Fire Investigation: First Responders F0379

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire investigation or fire prevention.
CEU’s
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0379.pdf PDF 143KB
Training Specialist

Lester Rich
lester.rich@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

October 24 - 25, 2017 | October 25 - 26, 2017 | January 20 - 21, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed specifically to provide a clear definition of the role of first responders in fire investigation and provide essential knowledge to enable them to recognize the potential of intentionally set fires, preservation and protection of evidence, and proper reporting of information to appropriate officials. By strengthening the partnership between first responders and investigators, the chances for successfully solving arson-related crimes will increase. The course includes topics such as fire behavior, critical observations of the first responder, fire causes, scene security and evidence preservation, legal considerations, and documentation of findings.

This course is designed for all fire and emergency services personnel who might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Interested students are encouraged to complete "Initial Fire Investigation for First Responders" (Q0379), available through NFA Online at https://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/courses/online.html, prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

1. Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online at www.usfa.dhs.gov/nfa/nfaonline. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

2. Interested students are encouraged to complete Q0379, available through NFA Online at https://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/courses/online.html, prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 24 - 25, 2017 Independence, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Deana Edwards
Program Manager
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
deedee.edwards@dfs.dps.mo.gov

David Shelley
Assistant Chief - Training
Independence Fire Department
816-325-7131
dshelley@indepmo.org

Course coordination plan
October 25 - 26, 2017 Ball, Louisiana

Christine Melancon
Training Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Daniel Copeland
Regional Coordinator
Carrol L. Herring Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
January 20 - 21, 2018 Milan, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Joseph Desoto
Chief
Cibola County Chiefs Association
505-290-7719
jcdesoto@msn.com

Course coordination plan
January 20 - 21, 2018 Glasgow, Montana

Brandon Brunelle
Field Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-230-2472
brandon.brunelle@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Magnolia, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Randal Stevens
Assistant Fire Chief
Magnolia Fire Department
870-234-5022
rstevens@magnolia-ar.com

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2018 Brattleboro, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 17 - 18, 2018 Fort Sill, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Rural Programs Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-4604
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Clint Langford
Fire Chief
Fort Sill Fire
580-442-6010
clint.langford@us.army.ml

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2018 Atoka, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Rural Programs Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-4604
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Danny Whitehouse
Rural Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
918-724-5496
danniw@osufst.org

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2018 Powers, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
FFTD Region Supervisor
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Course coordination plan
April 21 - 22, 2018 Cancelled Longview, Texas

Michael Cole
Regional Manager
TEEX / ESTI
936-234-3129
michael.cole@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

George Glenn
Training Chief
Longview Fire Department
903-237-1209
gglenn@longviewtexas.gov

Course coordination plan
April 21 - 22, 2018 El Paso, Texas

David Rosier
Regional Manager
TEEX / ESTI
903-240-2219
david.rosier@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Kevin Mende
Training Chief
El Paso Fire Department
915-775-7300
mendekm@elpasotexas.gov

Course coordination plan
April 22 - 23, 2018 Cancelled El Paso, Texas

David Rosier
Regional Manager
TEEX / ESTI
903-240-2219
david.rosier@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Kevin Mende
Training Chief
El Paso Fire Department
915-775-7300
mendekm@elpasotexas.gov

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
July 21 - 22, 2018 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
September 4 - 5, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 22 - 23, 2018 Payson, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Dan Bramble
Battalion Chief
Payson Fire Department
928-474-5242
dbramble@paysonaz.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments