Incident Safety Officer F0729

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science, safety, or fire administration.
CEU’s 1.6
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_r0729.pdf PDF 101KB
Training Specialist

George Morgan
george.morgan@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1407

Upcoming offerings

March 8 - 9, 2018 | May 19 - 20, 2018 | July 14 - 15, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses. A specific focus on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer is a main theme. Response to all-hazards types of situations will be emphasized.

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations. Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
March 8 - 9, 2018 Dixon, Illinois

Jodi Beccue
Administrative Assistant
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-244-6674
jbeccue@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Mark Callison
Deputy Chief
Dixon City Fire Department
815-288-0217
mcallison@dixonfd.com

Course coordination plan
May 19 - 20, 2018 Spearfish, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Robert Mathis
Assistant Chief
Spearfish Fire Department
605-642-1313
robert.mathis@cityofspearfish.com

Course coordination plan
July 14 - 15, 2018 Salina, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Oklahoma State University
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Garrett Ball
Training Officer
Salina Fire Department
918-695-6923
salinafd@sstelco.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments