Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-Day Off-Campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision-making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome.

In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO.

Prerequisites

ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online.  Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
October 16 - 17, 2018 Bismarck, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-222-2799
rknuth@nd.gov

Frank Smith
Training Captain
Bismarck Fire Department
701-355-1400
FSmith@bismarcknd.gov

Course coordination plan
October 16 - 17, 2018 Columbia, Missouri

Becky Trapani
Deputy Chief
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
becky.trapani@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Debbie Plank
Executive I
Missouri Division of Fire Safety
573-522-2426
debbie.plank@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Peter Martin
Training Chief
Columbia Fire Department
573-874-7391
peter.martin@como.gov

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 19, 2018 Elko, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Mike Abrams
Captain, Training Officer
Elko County Fire Protection District
775-738-9960
mabrams@elkocountynv.net

Course coordination plan
October 20 - 21, 2018 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
608-427-1217
matthew.j.davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
January 12 - 13, 2019 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
January 15 - 16, 2019 Indianapolis, Indiana

Wade Walling
Training Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
317-694-1596
wwalling@dhs.in.gov

Eric Dreiman
Chief of Training
Indianapolis Fire Department
317-327-6075
eric.dreiman@indy.gov

Course coordination plan
January 17 - 18, 2019 Whiteland, Indiana

Wade Walling
Training Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
765-265-1956
wwalling@dhs.in.gov

Eric Funkhouser
Fire Chief
Whiteland Fire Department
317-281-2359
efunkhouser@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan
January 26 - 27, 2019 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Fire Training Section Chief
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 1 - 2, 2019 Flagstaff, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Scott Walton
GFR Fire Training Coordinator
Flagstaff Fire Department
928-213-2591
swalton@flagstaffaz.gov

Course coordination plan
February 2 - 3, 2019 Paragould, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director of Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
Jrubow@sautech.edu

Chris Rollings
Division Chief of Fire Prevention
Paragould Fire Department
870-239-7525
chris.rollings@paragouldcity.org

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2019 Carson City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard McKnight
Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7522
richardmcknight@dps.state.nv.us

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2019 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
egabliks@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Specialist
DPSST Fire Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 23 - 24, 2019 Thetford Center, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2749
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2019 Gallup, New Mexico

Wallace Starks
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-629-2634
Wallace.Starks@state.nm.us

Michael K. Hoffman
Assistant Chief of Training
Gallup Fire Department
505-722-4195
mhoffman@gallupnm.gov

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2019 Gulfport, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

Eric Valles
Training Chief
Gulfport Fire Department
228-229-0253
evalles@gulfport-ms.gov

Course coordination plan