Courtroom Preparation and Testimony for First Responders F0209

Arson
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/ associate degree category, 1 semester hour in Fire Science, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Management and Law Enforcement.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Neale
robert.neale@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

January 6 - 7, 2015 | January 17 - 18, 2015 | February 21 - 22, 2015 | View more

Course description

This course will provide the necessary tools for all emergency responders who may be called upon for depositions and/or courtroom testimony relevant to facts witnessed on arrival at a scene as a first responder.This 2-day course will emphasize the importance of reporting factual events. It also will address the need to improve report-writing skills after witnessing an event, and oral presentation skills if asked to describe the event in a court of law. The intent of this course is to prepare all emergency responders, with emphasis on volunteer firefighters, to present information to the legal system.

Selection criteria

Open to all interested emergency services personnel, including volunteer, career, and allied professions, who are interested in controlling the arson problem.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 6 - 7, 2015 Cancelled Affton, Missouri

Kevin Zumwalt
Associate Director
MU Fire and Rescue Training Institute
(573) 882-0892
zumwaltk@missouri.edu

Course coordination plan
January 17 - 18, 2015 Greenville, Michigan

Paula Brzezinski
Curriculum Specialist
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services/Fire Fighter Training Division
(517) 241-0695
brzezinskip@michigan.gov

Gary Grum
Region 2 Supervisor
Michigan Bureau of Fire Services/Fire Fighter Training Division
(616) 447-2689
crumg@michigan.gov

Brian Blomstrum
Instructor
Greenville Fire Department
(616) 835-2701
bloomy@pathwaynet.com

Course coordination plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
February 28, 2015 - March 1, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
IA Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Coordinator
IA Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
March 5 - 6, 2015 Hilo, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Darwin Okinaka
Fire Captain/Training Officer
Hawaii Fire Department
(808) 961-8520
dokinaka@co.hawaii.hi.us

Course coordination plan
March 5 - 6, 2015 Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Peter Silva
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2015 Kahului , Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Kristopher Sakamoto
Training Captain
Department of Fire and Public Safety County of Maui
(808) 270-7565
Kristopher.sakamoto@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2015 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Mark Salafia
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9286
mark.salafia@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments
Follow us: Twitter Facebook YouTube