usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Building Organizational Support for Community Risk Reduction F0636

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Management
Training Specialist

Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.3
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science, emergency management, disaster mitigation, or public safety.

This two-day course is designed to help fire and emergency services learn what community risk reduction is and how to build organizational support for it. This course will address the challenges that fire departments face in shifting their priorities from response to prevention. In many departments, community risk reduction is still considered a low priority. This course will show you how community risk reduction can help you and your department become more of a community player in times of decreased budgets.

This course includes three units of instruction:

  • Unit 1: Components of Community Risk Reduction.
  • Unit 2: Community Risk Reduction as a Service Priority.
  • Unit 3: Building Organizational Support for Community Risk Reduction.

At the end of this course, students will be evaluated through a 25-question multiple-choice examination. A final grade will be provided to each student. The minimum score needed to pass is 70.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0636.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/pcm_f0636.pdf PDF 22KB
Pre-course Assignment
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0636.pdf PDF 118KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The target audience for this course includes:

  • Fire and emergency services personnel who want to learn about community risk reduction.
  • Fire and emergency services personnel who are currently involved with fire prevention and have an interest in advancing risk-reduction efforts in their community.

Prerequisites

There is a pre-course assignment that should take about one hour to complete.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 1 - 2, 2021 Pasco, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Ben Shearer
Community Risk Reduction Manager
City of Pasco Fire Department
509-545-3497
shearerb@pasco-wa.gov

Course coordination plan
December 2 - 3, 2021 Alsip, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-333-3800
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Tom Styczynski
Fire Chief
Alsip Fire Department
708-385-6902
tstyczynski@villageofalsip.org

Course coordination plan
January 10 - 11, 2022 Garden City, Kansas

Joe Clow
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
866-804-8841
jmclow@ku.edu

Jeremy Moore
Interim Battalion Chief
Garden City Fire Department
620-640-0758
jeremy.moore@gardencityks.us

Course coordination plan
January 26 - 27, 2022 SeaTac, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Esther Hernandez / DSFM Robert Wittenberg
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
360-596-3913
esther.hernandez@wsp.wa.gov / robert.wittenberg@wsp.wa.gov

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2022 Lansing, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Aileen Pettinger
1st/3rd District Vice President
Michigan Professional Firefighters Union
989-928-6578
bombera@charter.net

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2022 Stillwater, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
rfoster@osufst.org

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2022 Plainfield, Indiana

Zach Westfall
Field Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security - Fire Academy
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan