usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Incident Safety Officer F0729

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and Federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 5 - 6, 2022 Cancelled Bozeman, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Billings, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
MT State University, Fire Service Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MT State University, Fire Service Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Cancelled Texarkana, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

William Smith
Assistant Chief
Texarkana Fire Department
870-779-4968
william.smith@txkusa.org

Course coordination plan
March 5 - 6, 2022 Elk City, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Danny Britton
Business Director
Western Technology Center
580-243-8212
dbritton@westtech.edu

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2022 Glendive, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
May 4 - 5, 2022 Boise, Idaho

Ross Johnson
Program Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
ross.johnson@cte.idaho.gov

Steve Rasulo
Division Chief
Boise Fire Department
208-573-7806
srasulo@cityofboise.org

Course coordination plan
June 10 - 11, 2022 Fort Pierre, South Dakota

Michael Jones
Deputy State Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
605-280-8165
michael.jones@state.sd.us

Charlie Kludt
President
SD Firefighters Association
605-326-5072
ckludt@iw.net

Course coordination plan
June 10 - 11, 2022 Cancelled Mitchell, South Dakota

Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-280-8165
michael.jones@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3417
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Charlie Kludt
President
SD Firefighters Association
605-326-5072
cdkludt@iw.net

Course coordination plan
July 23 - 24, 2022 Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Ben Wexler
Fire Program Supervisor
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-434-7000
ben.wexler@tn.gov

Nichole Brown
Fire Program Assistant
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-294-4127
nichole.brown@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
August 23 - 24, 2022 Carson City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2022 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
September 13 - 14, 2022 Las Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

John Redd
Battalion Chief
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7756
jredd@clarkcountynv.gov

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2022 Bernalillo, New Mexico

Brad Brunson
Deputy State Fire Marshal
New Mexico Fire Department
575-835-7500
brad.brunson@state.nm.us

Kenny Snow
Training Chief
Sandoval County Fire Department
505-720-6850
ksnow@sandovalcountynm.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It is a great course on identifying risks and keeping yourself and your crew safe.