Incident Safety Officer F0729

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science, safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses. A specific focus on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer is a main theme. Response to all-hazards types of situations will be emphasized.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
October 12 - 13, 2018 La Vista, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Darin Lintner
Training Specialist
SFM
402-269-0856
darin.lintner@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2018 Scottsbluff, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal's Office
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Allen Michel
Training Specialist
SFM-Nebraska
308-279-1788
allen.michel@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 19, 2018 Rockford, Illinois

Randy Schlichter
Field Staff Instructor
IL Fire Service Institute
847-343-4039
schlicht@illinois.edu

Robert Vertiz
Division Chief of Training
Rockford Fire Department
779-500-6547
bob.vertiz@rockfordil.gov

Course coordination plan
October 20 - 21, 2018 Ft Monroe, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training & Operations Chief
VDFP
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Doreen McAndrews
Division Chief
VDFP
757-848-5828
doreen.mcandrews@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2018 Waukegan, Illinois

Randy Schlichter
Regional Representative
IL fire Service Institute
847-343-4039
schlicht@illinois.edu

Brett Stickels
Training Officer
Waukegan Fire Department
847-625-6895
brett.stickels@waukeganil.gov

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2018 Cancelled Rockford, Illinois

Randy Schlichter
Field Staff Instructor
IL Fire Service Institute
847-343-4039
schlicht@illinois.edu

Robert Vertiz
Division Chief of Training
Rockford Fire Department
779-500-6547
bob.vertiz@rockfordil.gov

Course coordination plan
October 25 - 26, 2018 Ankeny, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Dan Schellhase
Training Chief
Ankeny Fire Department
515-965-6473
dschellhase@ankenyiowa.gov

Course coordination plan
December 15 - 16, 2018 Bennington, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2019 Buckeye, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Preston Hundley
Division Chief
Buckeye Valley Fire District
623-386-5906
preston.hundley@bvfd.az.gov

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2019 Greenville, Michigan

TJ Richardson
Region Coordinator
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
517-285-6803
richardsont14@michigan.gov

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Brian Blomstrom
Executive Vice-President
Michigan Fire Service Instructor's Association
616-835-2701
bblomstrom48@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2019 Topeka, Indiana

Wade Walling
Training Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
317-694-1596
wwalling@dhs.in.gov

Stewart Bender
Fire Chief
Topeka Fire Department
260-593-2883
topekafd@ligitel.com

Course coordination plan
April 25 - 26, 2019 Artesia, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-629-2634
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Rick Burks
Division Chief
Artesia Fire Department
575-746-5056
rburks@artesianm.gov

Course coordination plan