usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Incident Safety Officer F0729

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and Federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 28 - 29, 2021 Manchester, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
October 9 - 10, 2021 Cancelled Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
October 16 - 17, 2021 Cancelled Sparta, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Blake Deiber
Fire District Coordinator
Western Technical College
608-789-4747
deiberb@westerntc.edu

Course coordination plan
October 16 - 17, 2021 Cancelled Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.davies@us.af.mil

Course coordination plan
October 23 - 24, 2021 Cancelled Chickasha, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
OSU FST
405-623-0992
rfoster@osufst.org

Scott Smith
Workforce Development Coordinator
Canadian Valley Technology Center
405-345-2531
ssmith@cvtech.edu

Course coordination plan
November 8 - 9, 2021 Roswell, New Mexico

Sharlynn M. Montoya
Administrative Services Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
Sharlynn.Montoya@state.nm.us

Jared Jennings
Training Division Chief
Roswell Fire Department
575-624-6800
j.jennings@Roswell-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
January 15 - 16, 2022 Prophetstown, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-333-3800
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Michael Thompson
Training Officer
Prophetstown Fire Department
815-590-6044
michael.thompson34@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
January 22 - 23, 2022 Owatonna, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Ryan Seykora
Chief
Owatonna Fire Department
507-444-2454
ryan.seykora@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Course coordination plan
January 25 - 26, 2022 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Danneel Elkins
Training Administrative Director
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District
928-537-5123
delkins@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Bozeman, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Texarkana, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

William Smith
Assistant Chief
Texarkana Fire Department
870-779-4968
william.smith@txkusa.org

Course coordination plan
March 5 - 6, 2022 Elk City, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Danny Britton
Business Director
Western Technology Center
580-243-8212
dbritton@westtech.edu

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2022 Glendive, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
September 13 - 14, 2022 Las Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

John Redd
Battalion Chief
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7756
jredd@clarkcountynv.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It is a great course on identifying risks and keeping yourself and your crew safe.