Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership Through Difficult Conversations W0522

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-day on-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership, human resources, or public administration.

The purpose of this two-day course is to provide knowledge and skills for having difficult conversations to exercise leadership in addressing adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for the participant to identify and apply skills for having difficult conversations as they relate to exercising leadership when addressing adaptive challenges.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Apply online if you are interested in attending a state or national weekend program.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
July 11 - 12, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist/SC NFA State Coordinator
SC State Fire Academy
803-896-9842
Mike.Dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Manager of Curriculum
SC State Fire Academy
803-896-4074
Bonita.Watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina Marie Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@sfm.dps.ri.gov

Mark A. St. Pierre
Chief
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jorge O. Roque Jr.
PSTI III
Georgia Fire Academy
478-993-4684
jroque@gpstc.org

Course coordination plan
August 29 - 30, 2020 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NYS Divsion of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov

John Gilmore
State Fire Training Director
NYS Divsion of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
518-242-5249
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
August 7 - 8, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Program Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2754
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan