Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership Through Difficult Conversations W0522

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-Day On-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in public administration, leadership, communication, management, or human resources.

The purpose of this two-day course is to provide knowledge and skills for having difficult conversations to exercise leadership in addressing adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for the participant to identify and apply skills for having difficult conversations as they relate to exercising leadership when addressing adaptive challenges.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Virginia and North Carolina: Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending. All other states: Apply online.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
March 21 - 22, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

John B. Gilmore Jr
State Training Director
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services/ Office of Fire Prevention & Control
518-242-5249
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief, Fire Operations & Training Branch
NYS Division of Homeland Security & Emergency Services/ Office of Fire Prevention & Control
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
May 2 - 3, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Kent Neiswender
Supervisor - Office of Training and Certification
New Jersey Division of Fire Safety
609-341-3473
kent.neiswender@dca.nj.gov

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist/SC NFA State Coordinator
SC State Fire Academy
803-896-9842
Mike.Dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Manager of Curriculum
SC State Fire Academy
803-896-4074
Bonita.Watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina Marie Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@sfm.dps.ri.gov

Mark A. St. Pierre
Chief
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jorge O. Roque Jr.
PSTI III
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan