Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Decision-Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Training Specialist


Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type


2-day off-campus

Continuing education units


1.4

ACE recommendation


In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire science or firefighting.

This 2-day course is designed to develop the decision-making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome.

In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System (ICS) organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Pre-course materials and course syllabus

Instructions to Download Student Manual: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/pcm/BYOD_0457.pdf PDF 109KB
Syllabus: https://apps.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0457.pdf PDF 68KB

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO.

ICS-100-level and ICS-200-level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463, available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
March 9 - 10, 2024 Batesville, Arkansas
Kilatha Hargiss
Fire Division Manager
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu
Mark McCollum
Fire Chief
Batesville Fire Department
870-698-2439
firechief@batesvillearkansas.gov
CCP
March 16 - 17, 2024 Pendleton, Oregon
Kayla Ballrot
Fire Program Manager
DPSST
503-569-8325
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.ogv
Jared Uselman
Training Officer
Pendleton Fire & Ambulance
503-927-4662
juselman7@gmail.com
CCP
April 9 - 10, 2024 Greenville, Mississippi
David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov
Luke Smith
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
jsmith@msfa.ms.gov
Lonagcio Smith
Division Chief of Training
Greenville Fire Department
662-378-1616
lsmith@greenvillems.org
CCP
May 4 - 5, 2024 Loveland, Colorado
Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us
Laura Renville
Program Assistant
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us
CCP
May 18 - 19, 2024 Altoona, Wisconsin
Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist, Fire Service
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu
Denise Perkins
Education Specialist, Fire Service
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-261-6920
denise.perkins@wtcsystem.edu
Mark Renderman
Fire Chief
Altoona Fire Department
715-839-2970
mrenderman@altoona-wi.gov
CCP
June 4 - 5, 2024 Stow, Massachusetts
Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov
Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov
CCP
July 15 - 16, 2024 Las Vegas, Nevada
Tom Martinez
Training Officer
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us
Gary Stevenson
Fire Training Officer
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7760
garys@clarkcountynv.gov
CCP
September 21 - 22, 2024 Brunswick, Maine
James A. Graves
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu
James Roy
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2076
jroy2@smccme.edu
CCP