usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Residential Sprinkler Plan Review F0142

Fundamental level course
Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Technical
Training Specialist

Keith Heckler
301-447-1380

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.2
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, two semester hours in fire science, fire protection, or fire engineering.

The scope of this fundamental level course looks at the following as the primary guidance for the approval of residential sprinkler systems:

  • National Fire Protection Association 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems.
  • NFPA 13D, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One- and Two-Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes.
  • NFPA 13R, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in Low-Rise Residential Occupancies.
  • International Residential Code Standard P2904.
  • Manufacturer's Data Sheets.
  • The ability to read and interpret the design is an essential element of preventive fire safety.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0142.pdf PDF 218KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0142.pdf PDF 151KB
Course Syllabus

Selection criteria

This course is appropriate for building and fire code officials whose responsibility it is to review and approve residential sprinkler plans. Such officials include fire inspectors, fire marshals, and building code inspectors with at least one year of experience on the job.

The audience should have an understanding of the history of water-based fire protection systems and methods used to verify hydraulic calculation.

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS) 100- and 200-level training. Preferred courses: Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that applicant completed this training.

Post-course requirements

None



Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 18 - 19, 2022 Alsip, Illinois

James Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-333-3800
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Tom Styczynski
Fire Chief
Alsip Fire Department
708-385-6902
tstyczynski@villageofalsip.org

Course coordination plan
November 8 - 9, 2022 O'Fallon, Illinois

James Moore
Assistant Director
Illinois Fire Service Institute
217-333-3800
jpmoore1@illinois.edu

Brad White
Fire Chief
O'Fallon Fire Department
618-624-4515
bwhite@ofallon.org

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2023 Hays, Kansas

James Zeeb
Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-7227
JZeeb@ku.edu

Shane Preston
Deputy Chief
Hays Fire Department
785-628-7330
spreston@haysusa.com

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2023 Sedona, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Michael Duran
Training Officer
Sedona Fire District
928-600-9042
mduran@sedonafire.org

Course coordination plan
May 2 - 3, 2023 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information for those just beginning review of systems or those with significant experience.