Residential Sprinkler Plan Review F0142

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, two semester hours in fire science or fire prevention.
CEU’s 1.6
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0142.pdf PDF https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0142.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Woody Stratton
woodrow.stratton@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1380

Upcoming offerings

September 13 - 14, 2017 | February 15 - 16, 2018 | March 1 - 2, 2018 | View more

Course description

The scope of this course looks at the following as the primary guidance for the approval of residential sprinkler systems:

• National Fire Protection Association 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems.

• NFPA 13D, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One- and Two-Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes.

• NFPA 13R, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in Low-Rise Residential Occupancies.

• International Residential Code Standard P2904.

• Manufacturer's Data Sheets.

• The ability to read and interpret the design is an essential element of preventive fire safety.

Selection criteria

This course is appropriate for building and fire code officials whose responsibility it is to review and approve residential sprinkler plans. Such officials include fire inspectors, fire marshals, and building code inspectors with at least one year of experience on the job. The audience should have an understanding of the history of water-based fire protection systems and methods used to verify hydraulic calculation.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
September 13 - 14, 2017 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
February 15 - 16, 2018 Columbia, South Carolina

Bonita Watters
Curriculum Supervisor
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Mike Dunlap
Developer
South Carolina Fire Academy
803-896-9842
mike.dunlap@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
March 1 - 2, 2018 Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Michael Clauson
Battalion Chief of Training
Sioux Falls Fire Rescue
605-773-6961
mclauson@siouxfalls.org

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments