An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership Through Difficult Conversations F0522

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Dave Donohue
301-447-1094

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership, human resources, or public administration.

The purpose of this two-day course is to provide knowledge and skills for having difficult conversations to exercise leadership in addressing adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for the participant to identify and apply skills for having difficult conversations as they relate to exercising leadership when addressing adaptive challenges.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
May 25 - 26, 2021 Albuquerque, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-795-2349
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

David Mowrey
Deputy Chief of Training & Communications
Albuquerque Fire Rescue
505-768-9307
demowery@cabq.gov

Course coordination plan
June 1 - 2, 2021 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manger
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
June 5 - 6, 2021 Malvern, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Jonathan Farber
Training Officer
Malvern Fire Department
870-332-7611
jfarber@malvernar.gov

Course coordination plan
August 19 - 20, 2021 Johnston, Iowa

John Kraemer
Bureau Chief
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-727-3428
kraemer@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
August 26 - 27, 2021 Kahului, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Jeffrey Robson
Training Captain
Maui Fire Department
808-270-5545
Jeffrey.Robson@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2021 Zephyr Cove, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Steve Prather
Battalion Chief
Tahoe Douglas Fire Protection District
775-588-3591
sprather@tahoefire.com

Course coordination plan
September 23 - 24, 2021 South Saint Paul, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Mike Nelson
Training Chief
South Metro Fire Department
612-760-5708
MNelson@smfdmn.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Everyone at some point has to deal with a difficult conversation and this class provides multiple tools to do so effectively.