Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
August 23 - 24, 2018 Lihue, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Admininstrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Gary Lum
Admininstrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Mike Scovel
Captain
Kauai Fire Department
808-241-4165
kfdtrain@kauai.gov

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2018 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Chris Beaumont
Chairman
Eastern Maine Community College
207-447-2205
cbeaumont@emcc.edu

Course coordination plan
October 11 - 12, 2018 Memphis, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Mark Boyd
Fire Service Instructor II
TFACA
615-416-1812
mark.a.boyd@tn.gov

Thomas Beasley
Division Chief
Memphis Fire Department
901-636-5700
thomas.beasley@memphistn.gov

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2018 Olympia, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Mr. Kelly Merz
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Fire Training Divsion
425-453-3000
kelly.merz@wsp.wa.gov

Brandon LeMay
Assistant Chief
South Bay Fire Department
360-491-5320
lemay@southbayfire.com

Course coordination plan
November 1 - 2, 2018 Payson, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Dan Bramble
Training Officer
Payson Fire Department
928-474-5242
dbramble@paysonaz.gov

Course coordination plan
November 3 - 4, 2018 Maple Grove, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Chris Kummer
Deputy Chief
Maple Grove Fire Department
763-494-6303
ckummer@maplegrovemn.gov

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2018 Sandston, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Division Chief
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

John Fugman
Division Chief
VDFP
804-249-1994
john.fugman@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2018 Cancelled Ft Monroe, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training & Operations Chief
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Doreen McAndrews
Division Chief
VDFP
757-848-5828
doreen.mcandrews@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
November 13 - 14, 2018 North Las Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Jeff Hurley
Battalion Chief
North Las Vegas Fire Department
702-633-1018
hurleyj@cityofnorthlasvegas.com

Course coordination plan
November 17 - 18, 2018 Fort Wainwright, Alaska

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Administrator
Division of Fire Life Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Justin Boddy
Captain
Fort Wainwright Fire Department
907-353-1475
justinmboddy@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
December 8 - 9, 2018 Cheney, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Mr. Kelly Merz
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Fire Training Division
425-453-3000
kelly.merz@wsp.wa.gov

Bill Dennstaedt
Division Chief
Spokane County Fire District 3
509-235-6645
billd@scfd3.org

Course coordination plan
January 5 - 6, 2019 Bristol, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Crescent City, California

Dawn Robinson
Deputy State Fire Marshal III Specialist
CAL FIRE-Office of the State Fire Marshal-State Fire Training
626-622-2092
dawn.robinson@fire.ca.gov

Cufrt Watkins
Deputy Fire Chief
Crescent City Fire and Rescue
707-464-2421
cwatkins@ccfr.crescentcity.org

Course coordination plan
January 17 - 18, 2019 Honolulu, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Kela Hanson
Firefighter III
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
January 24 - 25, 2019 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Project Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan Yes
February 2 - 3, 2019 Black Hawk, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Kurt Klunder
Fire Chief
Black Hawk Fire Department
605-787-6415
kntdklun@rushmore.com

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2019 Kirkland, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Mr. Kelly Merz
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Fire Training Division
425-453-3000
kelly.merz@wsp.wa.gov

Dave Van Valkenburg
Deputy Chief
Kirkland Fire Department
425-614-8673
dvanvalkenburg@kirklandwa.gov

Course coordination plan
February 12 - 13, 2019 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2019 Artesia, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-629-2634
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Rick Burks
Division Chief
Artesia Fire Department
575-746-5056
rburks@artesianm.gov

Course coordination plan
March 16 - 17, 2019 Duluth, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Kurt Rogers
Fire Chief, Committee Member
Minnesota Fire Chiefs
218-391-0896
lakewoodchief@hotmail.com

Course coordination plan
May 7 - 8, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
July 20 - 21, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan