Fire Service Safety Culture: Who Protects Firefighters From Firefighters? F0349

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
0.0
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science, emergency management or public safety.

This two-day course is designed to assist emergency services personnel in defining and advocating organizational change within the fire service relating to safety.

Topics include:

  • Safety and risk cultures within organizations.
  • Influences on safety culture and risk categories.
  • Concepts, goals, and processes of risk management.

The course incorporates facilitated student-centered methodologies including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience includes anyone in emergency services with an interest in changing culture in his or her organization.

The secondary target audience includes all interested individuals and community people who are responsible for risk management.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
June 14 - 15, 2019 Cancelled Lincoln, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Dennis Baber
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal-Nebraska
402-947-1520
dennis.baber@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
July 15 - 16, 2019 Ardmore, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Jason Woydziak
Training Officer
Ardmore Fire Department
580-221-2550
jwoydziak@ardmorecity.org

Course coordination plan
July 20 - 21, 2019 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 22 - 23, 2019 Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2019 Bell Buckle, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service and Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
January 31, 2020 - February 1, 2020 Doyline, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Cheri Mullenix
Training Coordinator
LSU FETI
225-334-6158
cmullenix1@lsu.edu

Gray Young
Assistant Manager
LSU FETI
318-371-3385
gyoung01@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2020 Alexandria, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal-Training
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-201-7219
Jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Chip Lohmiller
Fire Chief
Crosslake Fire Department
612-868-6744
chief1@crosslake.net

Course coordination plan
February 15 - 16, 2020 Salem, Oregon

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 29, 2020 - March 1, 2020 Edinburg, Texas

Dallas Renfrew
Manager, Region 3
TEEX/ESTI/Extension
979-324-6089
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Manager, Special Projects
TEEX/ESTI/Extension
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Ubaldo Perez
District Training Coordinator
Rio Grande Valley Firefighter's & Fire Marshals' Association
956-383-7691
bperez@cityofedinburg.com

Course coordination plan
March 5 - 6, 2020 Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Annette Geisler
Executive Assistant
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
800-588-2989
wsfa@wi-state-firefighters.org

Course coordination plan
March 14 - 15, 2020 Duluth, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal-Training
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-201-7219
Jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Kurt Rogers
Fire Chief
Lakewood Township Fire Department
218-525-4186
lakewoodchief@hotmail.com

Course coordination plan
May 15 - 16, 2020 Wenatchee, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Larry Creekmore
Vice Chair
Washington State Firefighters' Association
360-421-6438
larrywsffa@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2020 Monroe, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
ERI
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Edward Chisley
Chief
Monroe Fire Department
318-329-2635
edward.chisley@ci.monroe.la.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Teaches the process of evaluation of safety issues and how to correct then evaluate the results.