Fire Investigation: First Responders F0379

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire investigation or fire prevention.
CEU’s
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0379.pdf PDF 143KB
Training Specialist

Lester Rich
lester.rich@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

March 10 - 11, 2018 | March 10 - 11, 2018 | April 14 - 15, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed specifically to provide a clear definition of the role of first responders in fire investigation and provide essential knowledge to enable them to recognize the potential of intentionally set fires, preservation and protection of evidence, and proper reporting of information to appropriate officials. By strengthening the partnership between first responders and investigators, the chances for successfully solving arson-related crimes will increase. The course includes topics such as fire behavior, critical observations of the first responder, fire causes, scene security and evidence preservation, legal considerations, and documentation of findings.

This course is designed for all fire and emergency services personnel who might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Interested students are encouraged to complete "Initial Fire Investigation for First Responders" (Q0379), available through NFA Online at https://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/courses/online.html, prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

1. Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online at www.usfa.dhs.gov/nfa/nfaonline. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

2. Interested students are encouraged to complete Q0379, available through NFA Online at https://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nfa/courses/online.html, prior to participating in this classroom-based course.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
March 10 - 11, 2018 Cancelled Atoka, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Rural Programs Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-4604
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Danny Whitehouse
Rural Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
918-724-5496
danniw@osufst.org

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2018 Powers, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
FFTD Region Supervisor
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Course coordination plan
April 14 - 15, 2018 Green Bay, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Training Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Thomas Vandenack
Fire Training Coordinator
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
920-498-5603
thomas.vandenack@nwtc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 21 - 22, 2018 El Paso, Texas

Tony Lenard
Regional Manager
TEEX / ESTI
903-240-2219
tony.lenard@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX / ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Kevin Mende
Training Chief
El Paso Fire Department
915-775-7300
mendekm@elpasotexas.gov

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2018 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
Julie.olsen-fink@state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
June 8 - 9, 2018 Mitchell, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Course coordination plan
July 21 - 22, 2018 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 11 - 12, 2018 North Platte, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2018 Ester, Alaska

Chris Lau
Statewide Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and LIfe Safety
907-334-0894
chris.lau@alaska.gov

Gordon Descutner
Training Supervisor
Alaska Division of Fire and LIfe Safety
907-269-5061
gordon.descutner@alaska.gov

Chief Tori Clyde
Fire Chief
Ester Volunteer Fire Department
907-479-6858
chief@esterfire.org

Course coordination plan
September 4 - 5, 2018 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 22 - 23, 2018 Payson, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Dan Bramble
Battalion Chief
Payson Fire Department
928-474-5242
dbramble@paysonaz.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments