Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Best Practices in Community Risk Reduction F0635

Training Specialist


Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.3

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in emergency management.

This 2-day course demonstrates to students nationally recognized principles that, when used appropriately, can lead to community risk-reduction programs that can measure success in local communities. This course will give students the opportunity to explore programs from communities across the United States that have been showcased at Vision 20/20 symposiums. These programs demonstrate what nationally recognized organizations identify as examples of “best practices” in community risk reduction.

At the end of the course, students will be evaluated through a 25-question, multiple-choice examination. A final grade will be provided to each student. The minimum score needed to pass is 70.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0635.pdf PDF 109KB
Pre-course Assignment: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/pcm_f0635.pdf PDF 30KB
Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0635.pdf PDF 101KB

The target audience for this course includes:

  • Fire and emergency services personnel who help develop and deliver fire prevention and community risk-reduction programs.
  • Fire and emergency services staff with an interest in advancing risk-reduction efforts in their community.
  • Allied health and community service personnel who help develop and deliver risk-reduction programs.

There is a pre-course assignment that should take about 1 hour to complete.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 29 - 30, 2024 Cancelled Hobbs, New Mexico
Austin Meuli
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-629-3990
austin.meuli@dhsem.nm.gov
Kevin Shearer
Battalion Chief
Hobbs Fire Department
575-397-9308
kshearer@hobbsnm.org
CCP
August 10 - 11, 2024 Georgetown, Delaware
Vincent Miller
Training Administrator
Delaware State Fire School
302-739-4773
vincent.miller@delaware.gov
CCP
September 7 - 8, 2024 Cancelled Black Hawk, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
Laura Renville
Program Assistant
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP
September 7 - 8, 2024 Greenwood Village, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
CCP
October 17 - 18, 2024 Bluemont, Virginia
Kristoffer McAlister
Training and Safety Officer
Mount Weather Fire Department
540-542-2660
kristoffer.mcalister@fema.dhs.gov
CCP
January 27 - 28, 2025 Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reid Vaughan
Section Chief
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org
Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor, Training
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3744
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org
CCP
January 30 - 31, 2025 Cheektowaga, New York
Andrew Fischer
Fire Protection Specialist
NY Office of Fire Prevention and control
716-847-3320
andrew.fischer@dhses.ny.gov
Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NY Office of Fire Prevention and Control
518-380-0569
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov
Alexander Doll
Deputy Fire Coordinator
Erie County Department of Homeland Security & Emergency Services, Division of Fire Safety
716-858-7971
Alexander.doll@erie.gov
CCP
February 10 - 11, 2025 Rescue, California
Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE State Fire Training
916-501-3100
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov
Brett Jones
Fire Captain/Training Officer
Rescue Fire Department
916-801-8709
brett@rescuefiredepartment.org
CCP
February 12 - 13, 2025 Marion, Iowa
Don L Minks
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Jess Dunn
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
dunn@dps.state.ia.us
Kale McBurney
Assistant Chief
Marion Fire Department
319-373-8083
kmcburney@cityofmarion.org
CCP
February 13 - 14, 2025 Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-608-5437
mark.waters@ct.gov
CCP
March 11 - 12, 2025 Esopus, New York
Willliam Freer
Deputy Chief
NY Office of Fire Prevention and Control
845-224-2210
william.freer@dhses.ny.gov
Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NY Office of Fire Prevention and Control
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov
William Freer
Deputy Chief
NY Office of Fire Prevention and Control
845-224-2210
william.Freer@dhses.ny.gov
CCP