Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Incident Safety Officer F0729

Training Specialist


Michael Stern
301-447-1253

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.6

ACE recommendation


Pending (ACE Review): In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This 2-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses.

This course focuses on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer and emphasizes response to all-hazards types of situations.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0729.pdf PDF 109KB
Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0729.pdf PDF 112KB

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
March 21 - 22, 2024 Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu
Annette Geisler
Executive Assistant
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
608-401-1650
wsfa@wi-state-firefighters.org
CCP
April 4 - 5, 2024 Honolulu, Hawaii
Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov
Socrates Bratakos
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
sbratakos@honolulu.gov
Charles Riemer
Fire Captain
Honolulu Fire Department
808-723-7009
criemer@honolulu.gov
CCP
April 6 - 7, 2024 Wasilla, Alaska
Virginia M McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-351-6345
virginia.mcmichael@alaska.gov
Lisa Shield
Fire Training Specialist
Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-6083
lisa.shield@alaska.gov
Tawnya Hightower
Fire Chief
Mat-Su Emergency Services
907-861-8084
Tawnya.Hightower@matsugov.us
CCP
May 21 - 22, 2024 Las Vegas, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Gary Stevenson
Fire Training Officer
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7760
garys@clarkcountynv.gov
CCP
June 11 - 12, 2024 Dubuque, Iowa
Don Mink
Special Program Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau Division Fire Marshal
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Jess Dunn
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau Division Fire Marshal
515-727-3428
dunn@dps.state.ia.us
Josh Kneeper
Assistant Chief
Dubuque Fire Department
563-589-4189
jknepper@cityofdubuque.org
CCP
June 24 - 25, 2024 Hastings, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal's office
308-385-6892
alan.joos@columbiasouthern.edu
CCP
August 22 - 23, 2024 Omaha, Nebraska
Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov
CCP
September 14 - 15, 2024 Appleton, Wisconsin
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Denise Perkins
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-261-6920
denise.perkins@wtcsystem.edu
James Austad
Fire Protection Department Chair
Fox Valley Technical College Public Training Center
920-735-5633
austad@fvtc.edu
CCP