Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership to Facilitate Adaptive Change F0521

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.1
ACE recommendation
In the upper division baccalaureate degree category, one semester hour in leadership, management, or organizational behavior.

The purpose of this two-day course is to provide skills that individuals in positions of authority can use to exercise leadership when confronted with adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for participants to develop an understanding of skills associated with exercising leadership to resolve adaptive problems, those problems where the solution is either unknown or requires significant change, or both.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

ttps://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0521.pdf PDF 137KB
Course Syllabus
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0521.pdf PDF 73KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual

Selection criteria

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
September 22 - 23, 2020 Salem, Oregon

Barbara Slinger
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
barbara.slinger@state.or.us

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
January 6 - 7, 2021 Missouri City, Texas

Ben Kennedy
Regional Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-229-1263
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Projects Manager
TEEX-ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Emilio Reyes
Training Chief
Missouri City Fire Department
281-403-4340
emilio.reyes@missouricitytx.gov

Course coordination plan
January 13 - 14, 2021 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center For Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Danneel Elkins
Administrative Manager for Training Division
Timber Mesa Fire and Medical District
928-242-2746
delkins@timbermesafire.org

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2021 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinatpr
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
August 23 - 24, 2021 Columbia, South Carolina

Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, NFA Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Eye opening approach to problem solving within my department.