Residential Sprinkler Plan Review F0142

Curriculum: Fire Protection: Technical
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.2
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, two semester hours in fire science or fire prevention.

The scope of this course looks at the following as the primary guidance for the approval of residential sprinkler systems:

  • National Fire Protection Association 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems.
  • NFPA 13D, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One- and Two-Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes.
  • NFPA 13R, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in Low-Rise Residential Occupancies.
  • International Residential Code Standard P2904.
  • Manufacturer's Data Sheets.
  • The ability to read and interpret the design is an essential element of preventive fire safety.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0142.pdf PDF 151KB
Course Syllabus
https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0142.pdf PDF 218KB
Instructions to Download Student Manual

Selection criteria

This course is appropriate for building and fire code officials whose responsibility it is to review and approve residential sprinkler plans. Such officials include fire inspectors, fire marshals, and building code inspectors with at least one year of experience on the job.

The audience should have an understanding of the history of water-based fire protection systems and methods used to verify hydraulic calculation.

Prerequisites

Incident Command System (ICS) 100- and 200-level training. Preferred courses: Q0462 and Q0463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that applicant completed this training.

Post-course requirements

None



Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
December 11 - 12, 2019 Tucson, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Roger Moore
Deputy Chief - Training
Northwest Fire District
520-887-1010
rmoore@northwestfire.org

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2020 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2020 Dayton, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Jennifer Cleppe
Fire Prevention Specialist II
Central Lyon County Fire Protection District
775-246-6209
jcleppe@centralfirenv.org

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Nampa, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@cei.edu

Kirk Carpenter
Fire Chief
Nampa Fire Department
208-468-5752
carpenterk@cityofnampa.us

Course coordination plan
September 23 - 24, 2020 Belfair, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7822
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Angie McCormick/Scott Cooper
Administrative Assistant/Assistant Chief
North Mason Regional Fire Authority
360-275-6711
amccormick@northmasonrfa.com

Course coordination plan

Student comments

Great information for those just beginning review of systems or those with significant experience.