usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Best Practices in Community Risk Reduction F0635

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Management
Training Specialist

Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.3
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science, emergency management, disaster mitigation, or public safety.

This two-day course demonstrates to students nationally recognized principles that, when used appropriately, can lead to community risk-reduction programs that can measure success in local communities. This course will give students the opportunity to explore programs from communities across the United States that have been showcased at Vision 20/20 symposiums. These programs demonstrate what nationally recognized organizations identify as examples of “best practices” in community risk reduction.

At the end of the course, students will be evaluated through a 25-question multiple-choice examination. A final grade will be provided to each student. The minimum score needed to pass is 70.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The target audience for this course includes:

  • Fire and emergency services personnel who help develop and deliver fire prevention and community risk-reduction programs.
  • Fire and emergency services staff with an interest in advancing risk-reduction efforts in their community.
  • Allied health and community service personnel who help develop and deliver risk-reduction programs.

Prerequisites

There is a pre-course assignment that should take about one hour to complete.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 21 - 22, 2022 Conroe, Texas

Tommy Jacobs
Regional Manager - Region 2
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
254-289-2232
tommy.jacobs@teex.tamu.edu

Harvie Cheshire
Project Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-321-6222
Harvie.cheshire@teex.tamu.edu

Nathan Huffman
Battalion Chief - Safety & Training
Montgomery County ESD #8
281-363-3473
nathan.huffman@mcesd8.org

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2022 Stillwater, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
rfoster@osufst.org

Patty Metcalf
Program Manager
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Riverton, Wyoming

Eric Siwik
Training Coordinator
Wyoming State Fire Marshal
307-857-6820
eric.siwik@wyo.gov

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Westampton, New Jersey

Kent Neiswender
Training and Certification Specialist II
NJ Division of Fire Safety
609-341-3473
kent.neiswender@dca.nj.gov

Karen Grant-Haber
Director
Kean University Fire Safety Program
908-737-3062
kgrant@kean.edu

Howard Black
Fire Academy Director
Burlington County ESTC
609-702-7157
hblack@co.burlington.nj.us

Course coordination plan
August 15 - 16, 2022 Newton, Kansas

Erin McGruder
Instructional Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-0650
erinmcg@ku.edu

Phillip Beebe
Assistant Chief
Newton Fire/EMS
316-284-6001
philbeebe@newtonfireems.com

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course helps those in emergency response to complete a more in-depth look at risk reduction planning.