30, 2022 Middlebury, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 4 - 5, 2022 Minden, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Nick Palmer
Manager
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute at Pine Country
225-202-3717
npalme3@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Rogers, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Cliff Thompson
Deputy Chief
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
cthompson@rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Hastings, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
February 7 - 8, 2022 Reno, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Mark Winkleman
Division Chief
Reno Fire Department
775-750-5631
winklemanm@reno.gov

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2022 Marshall, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Jasmine DeSmet
Director
Merit Center
507-337-6163
jasmine.desmet@ci.marshall.mn.us

Course coordination plan Yes
February 19 - 20, 2022 Brattleboro, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2022 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 5 - 6, 2022 Edinburg, Texas

Dallas Renfrew
Regional Manager - Region 3
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-324-6089
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Ubaldo Perez
District Training Coordinator
Rio Grand Valley Firefighter's & Fire Marshal's Association
956-383-7691
bperez@cityofedinburg.com

Course coordination plan
March 24 - 25, 2022 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Very informative--provided new methods to becoming a more effective leader.