usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Best Practices in Community Risk Reduction F0635

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Management
Training Specialist

Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.3
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in emergency management.

This two-day course demonstrates to students nationally recognized principles that, when used appropriately, can lead to community risk-reduction programs that can measure success in local communities. This course will give students the opportunity to explore programs from communities across the United States that have been showcased at Vision 20/20 symposiums. These programs demonstrate what nationally recognized organizations identify as examples of “best practices” in community risk reduction.

At the end of the course, students will be evaluated through a 25-question multiple-choice examination. A final grade will be provided to each student. The minimum score needed to pass is 70.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The target audience for this course includes:

  • Fire and emergency services personnel who help develop and deliver fire prevention and community risk-reduction programs.
  • Fire and emergency services staff with an interest in advancing risk-reduction efforts in their community.
  • Allied health and community service personnel who help develop and deliver risk-reduction programs.

Prerequisites

There is a pre-course assignment that should take about one hour to complete.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
August 15 - 16, 2022 Cancelled Newton, Kansas

James Zeeb
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-7227
JZeeb@ku.edu

Phillip Beebe
Assistant Chief
Newton Fire/EMS
316-284-6001
philbeebe@newtonfireems.com

Course coordination plan
December 10 - 11, 2022 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chad Cutshaw
Deputy Chief
Grand Forks Fire Department
701-746-2566
CCutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
February 1 - 2, 2023 Waukegan, Illinois

James Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-333-3800
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Brett Stickels
Training Officer
Waukegan Fire Department
847-625-6895
Brett.Stickels@waukeganil.gov

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2023 Odessa, Texas

Tony Lenard
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-500-6809
tony.lenard@teex.tamu.edu

Chris Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

Kris Norred
Training Captain
Odessa Fire Department
432-257-0501
knorred@odessa-tx.gov

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2023 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
270-273-3187
Jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire and Rescue Training
270-273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 12 - 13, 2023 Mesa, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Tanja Tanner
Community Education Coordinator
Goodyear Fire Department
623-882-7308
tanja.tanner@goodyearaz.gov

Course coordination plan
April 13 - 14, 2023 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist/State NFA Coordinator
SCFA
803-896-9842
Mike.Dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
SCFA
803-896-4074
Bonita.Watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
April 20 - 21, 2023 Lenexa, Kansas

James Zeeb
Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-7227
JZeeb@ku.edu

Butch Diekemper
Assistant Chief
Lenexa Kansas Fire Department
913-477-7915
adiekemper@lenexa.com

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 21, 2023 Williston, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov

Chris Mahoney
Training Captain
Williston Fire Department
701-572-3400
chrism@ci.williston.nd.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course helps those in emergency response to complete a more in-depth look at risk reduction planning.