Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Decision-Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Training Specialist


Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire science or firefighting.

This 2-day course is designed to develop the decision-making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome.

In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System (ICS) organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_Instructions_0457.pdf PDF 189KB
Syllabus: https://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0457.pdf PDF 68KB

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO.

ICS-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 4 - 5, 2023 Cancelled Grand Junction, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
Laura Renville
Program Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP
February 4 - 5, 2023 Malvern, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Chris Gaines
Deputy Director
Hot Spring County DEM
501-229-9360
cgaines@hotspringdem.org
CCP
March 7 - 8, 2023 Stillwater, Oklahoma
Caroline Reed
Director
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org
Paddy Metcalf
Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org
CCP
March 11 - 12, 2023 Cancelled Goodland, Kansas
James Zeeb
Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-7227
JZeeb@ku.edu
Matthew Breininger
Training Officer
Sherman County Rural Fire
785-821-3876
mbreininger@shermancountyks.gov
CCP
March 13 - 14, 2023 Leavenworth, Kansas
James Zeeb
Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-7227
JZeeb@ku.edu
Isaiah J. Maher
Captain
Leavenworth Fire Department
913-682-3346
imaher@firstcity.org
CCP
March 18 - 19, 2023 Duluth, Minnesota
Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us
John Ehret
Supervisor
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us
Chip Lohmiller
Fire Chief
Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association
612-868-6744
chief1@crosslake.net
CCP
March 25 - 26, 2023 Lewiston, Idaho
Karine Johnson
Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
Karine.johnson@cte.idaho.gov
Keith Weissenfels
Division Chief Training & Safety
Lewiston Fire Department
208-743-3554
kweissenfels@cityoflewiston.org
CCP
April 1 - 2, 2023 Post Falls, Idaho
Karine Johnson
Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
Karine.johnson@cte.idaho.gov
Bryon Johnson
Division Chief, Training
Kootenai County Fire and Rescue
208-777-8500
bjohnson@kootenaifire.com
CCP
April 4 - 5, 2023 Stow, Massachusetts
Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov
Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov
CCP
April 11 - 12, 2023 Vicksburg, Mississippi
David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov
Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov
Courtney Reed
Training Officer
Vicksburg Fire Department
601-634-4510
creed@vicksburg.org
CCP
April 15 - 16, 2023 Ontario, Oregon
Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
DPSST
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
DPSST
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov
Mike Bozeman
Eastern Oregon Fire Training Coordinator
DPSST
541-303-3303
michael.bozeman@dpsst.oregon.gov
CCP
April 15 - 16, 2023 Boise, Idaho
Karine Johnson
Director
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5520
Karine.johnson@cte.idaho.gov
Steve Rasulo
Division Chief
Boise Fire Department
208-573-7806
srasulo@cityofboise.org
CCP
April 22 - 23, 2023 Anchor Point, Alaska
Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.mcmichael@alaska.gov
Jon Marsh
Fire Chief
Western Emergency Services
907-714-6701
jmarsh@kpb.us
CCP
June 24 - 25, 2023 Rapid City, South Dakota
Michael Jones
Deputy Fire Marshal
DPS State Fire Marshal
605-280-8165
Michael.Jones@state.sd.us
Jason White
Chief
North Haines Fire Department
605-391-6283
white77jason@hotmail.com
CCP
July 15 - 16, 2023 Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Tate Chanler
OEM Director
Clark County Emergency Management
870-246-0013
tatec@clarkcountyarkansas.com
CCP
October 26 - 27, 2023 Bluemont, Virginia
Kristoffer McAlister
Training and Safety Officer
Mount Weather Fire Department
540-542-2660
kristoffer.mcalister@fema.dhs.gov
CCP