Leadership in Supervision: Creating Environments for Professional Growth F0646

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership or management.

This two-day course presents the supervisor with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire and EMS environment. The course includes concepts related to a successful transition to supervisory and leadership roles, including concepts of adaptive leadership; change management; active followership; effective communication, including difficult conversations and advocacy-inquiry based dialogue; ethics; authority; power; decision-making; and active engagement through development of a personal plan.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
October 22 - 23, 2019 Cancelled Jefferson City, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-224-0851
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Jim Baldwin
Training Officer
Jefferson City Fire Department
931-224-0851
jbaldwin@jeffcitytn.com

Course coordination plan
November 2 - 3, 2019 Sulphur, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Cheri Mullenix
Training Coordinator
LSU FETI
225-334-6158
cmullenix1@lsu.edu

Todd Parker
Director
Calcasieu Emergency Response Training Center
337-527-5554
tparker@cppj.net

Course coordination plan
November 2 - 3, 2019 Kalispell, Montana

Jon Campbell
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-407-1996
jcampbell@kalispell.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
November 6 - 7, 2019 Big Sky, Montana

Terry Larson
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-868-0655
terry.larson@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2019 Tulsa, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Michael Hall
Fire Chief
Berryhill Fire Protection District
918-446-1211
michael.hall@berryhillfire.com

Course coordination plan
November 16 - 17, 2019 Cancelled Camby, Indiana

Phil Mellencamp
Training Program Manager
Fire and Public Safety Academy
317-512-9174
pmellencamp@dhs.in.gov

Anthony McClure
Captain of Training
Madison Township Fire Department
317-834-6027
amcclure@mtfd.us

Course coordination plan
November 16 - 17, 2019 Cancelled Bremen, Indiana

Phil Mellencamp
Training Program Manager
Fire Public Safety Academy
317-512-9174
pmellencamp@dhs.in.gov

Scott Maurer
Fire Chief
Madison Township Fire Department
574-536-1062
smaurer8603@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
January 4 - 5, 2020 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Christopher Pieper
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-476-6760
cpieper@fargond.gov

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2020 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
January 13 - 14, 2020 Olathe, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Bruce Hartig
Training Chief
Olathe Fire Department
913-971-7952
BHartig@olatheks.org

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2020 Indianapolis, Indiana

Phil Mellencamp
Training Program Manager
Fire and Public Safety Academy
317-512-9174
pmellencamp@dhs.in.gov

Eric Dreiman
Chief of Training
Indianapolis Fire Department
317-327-6075
eric.dreiman@indy.gov

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2020 Greenville, Michigan

TJ. Richardson
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
517-285-6803
richardsont14@michigan.gov

Dan Hammerberg
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Brian Blomstrom
Board of Directors
Michigan Fire Service Instructors Association
616-835-2701
bblomstrom48@gmail.com

Course coordination plan Yes
February 15 - 16, 2020 Salem, Oregon

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 15 - 16, 2020 Putney, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 6 - 7, 2020 Kingman, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Adrian G. Hairston
Battalion Chief of Training and Safety
City of Kingman Fire Department
928-753-5561
ahairston@cityofkingman.gov

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2020 Powers, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
Fire Fighter Training Division Region Supervisor
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Course coordination plan Yes
March 9 - 10, 2020 Pittsburg, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Mike Simons
Fire Chief
Pittsburg Fire Department
620-230-5596
mike.simons@pittks.org

Course coordination plan
March 23 - 24, 2020 Georgetown, Indiana

Phil Mellencamp
Training Program Manager
Fire and Public Safety Academy
317-512-9174
pmellencamp@dhs.in.gov

Nathan Thompson
Captain/Training Officer
Georgetown Township Fire District
812-951-2354
nthompson@gtfpd.com

Course coordination plan
April 3 - 4, 2020 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Barney P. Hanson
Fire Fighter III- TRB Administrative Section
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2020 Wausau, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Kris Grod
Associate Dean - School of Public Safety
Northcentral Technical College
715-803-1512
grod@ntc.edu

Course coordination plan
May 4 - 5, 2020 Kirkwood, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Training Coordinator
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Brian Zaitz
Assistant Chief
Kirkwood Fire/Rescue
314-568-1501
zaitzbt@kirkwoodmo.org

Course coordination plan
June 15 - 16, 2020 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan Yes
June 18 - 19, 2020 Slidell, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Robert Marguette
Fire Prevention Chief
Saint Tammany Fire District 1
985-789-2814
rmarguette@slidellfire.org

Course coordination plan
June 23 - 24, 2020 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
June 24 - 25, 2020 Lee's Summit, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Training Coordinator
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Dan Manley
Assistant Chief
Lee's Summit Fire Department
816-588-6806
dan.manley@cityofls.net

Course coordination plan
August 24 - 25, 2020 Albuquerque, New Mexico

Sharlynn Montoya
Administrative Services Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
sharlynn.montoya@state.nm.us

Timothy Cox
Captain
Bernalillo County Fire & Rescue Department
505-314-0139
tcox@bernco.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Very informative--provided new methods to becoming a more effective leader.