An official website of the United States government Here’s how you know Here’s how you know

Decision-Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision-making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome.

In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO.

Prerequisites

ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
May 15 - 16, 2021 Cancelled Havre, Montana

Troy Petersen
Regional Manager
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-836-0086
troy.petersen1@montana.edu

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
Montana State University - Fire Services Training School
406-771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
May 18 - 19, 2021 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
May 22 - 23, 2021 Las Cruces, New Mexico

Ross Johnson
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
505-795-2349
ross.johnson@state.nm.us

Celso Enciso
Captain
Dona Ana County Fire & Emergency Services
575-647-7903
celsoe@donaanacounty.org

Course coordination plan
August 2 - 3, 2021 Plainfield, Indiana

Zach Westfall
Program Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
317-464-0965
zwestfall@dhs.in.gov

Course coordination plan
September 11 - 12, 2021 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mike Scott
State Fire Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
michael.scott@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
September 13 - 14, 2021 Monroe, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Greg Hill
Training Officer
Monroe Fire Department
318-366-6552
greg.hill@cimonroe.la.us

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 26, 2021 Owatonna, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Ryan Seykora
Training Chief
Owatonna Fire Department
507-444-2454
ryan.seykora@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Course coordination plan
September 25 - 29, 2021 Cancelled Owatonna, Minnesota

Jacob Lindquist
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-413-5973
jacob.lindquist@state.mn.us

Ryan Seykora
Training Chief
Owatonna Fire Department
507-444-2454
ryan.seykora@ci.owatonna.mn.us

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course offers learning opportunities to a broad range of experience levels.