Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Wildland Urban Interface Firefighting for the Structural Company Officer F0610

Training Specialist


Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire science or fire management.

This 2-day course identifies operational activities and safety concerns for structural Company Officers (COs) assigned to a wildland urban interface (WUI) incident.

Topics covered include:

  • Introduction to WUI firefighting.
  • Interface environment.
  • Wildland fire behavior.
  • Command and control issues of WUI firefighting.
  • Tactics.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0610.pdf PDF 220KB
Course Syllabus: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0610.pdf PDF 139KB

COs or chief officers who may be in command of a single resource or Strike Team at the scene of a wildland/WUI incident.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 22 - 23, 2023 Hilo, Hawaii Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov Keone Roback
Captain
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8772
Keone.Roback@hawaiicounty.gov
CCP
February 25 - 26, 2023 Butte, Montana Craig Jeppson
Regional Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu
CCP
March 18 - 19, 2023 Deer Park, Washington Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov N/A Rana Mahmood
Captain
Spokane County Fire District 4
509-467-4500
ranam@scfd4.org
CCP
April 15 - 16, 2023 Chilhowie, Virginia Charlotte Green
Executive Assistant
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1987
charlotte.green@vdfp.virginia.gov Jamey Brads
Chief of Training and Operations
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-839-1042
jamey.brads@vdfp.virginia.gov C. David Haynes
Fire Chief
Chilhowie Fire & EMS Department
276-706-0317
cdhaynes2201@gmail.com
CCP