Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership Within Communities F0520

Training Specialist


Ed Kensler
301-447-1158

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


In the upper-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in public administration.

The objective of this 2-day course is to provide fire service authority figures with knowledge and skills that enable them to exercise leadership when confronting adaptive challenges presented by increasingly diverse internal and external communities. The goal of the course is for participants to use the diversity of ideas, peoples and cultures as resources in exercising leadership to address adaptive challenges in their communities.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0520.pdf PDF 109KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0520.pdf PDF 70KB

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive-level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory-level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 8 - 9, 2024 Williston, North Dakota
Robert Knuth
Training Director
ND Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rknuth@nd.gov
Corey Johnson
Assistant Chief
Williston Fire Department
701-572-3400
coreyj@ci.williston.nd.us
CCP
June 11 - 12, 2024 Tupelo, Mississippi
David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov
Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov
Brad Robinson
Chief of Operations
Tupelo Fire Department
662-841-6439
brad.robinson@tupeloms.gov
CCP
August 15 - 16, 2024 Pinetop, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Charles Rose
Training Specialist
Pinetop Fire District
928-367-2199
crose@pinetopfire.com
CCP
August 19 - 20, 2024 Columbia, South Carolina
Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov
Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov
CCP
September 28 - 29, 2024 Dover, Delaware
Vincent Miller
Training Administrator
Delaware State Fire School
302-739-4773
vincent.miller@delaware.gov
CCP
October 5 - 6, 2024 Abingdon, Virginia
Charlotte Green
Executive Assistant
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1987
charlotte.green@vdfp.virginia.gov
Jamey Brads
Chief of Training and Operations
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-839-1042
jamey.brads@vdfp.virginia.gov
Tim Estes
Fire Chief
Abingdon Fire Department
276-628-5563
tim.estes@abingdon-va.gov
CCP
March 20 - 21, 2025 Rio Rico, Arizona
Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org
Chris Renteria
Battalion Chief
Rio Rico Medical & Fire District
520-313-5450
crenteria@rioricofire.org
CCP