usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Fire Service Safety Culture: Who Protects Firefighters From Firefighters? W0349

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day on-campus
Continuing education units
1.5
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire administration.

This two-day course is designed to assist emergency services personnel in defining and advocating organizational change within the fire service relating to safety.

Topics include:

  • Safety and risk cultures within organizations.
  • Influences on safety culture and risk categories.
  • Concepts, goals, and processes of risk management.

The course incorporates facilitated student-centered methodologies including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0349.pdf PDF 74KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_w0349.pdf PDF 134KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

The primary target audience includes anyone in emergency services with an interest in changing culture in his or her organization.

The secondary target audience includes all interested individuals and community people who are responsible for risk management.

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Apply online if you are interested in attending a state or national weekend program.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
August 7 - 8, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
February 26 - 27, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland
April 2 - 3, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-608-5437
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 30, 2022 - May 1, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

John B. Gilmore Jr.
NYS Fire Training Director - Chief of Fire Training & Education Branch
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
518-474-6746
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief, Fire Training & Education Branch
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
716-847-3934
Brian.Benstead@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Manager
Florida State Fire Marshal
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
June 25 - 26, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jack Smith
Superintendent
Ohio Division of State Fire Marshal - Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
jack.smith@com.state.oh.us

Dave Belcher
Instructor
Ohio Division of State Fire Marshal - Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
belcher591@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
July 9 - 10, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-563-1265
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
July 16 - 17, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Jeni Binkley
Secretary / Treasurer
Michigan State Firemen's Association
910-635-9513
office@msfassoc.net

Course coordination plan
July 16 - 17, 2022 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan

Student comments

It helped me to see where my department has room for improvement and through discussion with other students allowed me to think of ways to make those improvements.