Best Practices in Community Risk Reduction F0635

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Management
Training Specialist

Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.3
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in public safety, emergency management or fire science.

This two-day course demonstrates to students nationally recognized principles that, when used appropriately, can lead to community risk-reduction programs that can measure success in local communities. This course will give students the opportunity to explore programs from communities across the United States that have been showcased at Vision 20/20 symposiums. These programs demonstrate what nationally recognized organizations identify as examples of “best practices” in community risk reduction.

At the end of the course, students will be evaluated through a 25-question multiple-choice examination. A final grade will be provided to each student. The minimum score needed to pass is 70.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The target audience for this course includes:

  • Fire and emergency services personnel who help develop and deliver fire prevention and community risk-reduction programs.
  • Fire and emergency services staff with an interest in advancing risk-reduction efforts in their community.
  • Allied health and community service personnel who help develop and deliver risk-reduction programs.

Prerequisites

There is a pre-course assignment that should take about one hour to complete.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
January 25 - 26, 2020 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certifications Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2020 Lake Barrington, Illinois

James P. Moore
Assistant Director
University of Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-300-3463
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Scott Motisi
Assistant Chief
Barrington-Countryside Fire Protection District
224-848-4800
smotisi@bcfpd.us

Course coordination plan
February 14 - 15, 2020 Hastings, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
State Fire Marshal Nebraska - Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2020 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2020 Jefferson City, Missouri

Rebecca Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-751-5302
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2020 Mesquite, Texas

Kenneth King
Manager, Region 8
TEEX/ESTI/Extension
903-818-1823
ken.king@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Manager, Special Projects
TEEX/ESTI/Extension
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2020 Forsyth, Georgia

Jorge O. Roque Jr.
PSTI III
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4670
imcconnell@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
April 24 - 25, 2020 Silver City, New Mexico

Sharlynn Montoya
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7500
Sharlynn.Montoya@state.nm.us

Milo E. Lambert
Chief
Silver City Fire Department
575-956-1273
mlambert@silvercitymail.com

Course coordination plan
May 13 - 14, 2020 Pittsford, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Training Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
September 1 - 2, 2020 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course helps those in emergency response to complete a more in-depth look at risk reduction planning.