Incident Safety Officer F0729

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science, safety, or fire administration.
CEU’s 1.6
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0729.pdf PDF 96.5KB
Training Specialist

Michael Stern
michael.stern@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1253

Upcoming offerings

November 2 - 3, 2017 | November 18 - 19, 2017 | December 2 - 3, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses. A specific focus on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer is a main theme. Response to all-hazards types of situations will be emphasized.

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations. Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
November 2 - 3, 2017 Davenport, Iowa

Todd Whitchelo
Training Officer
Davenport Fire Department
563-370-2612
f539@ci.davenport.ia.us

Course coordination plan
November 18 - 19, 2017 Cancelled Los Lunas, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Brian Culp
Fire Chief
Valencia County Fire Department
505-866-2040
brian.culp@co.valencia.nm.us

Course coordination plan
December 2 - 3, 2017 Wayne, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
SFM-Training Division
308-385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Bill Pfeifer
Training Specialist
SFM-Training Division
402-641-7194
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
December 4 - 5, 2017 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Brian Plumley
Division Chief
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District
928-242-3647
bplumley@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
February 10 - 11, 2018 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-222-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Jeff Phillips
Assistant Director
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 10 - 11, 2018 Alexandria, Minnesota

John Ehret
Fire Service Specialist East
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Tate Mills
Fire Service Specialist West
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
320-333-2817
tate.mills@state.mn.us

Bill Thoennes
Committee Chair
Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association
320-760-2928
parkdept@rea-alp.com

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2018 Dixon, Illinois

Jodi Beccue
Administrative Assistant
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-244-6674
jbeccue@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Mark Callison
Deputy Chief
Dixon City Fire Department
815-288-0217
mcallison@dixonfd.com

Course coordination plan
May 19 - 20, 2018 Spearfish, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Robert Mathis
Assistant Chief
Spearfish Fire Department
605-642-1313
robert.mathis@cityofspearfish.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments