usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Fire Service Safety Culture: Who Protects Firefighters From Firefighters? F0349

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
0.0
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire administration.

This two-day course is designed to assist emergency services personnel in defining and advocating organizational change within the fire service relating to safety.

Topics include:

  • Safety and risk cultures within organizations.
  • Influences on safety culture and risk categories.
  • Concepts, goals, and processes of risk management.

The course incorporates facilitated student-centered methodologies including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0349.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0349.pdf PDF 140KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience includes anyone in emergency services with an interest in changing culture in his or her organization.

The secondary target audience includes all interested individuals and community people who are responsible for risk management.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 7 - 8, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-795-2349
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Assistant Chief
Ruidoso Fire Department
575-257-4116
michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2021 Seattle, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Greg Baruso
Training Captain / EMS Officer
Port of Seattle Fire Department
206-787-4651
baruso.g@portseattle.org

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 19, 2021 Tecumseh, Kansas

Joe Clow
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-0024
jmclow@ku.edu

Rick Deibert
Fire Chief
Shawnee Heights Fire District
785-379-0566
rdeibert@shfd.us

Course coordination plan
October 21 - 22, 2021 Sierra Vista, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Kaleb Mauzy
Battalion Chief of Training
Fry Fire District
520-378-2222
kmauzy@fryfiredistrict.com

Course coordination plan
November 6 - 7, 2021 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chad Cutshaw
Deputy Fire Chief
Grand Forks Fire Department
701-746-2566
ccutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2022 Kirkwood, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Shane Adams
Training Coordinator
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-4849
shane.adams@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2022 Pewaukee, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Courtney Hull
Associate Dean, Fire & EMS Training
Waukesha County Technical College
262-691-5363
chull1@wctc.edu

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Roscommon, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Bill Cleeves
Fire Chief
Lyon Township Fire & EMS
989-275-8878
cleeves603@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2022 Greenville, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov

Lonagcio Smith
Division Chief of Training
Greenville Fire Department
662-378-1616
lsmith@greenvillems.org

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2022 Iota, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Chris LeDoux
Training Officer
Iota Fire Department
337-779-2538
cledoux1590@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
May 12 - 13, 2022 Riverton, Wyoming

Eric Siwik
Training Coordinator
Wyoming State Fire Marshal
307-857-6820
eric.siwik@wyo.gov

Course coordination plan
September 13 - 14, 2022 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Teaches the process of evaluation of safety issues and how to correct then evaluate the results.