Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Incident Safety Officer F0729

Training Specialist


Michael Stern
301-447-1253

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.6

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This 2-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0729.pdf PDF 186KB
Syllabus: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0729.pdf PDF 112KB

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 18 - 19, 2023 Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Jim Austad
President
Wisconsin Society of Emergency Services Instructors
920-735-5633
austad@fvtc.edu
CCP
March 10 - 11, 2023 Omaha, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
TD-SFM
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
Darin Lintner
Training Coordinator
TD-SFM
308-385-6892
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov
CCP
March 11 - 12, 2023 Cancelled Brunswick, Maine
James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu
James E. Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu
CCP
March 25 - 26, 2023 Bristol, Vermont
Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov
CCP
April 1 - 2, 2023 Cleveland, Wisconsin
Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Robert Schmidt
Public Safety Training Coordinator
Lakeshore Technical College
920-693-1106
robert.schmidt@gotoltc.edu
CCP
April 6 - 7, 2023 Marion, Iowa
Don Minks
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Kale McBurney
Battalion Chief
City of Marion Fire Department
319-373-8083
kmcburney@cityofmarion.org
CCP
April 14 - 15, 2023 Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org
Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org
CCP
June 5 - 6, 2023 Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Ryan Felish
Training Officer
Lake Havasu City Fire Department
928-855-5389
FelishRyan@LHCAZ.Gov
CCP
June 10 - 11, 2023 Yerington, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Lacey Parrott
Assistant Fire Chief
Mason Valley Fire Protection District
775-722-1984
lparrott@masonvalleyfire.org
CCP
June 24 - 25, 2023 Anchor Point, Alaska
Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.mcmichael@alaska.gov
Jon Marsh
Fire Chief
Western Emergency Services
907-714-6701
jmarsh@kpb.us
CCP
June 24 - 25, 2023 Socorro, New Mexico
Austin Meuli
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico State Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
austin.meuli@state.nm.us
CCP
August 15 - 16, 2023 Las Vegas, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Dennis Pinkerton
Bureau Chief
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7520
dpinkerton@dps.state.nv.us
Gary Stevenson
Training Officer
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7760
garys@clarkcountynv.gov
CCP
September 18 - 19, 2023 College Park, Maryland
Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
MFRI
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org
Jack Beall
Regional Coordinator
MFRI
410-758-2112
jbeall@mfri.org
CCP