Portions of our website and NFA course materials will not be available on Sept. 29-30 from 5 p.m. through 8 a.m. EDT. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.

Health and Safety Officer (Revised) F0730

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety or fire science.
CEU’s 1.6
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0730.pdf PDF 97.7KB,

Training Specialist

Wayne Yoder
wayne.yoder@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1090

Upcoming offerings

October 8 - 9, 2016 | December 5 - 6, 2016 | February 11 - 12, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course examines the Health and Safety Officer's role in identifying, evaluating and implementing policy and procedures that affect health and safety aspects for emergency responders. Risk analysis, wellness, and other occupational safety issues will be the main emphasis of this course.

Selection criteria

Individuals who have department-level health and safety responsibilities. Individuals attending this course should have working knowledge of the Incident Command System as taught by the National Fire Academy, working knowledge of applicable National Fire Protection Association and Occupational Safety and Health Administration requirements and recommendations, and responsibility for setting policy for the department on such issues.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 8 - 9, 2016 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Peter Silva
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Administrative Assistant
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
(608) 427-1217
Matthew.J.Davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
December 5 - 6, 2016 Henderson, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Dennis Pinkerton
Bureau Chief
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7520
dpinkerton@dps.state.nv.us

Terry Wilfred
Division Chief
Henderson Fire Department
(702) 267-2291
Terry.Wilferd@cityofhenderson.com

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 Fort Wayne, Indiana

Jason Coffey
Fire Training Section Chief
Indiana State Fire Marshals Office
(317) 234-9717
jacoffey@dhs.in.gov

Chris Walker
Captain
Public Safety Academy - Ivy Tech
(260) 348-1287
chris.walker@cityoffortwayne.org

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2017 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2017 Concord, New Hampshire

Jeffrey Phillips
Bureau Chief
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH DOS, Division of Fire Standards, Training and EMS
(603) 223-4200
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
September 16 - 17, 2017 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Walter Morris
Training Program Manager
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 205-2762
wmorris@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments