Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Incident Safety Officer F0729

Training Specialist


Michael Stern
301-447-1253

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.6

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This 2-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0729.pdf PDF 109KB
Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0729.pdf PDF 112KB

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 24 - 25, 2024 Hastings, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal's office
308-385-6892
alan.joos@columbiasouthern.edu
CCP
August 22 - 23, 2024 Cancelled Omaha, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
CCP
August 23 - 24, 2024 Omaha, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
CCP
September 6 - 7, 2024 Wayne, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
SFM, Nebraska Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
CCP
September 14 - 15, 2024 Appleton, Wisconsin
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Denise Perkins
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-261-6920
denise.perkins@wtcsystem.edu
James Austad
Fire Protection Department Chair
Fox Valley Technical College Public Training Center
920-735-5633
austad@fvtc.edu
CCP
October 5 - 6, 2024 Twin Falls, Idaho
Brad Terry
Program Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-605-4546
brad.terry@cte.idaho.gov
Matthew Frisbie
Training Coordinator
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-605-4548
matthew.frisbie@cte.idaho.gov
Jesse Bowman
Training Captain
Twin Falls Fire Department
208-735-7337
jbowman@tfid.org
CCP
October 14 - 15, 2024 Tulsa, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Service Training
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Caroline Reed
Director
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Brock Clark
Training Officer
Tulsa Fire Department
918-694-2570
brockclark@cityoftulsa.org
CCP
October 15 - 16, 2024 Cancelled Tulsa, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Service Training
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Caroline Reed
Director
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Brock Clark
Training Officer
Tulsa Fire Department
918-694-2570
brockclark@cityoftulsa.org
CCP
October 19 - 20, 2024 Missoula, Montana
Rick Paulsen
Regional Training Coordinator
MSU - Fire Service Training School
406-381-2390
rick.paulsen@montana.edu
Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Service Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu
CCP
October 19 - 20, 2024 Jeffersonville, Indiana
John Shafer
Director
Indiana Fire Academy
317-281-3647
joshafer@dhs.in.gov
James Campbell
NFA State Contact
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
000-000-0000
jacampbell1@dhs.in.gov
Josh Thompson
Chief
Jeffersonville Fire Department
502-523-6296
jthompson@cityofjeff.net
CCP
October 22 - 23, 2024 Stephenville, Texas
Michael Cole
Regional Manager
TEEX
979-500-6807
michael.cole@teex.tamu.edu
Darren Smith
Training Director
TEEX
979-500-6812
darren.smith@teex.tamu.edu
Chris Elston
Division Chief of Operations
Stephenville Fire Department
254-918-1236
celston@stephenvilletx.gov
CCP
October 26 - 27, 2024 Grand Forks FD, North Dakota
Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov
Jason Swope
Captain
Grand Forks Fire Department
701-757-1191
JSwope@grandforksgov.com
CCP
November 4 - 5, 2024 Mustang, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Services Coordinator
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Caroline Reed
Director
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Chris Edwards
Captain
Mustang Fire Department
405-376-9365
chris.edwards@cityofmustang.org
CCP
November 9 - 10, 2024 Box Elder, South Dakota
Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
DPS-Fire Marshal
605-280-8165
Michael.Jones@state.sd.us
Adam Kuenkel
Department Coordinator/Assistant Chief
Box Elder Fire Department
757-319-0140
adam.kuenkel@boxelderfire.org
CCP
November 13 - 14, 2024 Tulsa, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Service Training
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Caroline Reed
Director
OSU Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Brock Clark
Training Officer
Tulsa Fire Department
918-694-2570
brockclark@cityoftulsa.org
CCP
November 14 - 15, 2024 Leawood, Kansas
James Zeeb
Assistant Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-7227
jzeeb@ku.edu
Mike Hoffine
Training Chief
Leawood Fire Department
913-915-7949
mikeh@leawood.org
CCP
November 18 - 19, 2024 Shawnee, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Services Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Joe Henry
Training Chief
Shawnee Fire Department
405-878-1530
jhenry@shawneeok.org
CCP
December 2 - 3, 2024 Yuma, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Paul Evancho
Fire Captain Training Officer
Yuma Fire Department
928-373-5000
Paul.evancho@yumaaz.gov
CCP
December 7 - 8, 2024 Willmar, Minnesota
Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us
Matt Grave
Deputy Chief
Willmar Fire Department
320-979-4347
mgrave@willmarmn.gov
CCP
December 10 - 11, 2024 Watertown, South Dakota
Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
DPS-Fire Marshals
605-280-8165
Michael.Jones@state.sd.us
Adam Heinrich
Lieutenant
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-882-5030
aheinrich@watertownfirerescue.com
CCP
January 18 - 19, 2025 St. Johnsbury, Vermont
Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator IV
Vermont Fire Academy
802-798-9389
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov
William Jones
Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
William.jones@vermont.gov
CCP
January 25 - 26, 2025 Mankato, Minnesota
Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us
Jay Kopischke
Fire Captain
Mankato Fire Department
507-514-3489
jkopischke@mankatomn.gov
CCP
January 25 - 26, 2025 Batesville, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Fire Program Manager
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Chris Seat
Training Officer
Batesville Fire Department
870-698-2439
chrisseat@ymail.com
CCP
January 29 - 30, 2025 Mesquite, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Spencer Lewis
Captain
Mesquite Fire Rescue
702-379-0714
slewis@mesquitenv.gov
CCP
February 1 - 2, 2025 Doyle, Tennessee
Jason Sparks
Fire Program Director
TFACA
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov
Nichole Brown
ASA III
TFACA
931-808-3739
nichole.brown@tn.gov
CCP
February 6 - 7, 2025 Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Bryant Stanec
Chief-Financial & Administration
Desert Hills Fire District
928-764-3333
bstanec@deserthillsfire.com
CCP
February 8 - 9, 2025 Fargo, North Dakota
Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov
Adam Kankelfritz
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
701-241-8262
akankelfritz@fargond.gov
CCP
February 11 - 12, 2025 Socorro, New Mexico
Austin Meuli
Academy Director
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-629-3990
austin.meuli@dhsem.nm.gov
Kevin Williams
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-469-4803
Kevin.williams@dhsem.nm.gov
Kevin Williams
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-469-4803
kevin.williams@dhsem.nm.gov
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 Owensboro, Kentucky
Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu
Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
606-309-8055
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 Salem, Oregon
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-569-8325
Kayla.Ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov
Aaron Bielemeier
Fire Training Coordinator
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-302-5523
Aaron.Bielemeier@dpsst.oregon.gov
CCP
April 7 - 8, 2025 Concord, New Hampshire
Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy & EMS
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov
Jeffrey Phillips
Assistant Director
New Hampshire Fire Academy & EMS
603-223-4213
jeffrey.r.phillips@dos.nh.gov
CCP
April 22 - 23, 2025 Sioux City, Iowa
Don Minks
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Jess Dunn
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
dunn@dps.state.ia.us
Dave Buchheit
Captain
Sioux City Fire & Rescue
712-279-6101
dbuchheit@sioux-city.org
CCP
July 21 - 22, 2025 Las Vegas, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Lara Crutchley
Training Officer
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7763
lara.crutchley@clarkcountynv.gov
CCP