usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Decision-Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision-making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome.

In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO.

Prerequisites

ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 8 - 9, 2022 Columbus, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief
Nebraska State Fire Marshal Training Division
308-385-6893
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Bill Pfeifer
Training Specialist
Nebraska State Fire Marshal Training Division
402-641-7194
bill.pfeifer@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
January 10 - 11, 2022 Temple, Texas

Darren Smith
Regional Manager - Region 6
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
210-269-9437
darren.smith@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Sam Hendricks
Battalion Chief Training
Temple Fire and Rescue
254-298-5992
shendricks@templetx.gov

Course coordination plan
January 20 - 21, 2022 Glen Allen, Virginia

William MacKay
Training Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1990
william.mackay@vdfp.virginia.gov

John Fugman
Division Chief
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
804-249-1994
john.fugman@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
January 22 - 23, 2022 Poultney, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
February 14 - 15, 2022 Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center for Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Carl Stello or Mike Quijada
Battalion Chief/Training Officer
Lake Havasu City Fire Department
928-855-4396
stelloc@lhcaz.gov, quijadam@lhcaz.gov

Course coordination plan
February 19 - 20, 2022 Salem, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2022 Pascagoula, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov

Jon Hyatt
Chief of Training
Pascagoula Fire Department
228-990-7279
jhyatt@cityofpascagoula.com

Course coordination plan
April 5 - 6, 2022 San Angelo, Texas

Tony Lenard
Regional Manager - Region 4
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
830-370-9636
tony.lenard@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Pete Walsh
Training
San Angelo Fire Department
325-374-4098
pete.walsh@safiredept.com

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2022 Nampa, Idaho

Ross Johnson
Program Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
ross.johnson@cte.idaho.gov

Jeff Mutchie
Division Chief
Nampa Fire Department
208-615-1066
mutchiej@cityofnampa.us

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2022 Driggs, Idaho

Ross Johnson
Program Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
ross.johnson@cte.idaho.gov

Kevin Bollar
Battalion Chief, Training
Teton County Fire and Rescue
208-715-5201
kbollar@tetoncountyfire.com

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2022 Yakima, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol - Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Jim Johnston
Deputy Chief
Yakima County Fire District #12 (West Valley Fire Department)
509-966-3111
jjohnston@westvalleyfire.com

Course coordination plan
May 3 - 4, 2022 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services -Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2022 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.t.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4258
scott.m.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
June 8 - 9, 2022 Winnsboro, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Jessie Morris
Fire Chief
Winnsboro Fire Department
318-435-5306
chiefmorris@winnsborola.net

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2022 Hilo, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Keone Roback
Captain, Training Bureau
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8772
keone.roback@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
August 25 - 26, 2022 Kahului, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Jeffrey Robson
Training Captain
County of Maui, Department of Fire & Public Safety
808-270-5545
jeffrey.robson@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2022 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course offers learning opportunities to a broad range of experience levels.