Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership Through Difficult Conversations F0522

Training Specialist


Ed Kensler
301-447-1158

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


Pending (ACE Review): In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in leadership, human resources or public administration.

The purpose of this 2-day course is to provide knowledge and skills for having difficult conversations to exercise leadership in addressing adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for the participant to identify and apply skills for having difficult conversations as they relate to exercising leadership when addressing adaptive challenges.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0522.pdf PDF 109KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0522.pdf PDF 109KB

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive-level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory-level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
March 19 - 20, 2024 Cancelled Concord, New Hampshire
Scott Cathy
Captain
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4223
firechief@new-hampton.nh.us
CCP
April 23 - 24, 2024 Sioux City, Iowa
Don Minks
Special Program Manager
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3424
minks@dps.state.ia.us
Jess Dunn
Bureau Chief
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
dunn@dps.state.ia.us
David Buchheit
Captain Training Officer
Sioux City Fire Rescue
712-279-6101
dbuchheit@sioux-city.org
CCP
May 21 - 22, 2024 Jackson, Mississippi
David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov
Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov
George Horn
Chief of Training
Jackson Fire Department
601-832-0902
ghorn@jacksonms.gov
CCP
June 29 - 30, 2024 Plainfield, Indiana
Jim Campbell
NFA State Contact
IDHS Fire & Public Safety Training Academy
317-281-2346
JaCampbell1@dhs.IN.gov
Robin Nicoson
Curriculum Director
IDHS Fire & Public Safety Training Academy
317-518-4645
rnicoson@dhs.in.gov
CCP
July 13 - 14, 2024 Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Jason Sparks
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov
Nichole Brown
Fire Service Administrative Assistant
TFACA
931-294-4127
nichole.brown@tn.gov
Ben Wexler
Fire Service Supervisor
TFACA
931-434-7000
ben.wexler@tn.gov
CCP