Incident Safety Officer F0729

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and Federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
June 6 - 7, 2020 Texarkana, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

William Smith
Training Chief
Texarkana Fire Department
870-779-4968
william.smith@txkusa.org

Course coordination plan
July 7 - 8, 2020 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
August 22 - 23, 2020 Wayne, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Firefighter Training
385-205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Bill Pfeifer
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal Nebraska - Training Division
402-641-7194
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certifications Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Michael Scott
Section Chief, Professional Qualification and Training Section
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
Michael.Scott@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
October 9 - 10, 2020 Bullhead, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center For Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Joshua Livermore
Battalion Chief
Bullhead Fire Department
928-758-3971
jlivermore@bullheadfire.org

Course coordination plan
October 10 - 11, 2020 Ketchikan, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Training Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia Lauer-McMichael
Fire Training Specialist/Public Education Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Ken Montero
Firefighter
South Tongass Volunteer Fire Department
907-228-6682
kenm@kgbak.us

Course coordination plan
October 10 - 11, 2020 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.j.davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
October 20 - 21, 2020 Pocatello, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

William Hicks
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5488
william.hicks@cei.edu

Mark Araki
Division Chief of Training
Pocatello Fire Department
208-234-6579
maraki@pocatello.us

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2020 Anchor Point, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/Statewide Training Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia Lauer-McMichael
Fire Training Specialist/Public Education Coordinator
State of AK, Bureau of Fire Accreditation, Standards, and Training
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Jon Marsh
Deputy Chief
Anchor Point Fire & EMS
907-235-6700
jmarsh@kpb.us

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2020 Waukegan, Illinois

James Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Brett Stickels
Battalion Chief
Waukegan Fire Department
847-625-6895
brettstickels@waukeganil.gov

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2020 Superior, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Tim Halbur
Fire Services Director
Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College
715-234-7082
tim.halbur@witc.edu

Course coordination plan
December 10 - 11, 2020 Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Jason Andrews
Training Officer
Cedar Rapids Fire Department
319-286-5258
j.andrews@cedar-rapids.org

Course coordination plan
January 21 - 22, 2021 Sioux City, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Richard Andersen
Training Officer
Sioux City Fire Department
712-253-4735
randersen@sioux-city.org

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2021 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chris Pieper
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-715-0971
cpieper@fargond.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Lewistown, Montana

Brett Garber
Lieutenant
Lewistown Fire Department
406-535-1780
bgarber@ci.lewistown.mt.us

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
March 6 - 7, 2021 Edinburg, Texas

Dallas Renfrew
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-324-6089
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Projects Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Ubaldo Perez
Deputy Chief
Edinburg Fire Department
956-383-7691
bperez@cityofedinburg.com

Course coordination plan
March 6 - 7, 2021 York, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
SFM Nebraska - Training Division
385-205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Dennis Baber
Training Specialist
SFM Nebraska - Training Division
402-947-1520
dennis.baber@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It is a great course on identifying risks and keeping yourself and your crew safe.