Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0457.pdf PDF 131KB
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
Richard.Sexton@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-7687

Upcoming offerings

February 24 - 25, 2018 | March 3 - 4, 2018 | April 7 - 8, 2018 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO. This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
February 24 - 25, 2018 Hot Springs, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Ty Farris
Training Officer
Hot Springs Fire Department
507-321-6971
tfarris@cityhs.net

Course coordination plan
March 3 - 4, 2018 Cancelled Appleton, Wisconsin

Angela White
Education Director, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
Angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service Training
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Christopher Fischer
Department Chair / District Fire Training Coordinator
Fox Valley Technical College
920-225-5953
fischerc@fvtc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2018 Sparta, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Training Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Blake Deiber
Fire District Coordinator
Western Technical College
608-789-4747
deiberb@westerntc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2018 Valparaiso, Indiana

Wade Walling
Training Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
317-694-1596
wwalling@dhs.in.gov

Ward Barnett
POC
District 1 Firefighter Training Council
219-242-5089
idhsdistrict1firetraining@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
June 14 - 15, 2018 Honolulu, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Ed Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Barney Hanson
Fire Fighter III
Honolulu Fire Department Training & Research Bureau- Administrative Section
808-723-7038
bhanson1@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments Not available.