Wildland Urban Interface Firefighting for the Structural Company Officer F0610

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or emergency management.

This two-day course identifies operational activities and safety concerns for structural Company Officers (COs) assigned to a wildland urban interface (WUI) incident.

Topics covered include:

  • Introduction to WUI firefighting,
  • Interface environment,
  • Wildland fire behavior,
  • Command and control issues of WUI firefighting.
  • Tactics.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0610.pdf PDF 220KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0610.pdf PDF 139KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

COs or chief officers who may be in command of a single resource or Strike Team at the scene of a wildland/WUI incident.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
February 7 - 8, 2020 Flagstaff, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Scott Walton
Regional Fire Training Coordinator
Flagstaff Fire Department
928-213-2591
swalton@flagstaffaz.gov

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2020 Anchor Point, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist/State Fire Training Coordinator
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Richard Boothby
State Fire Marshal
State of Alaska - Division of Fire & Life Safety
907-269-5491
richard.boothby@alaska.gov

Jon Marsh
Deputy Chief
Anchor Point Fire & EMS
907-235-6700
jmarsh@kpb.us

Course coordination plan
March 18 - 19, 2020 Kellogg, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

Mark Aamodt
Fire Chief
Shoshone County Fire District #2
208-784-1188
maamodt@shoshonefd2.com

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2020 Durant, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

John Vietta
Training Officer
Durant Fire
580-924-2358
jvietta@durant.org

Course coordination plan
June 13 - 14, 2020 Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Chris Knutsen
Training Officer
Pigeon Forge Fire Department
865-429-7382
cknutsen@cityofpigeonforgetn.gov

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Bangor, Maine

James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Informative in addressing large scale incident management.