An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Fire Service Safety Culture: Who Protects Firefighters From Firefighters? F0349

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
0.0
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire administration.

This two-day course is designed to assist emergency services personnel in defining and advocating organizational change within the fire service relating to safety.

Topics include:

  • Safety and risk cultures within organizations.
  • Influences on safety culture and risk categories.
  • Concepts, goals, and processes of risk management.

The course incorporates facilitated student-centered methodologies including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0349.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0349.pdf PDF 140KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience includes anyone in emergency services with an interest in changing culture in his or her organization.

The secondary target audience includes all interested individuals and community people who are responsible for risk management.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
May 10 - 11, 2021 Cancelled Lenexa, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Don Tinsley
Deputy Chief
Lenexa Fire Department
913-477-7924
dtinsley@lenexa.com

Course coordination plan
May 17 - 18, 2021 Cancelled Overland Park, Kansas

Russell Greene
Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtrgeene@ku.edu

Gary Wilson
Training Chief
Overland Park Fire Department
913-895-8407
gary.wilson@opkansas.org

Course coordination plan
May 21 - 22, 2021 Cancelled Wenatchee, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Larry Creekmore
Vice Chair
Washington State Fire Fighters' Association
360-421-6438
larrywsffa@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
June 14 - 15, 2021 Newton, Kansas

Russell Greene
Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Phillip Beebe
Division Chief
Newton Fire Department
316-284-6060
philbeebe@newtonfireems.com

Course coordination plan
July 7 - 8, 2021 Beaufort, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Educational Specialist
SCFA
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.us

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SCFA
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.us

Course coordination plan
July 17 - 18, 2021 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
July 24 - 25, 2021 Malvern, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Jonathan Farber
Training Officer
Malvern Fire Department
870-332-7611
jfarber@malvernar.gov

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-795-2349
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Assistant Chief
Ruidoso Fire Department
575-257-4116
michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Teaches the process of evaluation of safety issues and how to correct then evaluate the results.