Courtroom Preparation and Testimony for First Responders (F0209)

One or more offerings for this course have been cancelled. Refer to the Course Schedule below for more information.

Curriculum: Arson

This course will provide the necessary tools for all emergency responders who may be called upon for depositions and/or courtroom testimony relevant to facts witnessed on arrival at a scene as a first responder.This 2-day course will emphasize the importance of reporting factual events. It also will address the need to improve report-writing skills after witnessing an event, and oral presentation skills if asked to describe the event in a court of law. The intent of this course is to prepare all emergency responders, with emphasis on volunteer firefighters, to present information to the legal system.

Selection Criteria Open to all interested emergency services personnel, including volunteer, career, and allied professions, who are interested in controlling the arson problem.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites None.
ACE Recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/ associate degree category, 1 semester hour in Fire Science, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Management and Law Enforcement.
CEU's 1.4
Post-Course Requirements None.
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
April 26 - 27, 2014 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Specialist
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course Coordination Plan
April 26 - 27, 2014 Los Lunas, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
CarlosL.Chavez@state.nm.us

John Gabaldon
Captain
Los Lunas Fire Department
(505) 866-2116
jgabaldon@loslunasnm.gov

Course Coordination Plan
April 29 - 30, 2014 Cancelled Montour Falls, New York

Andrew Dickinson
Bureau Chief
NYS Office of Fire Prevention & Control
(518) 474-6746
adickinson@dhses.ny.gov

William McGovern
Fire Prot Spec.
NYS Office of Fire Prevention & Control
(518) 474-6746
wmcgovern@dhses.ny.gov

Dave Martinichio
Deputy Chief
NYS Fire Academy
(607) 535-7136
dmartinichio@dhses.ny.gov

Course Coordination Plan
June 14 - 15, 2014 Chimacum, Washington

Bob Jones
Program Manager
WA State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.org

Ted Krysinski
Deputy Chief
East Jefferson Fire Rescue
(360) 385-2626
tkrysinski@ejfr.org

Course Coordination Plan
October 4 - 5, 2014 Dickson , Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Director
TN Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
(931) 294-4151
Jeff.Elliott@tn.gov

Daryl Newport
Fire Instructor
TN Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
(931) 294-4111
Daryl.Newport@tn.gov

Richard Greer
Fire Chief
Dickson Fire Department
(615) 446-0390
rgreer@dicksonfd.org

Course Coordination Plan
November 5 - 6, 2014 Boise, Idaho

Sandra Wiensz
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology-State of Idaho-PTE
(208) 429-5533
swiensz@pte.idaho.gov

Annette Reed
Sr. Admin Specialist
Boise Fire Dept
(208) 570-6540
areed@cityofboise.org

Course Coordination Plan
January 6 - 7, 2015 Affton, Missouri

Kevin Zumwalt
Associate Director
MU Fire and Rescue Training Institute
(573) 882-0892
zumwaltk@missouri.edu

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course Coordination Plan
February 28, 2015 - March 1, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
IA Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Coordinator
IA Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course Coordination Plan
March 5 - 6, 2015 Hilo, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Darwin Okinaka
Fire Captain/Training Officer
Hawaii Fire Department
(808) 961-8520
dokinaka@co.hawaii.hi.us

Course Coordination Plan
March 5 - 6, 2015 Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Peter Silva
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course Coordination Plan
April 9 - 10, 2015 Kahului , Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Kristopher Sakamoto
Training Captain
Department of Fire and Public Safety County of Maui
(808) 270-7565
Kristopher.sakamoto@mauicounty.gov

Course Coordination Plan
May 14 - 15, 2015 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Mark Salafia
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9286
mark.salafia@ct.gov

Course Coordination Plan