usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Wildland Urban Interface Firefighting for the Structural Company Officer F0610

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or fire management.

This two-day course identifies operational activities and safety concerns for structural Company Officers (COs) assigned to a wildland urban interface (WUI) incident.

Topics covered include:

  • Introduction to WUI firefighting,
  • Interface environment,
  • Wildland fire behavior,
  • Command and control issues of WUI firefighting.
  • Tactics.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0610.pdf PDF 220KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0610.pdf PDF 139KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

COs or chief officers who may be in command of a single resource or Strike Team at the scene of a wildland/WUI incident.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
March 19 - 20, 2022 Miles City, Montana

Jerry Prete
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-461-2274
gerald.prete@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Westampton, New Jersey

Kent Neiswender
Training and Certification Specialist II
NJ Division of Fire Safety
609-341-3473
kent.neiswender@dca.nj.gov

Karen Grant-Haber
Director
Kean University Fire Safety Program
908-737-3062
kgrant@kean.edu

Howard Black
Fire Academy Director
Burlington County ESTC
609-702-7157
hblack@co.burlington.nj.us

Course coordination plan
June 14 - 15, 2022 Carson City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Informative in addressing large scale incident management.