Executive Skill Series: Exercising Leadership Ethically (Course available only during NFA Sponsored State Weekends) W0523

Delivery type 2-Day On-Campus
ACE recommendation In the upper division baccalaureate degree category, one semester hour in ethics or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_w0523.pdf PDF 131KB
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

July 21 - 22, 2018 | April 6 - 7, 2019 | June 29 - 30, 2019 | View more

Course description

This new two-day course provides students with the ability to recognize ethical dilemmas in the context of their environments, apply a decision model to resolve these dilemmas, render ethical decisions, and defend under scrutiny the resulting decisions that were made in an effort to resolve these dilemmas. This course will become the fourth offering within the Executive Skill Series.

Selection criteria

The target audience for all of the Executive Skill Series courses, including this course, are fire and emergency services personnel in positions of authority who have an opportunity to exercise leadership. An eligible student must be minimally assigned to a supervisory level position (for example, a Company Officer). Line firefighters or firefighter-paramedics are not within the target audience and will not be considered.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
July 21 - 22, 2018 Emmitsburg, Maryland
April 6 - 7, 2019 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
June 29 - 30, 2019 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jack Smith
Superintendent
Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
jack.smith@com.state.oh.us

Course coordination plan
July 20 - 21, 2019 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
AAI
PA State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov

Bruce Trego
Administrator
PA State Fire Academy
717-247-3740
brtrego@pa.gov

Course coordination plan
September 21 - 22, 2019 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Nichole Brown
ASA II
TFACA
931-294-4127
nichole.brown@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments