Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership Through Difficult Conversations F0522

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership, human resources, or public administration.

The purpose of this two-day course is to provide knowledge and skills for having difficult conversations to exercise leadership in addressing adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for the participant to identify and apply skills for having difficult conversations as they relate to exercising leadership when addressing adaptive challenges.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
July 11 - 12, 2020 Cancelled Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
931-224-0851
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
August 13 - 14, 2020 Cancelled Kahului, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lani Gomes
Training Captain
Maui Fire Department
808-270-5545
Uilani-Manu.Gomes@co.maui.hi.us

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Bell Buckle, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Program Director
TFACA
931-294-4159
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
September 28 - 29, 2020 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Educational Specialist
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2020 Gig Harbor, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Fire Prevention Bureau
206-817-7119
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Tracy Lyon
Division Chief of Training
Gig Harbor Fire & Medic One
253-851-3111
tlyon@gigharborfire.org

Course coordination plan
January 13 - 14, 2021 South Saint Paul, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Mike Nelson
Training Chief
South Metro Fire Department
612-760-5708
MNelson@smfdmn.org

Course coordination plan
February 5 - 6, 2021 Minden, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Gray Young
Assistant Manager
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
225-202-8835
gyoung01@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
February 9 - 10, 2021 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA Training Programs Manager
Florida Division of State Fire Marshal
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Drew Rogers
Division Chief, Training
Marion County Fire Rescue
352-291-8091
Drew.Rogers@marioncountyfl.org

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Lansing, Michigan

Dan Hammerberg
Region Coordinator
Michigan Fire Fighter Training Division
906-399-4399
hammerbergd@michigan.gov

Aileen Pettinger
Northern Trustee
Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union
989-928-6578
bombera@charter.net

Course coordination plan
June 1 - 2, 2021 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Agency Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Everyone at some point has to deal with a difficult conversation and this class provides multiple tools to do so effectively.