usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Wildland Urban Interface Firefighting for the Structural Company Officer F0610

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or fire management.

This two-day course identifies operational activities and safety concerns for structural Company Officers (COs) assigned to a wildland urban interface (WUI) incident.

Topics covered include:

  • Introduction to WUI firefighting,
  • Interface environment,
  • Wildland fire behavior,
  • Command and control issues of WUI firefighting.
  • Tactics.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0610.pdf PDF 220KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0610.pdf PDF 139KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

COs or chief officers who may be in command of a single resource or Strike Team at the scene of a wildland/WUI incident.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
July 16 - 17, 2022 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
October 5 - 6, 2022 Plainfield, Indiana

Zach Westfall
Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security - Fire Academy
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan
October 6 - 7, 2022 Stephenville, Texas

Michael Cole
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-500-6807
Michael.Cole@teex.tamu.edu

Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

Chris Elston
Lieutenant
Stephenville Fire Department
254-918-1236
celston@stephenvilletx.gov

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2022 Abiquiu, New Mexico

Austin Meuli
Training Operations Manager
New Mexico State Firefighters Training Academy
575-835-7501
austin.meuli@state.nm.us

David Klein
Chief
Abiquiu Fire Department
505-901-0300
davidjoe@mac.com

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2023 Hilo, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov

Keone Roback
Captain
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8772
Keone.Roback@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2023 Butte, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
March 18 - 19, 2023 Deer Park, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

N/A

Rana Mahmood
Captain
Spokane County Fire District 4
509-467-4500
ranam@scfd4.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Informative in addressing large scale incident management.