Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
June 11 - 12, 2020 Cancelled Los Angeles, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CALFIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CALFIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Shawn Tukua
Fire Captain
Los Angeles Fire Department
213-893-9890
shawn.tukua@lacity.org

Course coordination plan
June 15 - 16, 2020 Cancelled Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan Yes
June 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Slidell, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Robert Marguette
Fire Prevention Chief
Saint Tammany Fire District 1
985-789-2814
rmarguette@slidellfire.org

Course coordination plan
June 23 - 24, 2020 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
June 24 - 25, 2020 Cancelled Lee's Summit, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Training Coordinator
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Dan Manley
Assistant Chief
Lee's Summit Fire Department
816-588-6806
dan.manley@cityofls.net

Course coordination plan
July 14 - 15, 2020 Cancelled San Francisco, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CALFIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Supervising Deputy State Fire Marshal, III
CALFIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Joel Sato
Assistant Deputy Chief-Director of Training
San Francisco Fire Department
415-970-2030
joel.sato@sfgov.org

Course coordination plan
August 24 - 25, 2020 Albuquerque, New Mexico

Sharlynn Montoya
Administrative Services Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
sharlynn.montoya@state.nm.us

Timothy Cox
Captain
Bernalillo County Fire & Rescue Department
505-314-0139
tcox@bernco.gov

Course coordination plan
August 24 - 25, 2020 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan Yes
September 3 - 4, 2020 Los Angeles, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CALFIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CALFIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Shawn Tukua
Fire Captain
Los Angeles Fire Department
213-893-9890
shawn.tukua@lacity.org

Course coordination plan
October 3 - 4, 2020 Kenai, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Training Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia Lauer-McMichael
Fire Training Specialist/Public Education Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Course coordination plan
October 19 - 20, 2020 Odessa, Texas

Tony Lenard
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
830-370-9636
tony.lenard@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Projects Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Kris Norred
Captain
Odessa Fire Department
432-257-0501
knorred@odessa-tx.gov

Course coordination plan
October 19 - 20, 2020 Culpeper, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Jeff Liebold
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-717-0096
jeffrey.liebold@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
October 24 - 25, 2020 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chad Cutshaw
Battalion Chief-Special Operations and Training
Grand Forks Fire Department
218-779-6726
ccutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2020 Kirkwood, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Office of the State Fire Marshal
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety, Office of the State Fire Marshal
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Brian Zaitz
Assistant Chief
Kirkwood Fire Department
314-568-1501
zaitzbt@kirkwoodmo.org

Course coordination plan
November 17 - 18, 2020 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
January 8 - 9, 2021 Idaho Falls, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Paul Radford
Training Division Chief
Idaho Falls Fire Department
208-612-8506
pradford@idahofallsidaho.gov

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2021 Southaven, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Dustin Ford
Chief of Training
Southaven Fire Department
662-393-7466
dford@southaven.org

Course coordination plan
February 10 - 11, 2021 Glen Allen, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

John Fugman
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1994
john.fugman@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Agency Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2021 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Mike Taylor
Assistant Chief
Sacramento City Fire Department
916-767-2207
mltaylor@sfd.sacramento.org

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2021 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2021 Mitchell, South Dakota

Mike Jones
State Training Coordinator
South Dakota Fire Marshal
605-280-8165
michael.jones@state.sd.us

Dan Pollreisz
Captain
Mitchell Fire Department
605-995-8445
danp@mitchelldps.com

Course coordination plan
May 18 - 19, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Very informative--provided new methods to becoming a more effective leader.