usa flag An official website of the United States government Here's how you know Here's how you know

Decision-Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Curriculum: Incident Management
Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
301-447-7687

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision-making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome.

In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO.

Prerequisites

ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Email or call the official under Contact(s) if you are interested in attending a course.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 8 - 9, 2022 Cancelled Winnsboro, Louisiana

Daniel Copeland
Emergency Response Instructor
Louisiana State University Fire & Emergency Training Institute
318-451-3181
dcopeland@lsu.edu

Jessie Morris
Fire Chief
Winnsboro Fire Department
318-435-5306
chiefmorris@winnsborola.net

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2022 Hilo, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov

Keone Roback
Captain, Training Bureau
Hawaii Fire Department
808-961-8772
keone.roback@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
July 30 - 31, 2022 Eugene, Oregon

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manager
DPSST
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@dpsst.oregon.gov

Kayla Ballrot
Fire Certification Supervisor
DPSST
503-378-2596
kayla.ballrot@dpsst.oregon.gov

Connor Lane
Fire Program Trainer
Fire Training-DPSST
503-302-9264
Connor.lane@dpsst.oregon.gov

Course coordination plan
August 25 - 26, 2022 Kahului, Hawaii

Gary Lum
Administrative Specialist II
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7169
glum@honolulu.gov

Wayne Masuda
Administrative Specialist III
Hawaii State Fire Council
808-723-7176
wmasuda@honolulu.gov

Vernon Patao
Training Captain
County of Maui, Department of Fire & Public Safety
808-270-5545
vernon.patao@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2022 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
October 4 - 5, 2022 Conroe, Texas

Tommy Jacobs
Regional Training Manager
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
254-289-2232
Tommy.jacobs@teex.tamu.edu

Christopher Angerer
Executive Associate Division Director
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
979-845-3605
chris.angerer@teex.tamu.edu

Jason Herrman
Division Chief of Training
Magnolia Fire Department
281-356-3288
jasonherrman@magnoliafire.org

Course coordination plan
October 18 - 19, 2022 Fort Wainwright, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Justin Boddy
Captain
Fort Wainwright Fire Department
907-353-6981
justinmboddy@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
October 19 - 20, 2022 Kingman, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
602-775-3387
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Jason Burke
Battalion Chief
Kingman Fire Department
928-753-2891
jburke@cityofkingman.gov

Course coordination plan
February 4 - 5, 2023 Malvern, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Chris Gaines
Deputy Director
Hot Spring County DEM
501-229-9360
cgaines@hotspringdem.org

Course coordination plan
February 4 - 5, 2023 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Laura Renville
Program Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5871
laura.renville@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
March 7 - 8, 2023 Stillwater, Oklahoma

Rodney Foster
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-623-0992
mwc138@gmail.com

Paddy Metcalf
Program Coordinator
Oklahoma State Univeristy Fire Service Training
405-744-7485
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2023 Goodland, Kansas

Erin McGruder
Instructional Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-0650
erinmcg@ku.edu

Matthew Breininger
Training Officer
Sherman County Rural Fire
785-821-3876
mbreininger@shermancountyks.gov

Course coordination plan
March 13 - 14, 2023 Leavenworth, Kansas

Erin McGruder
Instructional Program Manager
KFRTI
785-864-0650
erinmcg@ku.edu

Isaiah J. Maher
Captain
Leavenworth Fire Department
913-682-3346
imaher@firstcity.org

Course coordination plan
March 18 - 19, 2023 Duluth, Minnesota

Jared Rozeboom
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
507-456-0907
jared.rozeboom@state.mn.us

John Ehret
Supervisor
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
651-323-7134
john.ehret@state.mn.us

Chip Lohmiller
Fire Chief
Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association
612-868-6744
chief1@crosslake.net

Course coordination plan
March 25 - 26, 2023 Lewiston, Idaho

Travis Hire
Coordinator
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5504
fst@cte.idaho.gov

Keith Weissenfels
Division Chief Training & Safety
Lewiston Fire Department
208-743-3554
kweissenfels@cityoflewiston.org

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2023 Post Falls, Idaho

Travis Hire
Coordinator
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5504
fst@cte.idaho.gov

Bryon Johnson
Division Chief, Training
Kootenai County Fire and Rescue
208-777-8500
bjohnson@kootenaifire.com

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2023 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
April 15 - 16, 2023 Boise, Idaho

Travis Hire
Coordinator
Idaho Fire Service Training
208-429-5504
fst@cte.idaho.gov

Steve Rasulo
Division Chief
Boise Fire Department
208-573-7806
srasulo@cityofboise.org

Course coordination plan
April 22 - 23, 2023 Anchor Point, Alaska

Sara Garcia
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-334-0894
sara.garcia@alaska.gov

Virginia McMichael
Fire Training Specialist
State of Alaska, Division of Fire and Life Safety
907-269-5481
virginia.lauer-mcmichael@alaska.gov

Jon Marsh
Fire Chief
Western Emergency Services
907-714-6701
jmarsh@kpb.us

Course coordination plan
July 15 - 16, 2023 Arkadelphia, Arkansas

Kilatha Hargiss
Statewide Training
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-4760
khargiss@sautech.edu

Tate Chanler
OEM Director
Clark County Emergency Management
870-246-0013
tatec@clarkcountyarkansas.com

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This course offers learning opportunities to a broad range of experience levels.