Incident Safety Officer F0729

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science, safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and Federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 3 - 4, 2019 Waukegan, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
University of Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Brett Stickels
Battalion Chief
Waukegan Fire Department
847-625-6895
brett.stickels@waukeganil.gov

Course coordination plan
December 7 - 8, 2019 North Platte, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal Nebraska - Training Division
385-205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2020 Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge O. Roque Jr.
PSTI III
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Milan, New Mexico

Sharlynn Montoya
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Sharlynn.Montoya@state.nm.us

Joseph Desoto
Chief
Cibola County Chiefs Association
505-290-7719
jcpdesoto@msn.com

Course coordination plan
February 15 - 16, 2020 Salem, Oregon

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Pewaukee, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Kevin Gerarden
Executive Secretary
Wisconsin Society of Emergency Services Instructors
920-235-5494
kgerarden@wsesi.org

Courtney Carlson Hull
Associate Dean of Fire/EMS Training
Waukesha County Technical College
262-691-5363
chull1@wctc.edu

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2020 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
Kentucky Fire Commission/State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
February 29, 2020 - March 1, 2020 Port Neches, Texas

Ben Kennedy
Manager, Region 5
TEEX/ESTI/Extension
979-229-1263
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Manager, Special Projects
TEEX/ESTI/Extension
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Mike Stegall
Assistant Chief
Port Neches Fire Department
409-722-5885
mstegall@ci.port-neches.tx.us

Course coordination plan
March 24 - 25, 2020 Watertown, South Dakota

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota State Fire Marshal's Office
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-237-9998
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
April 3 - 4, 2020 Bullhead City, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Joshua Livermore
Battalion Chief
Bullhead Fire Department
928-758-3971
jlivermore@bullheadfire.org

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2020 Appleton, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Jim Austad
Fire Protection Department Chair
Fox Valley Technical College
920-735-5633
austad@fvtc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2020 Dillon, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Manager
Montana State Univeristy - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State Univeristy - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
April 25 - 26, 2020 Sparta, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Blake Deiber
Fire Service District Coordinator
Western Technical College
608-789-4747
DeiberB@westerntc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 25 - 26, 2020 Butte, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
June 6 - 7, 2020 Texarkana, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

William Smith
Training Chief
Texarkana Fire Department
870-779-4968
william.smith@txkusa.org

Course coordination plan
July 7 - 8, 2020 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
August 22 - 23, 2020 Wayne, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Firefighter Training
385-205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Bill Pfeifer
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal Nebraska - Training Division
402-641-7194
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certifications Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It is a great course on identifying risks and keeping yourself and your crew safe.