Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Youth Firesetting Intervention Specialist F0633

Training Specialist


Michael Weller
301-447-1476

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


2.4

ACE recommendation


In the upper-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire prevention, fire science, risk management or introduction to psychology.

"Youth Firesetting Intervention Specialist" is a 2-day course based on the requirements of National Fire Protection Association 1035, Standard on Fire and Life Safety Educator, Public Information Officer, Youth Firesetter Intervention Specialist and Youth Firesetter Program Manager Professional Qualifications pertaining to the youth firesetting intervention specialist.

This course focuses on how identification, intake, screening, disposition and follow-up are used to mitigate youth firesetting behavior. Course content includes understanding the motivations behind youth firesetting and how the impact of adverse childhood experiences and behavioral/mental health changes can influence firesetting behaviors. This course is for the practitioner who provides services at the program delivery level.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0633.pdf PDF 73KB
Precourse Assignment: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/pcm_f0633.pdf PDF 286KB
Course Syllabus: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0633.pdf PDF 310KB

Students either have or will have responsibilities as the practitioner who provides services at the program delivery level. This includes the person who is responsible for the identification, intake, screening, educational intervention, follow-up and evaluation of the program services and results.

Students representing the fire service are encouraged to partner with other agencies for this training. Partners can include but are not limited to fire investigators, law enforcement, mental health, social services, juvenile justice or other stakeholders who can assist in building and maintaining programs in their communities.

Note: There is an extensive, graded pre-course assignment that prepares students for engaging in the subject matter and working with firesetting youth.


Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
December 6 - 7, 2022 Forsyth, Georgia Ike McConnell
Director
Georgia Fire Academy
478-999-3467
imcconnell@gpstc.org Jorge O. Roque Jr.
Instructor
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4685
jroque@gpstc.org
CCP
January 23 - 24, 2023 Wyoming, Michigan Dan Hammerberg
Region 1 Training Chief
Bureau of Fire Services Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov Brad Dornbos
Fire Inspector
Wyoming Fire Department
616-257-9764
brad.dornbos@wyomingmi.gov
CCP
January 30 - 31, 2023 Pasadena, Texas Tommy Jacobs
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-500-6808
Tommy.Jacobs@teex.tamu.edu Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu David Brannon
Chief Fire Marshal
Pasadena Fire Marshal's Office
713-475-5556
dbrannon@pasadenatx.gov
CCP
March 7 - 8, 2023 Sacramento, California Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL Fire State Fire Training
916-568-2902
kirsten.foseca@fire.ca.gov Chris Fowler
DSFM Supervisor
CAL Fire State Fire Training
916-568-2901
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov Rachel Crowell
Assistant Director
Firefighters Burn Institute
916-739-8525
rachel@ffburn.org
CCP
March 8 - 9, 2023 Pasco, Washington Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov N/A Esther Hernanez
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Fire Marshal’s Office
360-596-3913
esther.hernandez@wsp.wa.gov
CCP
March 14 - 15, 2023 Concord, New Hampshire Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov
CCP
April 15 - 16, 2023 Evansville, Indiana Zach Westfall
Program Manager
State Fire Academy
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov Patrick Fisher
Assistant Chief
Scott Township Fire
812-457-0713
pafisher@dhs.in.gov
CCP
May 6 - 7, 2023 Loveland, Colorado Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us Laura Renville
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP