Fire Investigation: First Responders F0379

Curriculum: Fire Investigation
Training Specialist

Lester Rich
301-447-1209

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
0.0
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire investigation or fire prevention.

This course is designed specifically to provide a clear definition of the role of first responders in fire investigation and provide essential knowledge to enable them to recognize the potential of intentionally set fires, preservation and protection of evidence, and proper reporting of information to appropriate officials. By strengthening the partnership between first responders and investigators, the chances for successfully solving arson-related crimes will increase.

Course topics includes:

  • Fire behavior.
  • Critical observations of the first responder.
  • Fire causes.
  • Scene security and evidence preservation.
  • Legal considerations.
  • Documentation of findings.

This course is designed for all fire and emergency services personnel who might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

Interested students are encouraged to complete “Initial Fire Investigation for First Responders” (Q0379), available through NFA Online prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 4 - 5, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 22 - 23, 2018 Payson, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Dan Bramble
Battalion Chief
Payson Fire Department
928-474-5242
dbramble@paysonaz.gov

Course coordination plan
September 28 - 29, 2018 Cancelled Green Bay, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Training Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Thomas Vandenack
Fire Training Coordinator
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
920-498-5603
thomas.vandenack@nwtc.edu

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2018 Sulphur, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Coordinator
LSU FETI
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Christine Melancon Earnheart
Training Coordinator
Louisiana State University
225-334-6158
cmelancon@lsu.edu

Todd Parker
Training
CERTC
337-853-9902
tparker@cppj.net

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2018 Cancelled Pocahontas, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director of Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Alan Haskins
Fire Service Program Director
Black River Technical College
870-248-4129
Alan-Haskins@Blackrivertech.edu

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 9 - 10, 2019 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2019 Forsyth, Georgia

Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Public Safety Training Center - Fire Academy Division
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Jorge Roque
PSTIII/ NFA Coordinator
Georgia Public Safety Training Center - Fire Academy Division
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2019 Cancelled Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James E. Roy
Deputy Director
MFSI
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan