An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Incident Safety Officer F0729

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and Federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
May 1 - 2, 2021 Columbus, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal - Training Division
308-385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Bill Pfeifer
Training Specialist
Nebraska State Fire Marshal - Training Division
308-385-6892
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
May 18 - 19, 2021 Lubbock, Texas

Scott Matthews
Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Henry Perry
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
512-848-7319
henry.perry@teex.tamu.edu

Randy Lammons
Captain - Training
Lubbock Fire-Rescue
806-775-2632
RLammons@mail.ci.lubbock.tx.us

Course coordination plan
July 12 - 13, 2021 Garden City, Kansas

Russell Greene
Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Kelly McCoy
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-9119
kellymccoy@ku.edu

Bill Beaty
Fire Chief
Garden City Fire Department
620-276-1141
bill.beaty@gardencityks.us

Course coordination plan
July 17 - 18, 2021 La Crosse, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Blake Deiber
Fire Service Coordinator
Western Technical College
608-789-4747
deiberb@westerntc.edu

Course coordination plan
July 17 - 18, 2021 Salem, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Dennis Price
Training Coordinator
VDFP
804-920-0614
dennis.price@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
July 31, 2021 - August 1, 2021 Hobbs, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-795-2349
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

Kevin Shearer
Battalion Chief
Hobbs Fire Department
575-397-9308
kshearer@hobbsnm.org

Course coordination plan
August 16 - 17, 2021 Newton, Kansas

Russell Greene
Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Phillip Beebe
Division Chief
Newton Fire Department
316-284-6060
philbeebe@newtonfireems.com

Course coordination plan
August 28 - 29, 2021 Madison, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Dawn Way
Fire Service Coordinator
Madison Area Technical College
608-246-6911
dway@madisoncollege.edu

Course coordination plan
September 1 - 2, 2021 Las Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

John Redd
Battalion Chief, Training
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7756
jredd@clarkcountynv.gov

Course coordination plan
September 11 - 12, 2021 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mike Scott
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
michael.scott@state.co.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It is a great course on identifying risks and keeping yourself and your crew safe.