Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership to Facilitate Adaptive Change W0521

Training Specialist


Ed Kensler
301-447-1158

Delivery type


2-day on-campus

Continuing education units


1.1

ACE recommendation


Pending (ACE Review): In the upper-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in leadership, management or organizational behavior.

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.

This 2-day course is to provide skills that individuals in positions of authority can use to exercise leadership when confronted with adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for participants to develop an understanding of skills associated with exercising leadership to resolve adaptive problems — those problems where the solution is either unknown or requires significant change, or both.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0521.pdf PDF 109KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_w0521.pdf PDF 130KB

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive-level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory-level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Incident Command System (ICS)-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Upcoming offerings

Interested in attending a State or National Weekend Program course?

Apply online
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 22 - 23, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-798-9389
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov
William Jones
Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2751
William.Jones@vermont.gov
CCP
July 13 - 14, 2024 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA State Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-563-1265
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov
Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov
CCP
February 22 - 23, 2025 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Todd Dyche
Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org
Jack Beall
Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
410-758-2112
jbeall@mfri.org
CCP
March 29 - 30, 2025 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Charlotte Green
Executive Assistant
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1987
charlotte.green@vdfp.virginia.gov
Jamey Brads
Chief of Training and Operations
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-839-1042
jamey.brads@vdfp.virginia.gov
CCP
June 28 - 29, 2025 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Dave Belcher
Deputy Superintendent
State Fire Marshal Office of Ohio - Ohio Fire Academy
614-206-0946
david.belcher@com.ohio.gov
CCP
July 19 - 20, 2025 Emmitsburg, Maryland
Terri Brooks
Fire Service Technical Advisor
PA State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov
CCP