usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Fire Service Safety Culture: Who Protects Firefighters From Firefighters? F0349

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
0.0
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire administration.

This two-day course is designed to assist emergency services personnel in defining and advocating organizational change within the fire service relating to safety.

Topics include:

  • Safety and risk cultures within organizations.
  • Influences on safety culture and risk categories.
  • Concepts, goals, and processes of risk management.

The course incorporates facilitated student-centered methodologies including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0349.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0349.pdf PDF 140KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience includes anyone in emergency services with an interest in changing culture in his or her organization.

The secondary target audience includes all interested individuals and community people who are responsible for risk management.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
May 21 - 22, 2022 Cancelled Johnston, Iowa

John Kraemer
Bureau Chief
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
kraemer@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
September 13 - 14, 2022 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2022 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2022 Columbus, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
TD-SFM
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Bill Pfeifer
Training Coordinator
TD-SFM
308-385-6892
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
April 13 - 14, 2023 Honolulu, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov

Charles Riemer
Fire Captain
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7009
criemer@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
May 23 - 24, 2023 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
June 10 - 11, 2023 Rogers, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Cliff Thompson
Deputy Chief
Rogers Fire Department
479-986-6801
tcastro@rogersar.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Teaches the process of evaluation of safety issues and how to correct then evaluate the results.