Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Executive Skills Series: Exercising Leadership to Facilitate Adaptive Change F0521

Training Specialist


Ed Kensler
301-447-1158

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.1

ACE recommendation


Pending (ACE Review): In the upper-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in leadership, management or organizational behavior.

The purpose of this 2-day course is to provide skills that individuals in positions of authority can use to exercise leadership when confronted with adaptive challenges. The goal of this course is for participants to develop an understanding of skills associated with exercising leadership to resolve adaptive problems  those problems where the solution is either unknown or requires significant change, or both.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0521.pdf PDF 109KB
Course Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0521.pdf PDF 137KB

The primary target audience is fire and emergency service personnel in positions of authority (executive-level officers) who have an opportunity to exercise leadership.

Note: Participants must be minimally assigned to a supervisory-level position (for example, a Company Officer).

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
September 12 - 13, 2024 Kahului, Hawaii
Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov
Socrates Bratakos
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
sbratakos@honolulu.gov
Clement Enomoto
Training Captain
County of Maui, Dept of Fire & Public Safety
808-270-5545
C.Enomoto@co.maui.hi.us
CCP
October 21 - 22, 2024 Concord, New Hampshire
Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy & EMS
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov
Jeffrey Phillips
Assistant Director
New Hampshire Fire Academy & EMS
603-223-4213
jeffrey.r.phillips@dos.nh.gov
CCP
November 4 - 5, 2024 Braggs, Oklahoma
Cindy Rice
Professional Services Coordinator
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
crice@osufst.org
Lee Horst
Fire Chief
Camp Gruber Fire Department
918-549-6010
lee.horst.nfg@army.mil
CCP
August 18 - 19, 2025 Columbia, South Carolina
Mike Dunlap
Education Specialist, SC NFA Coordinator
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-563-1265
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov
Bonita Watters
Curriculum Manager
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov
CCP
August 23 - 24, 2025 Dover, Delaware
Vincent Miller
Training Administrator
Delaware State Fire School
302-739-4773
vincent.miller@delaware.gov
CCP