Fire Investigation: First Responders F0379

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire investigation or fire prevention.
CEU’s
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0379.pdf PDF 143KB
Training Specialist

Lester Rich
lester.rich@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

June 6 - 7, 2018 | June 8 - 9, 2018 | July 21 - 22, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed specifically to provide a clear definition of the role of first responders in fire investigation and provide essential knowledge to enable them to recognize the potential of intentionally set fires, preservation and protection of evidence, and proper reporting of information to appropriate officials. By strengthening the partnership between first responders and investigators, the chances for successfully solving arson-related crimes will increase. The course includes topics such as fire behavior, critical observations of the first responder, fire causes, scene security and evidence preservation, legal considerations, and documentation of findings.

This course is designed for all fire and emergency services personnel who might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Interested students are encouraged to complete "Initial Fire Investigation for First Responders" (Q0379), available through NFA Online at https://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/courses/online.html, prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

1. Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online at www.usfa.dhs.gov/nfa/nfaonline. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

2. Interested students are encouraged to complete Q0379, available through NFA Online at https://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/courses/online.html, prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
June 6 - 7, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
Julie.olsen-fink@state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
June 8 - 9, 2018 Mitchell, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Course coordination plan
July 21 - 22, 2018 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 11 - 12, 2018 North Platte, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2018 Ester, Alaska

Gordon Descutner
Fire Training Adminstrator
Alaska Division of Fire and LIfe Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Chief Tori Clyde
Fire Chief
Ester Volunteer Fire Department
907-479-6858
chief@esterfire.org

Course coordination plan
September 4 - 5, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 22 - 23, 2018 Payson, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Dan Bramble
Battalion Chief
Payson Fire Department
928-474-5242
dbramble@paysonaz.gov

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2018 Sulphur, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Todd Parker
Training
CERTC
337-853-9902
tparker@cppj.net

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2018 Pocahontas, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director of Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Alan Haskins
Fire Service Program Director
Black River Technical College
870-248-4129
Alan-Haskins@Blackrivertech.edu

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 9 - 10, 2019 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2019 Forsyth, Georgia

Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Public Safety Training Center - Fire Academy Division
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Jorge Roque
PSTIII/ NFA Coordinator
Georgia Public Safety Training Center - Fire Academy Division
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments