Health and Safety Officer (Revised) F0730

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety or fire science.
CEU’s 1.6
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0730.pdf PDF http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0730.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Wayne Yoder
wayne.yoder@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1090

Upcoming offerings

February 11 - 12, 2017 | February 25 - 26, 2017 | April 8 - 9, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course examines the Health and Safety Officer's role in identifying, evaluating and implementing policy and procedures that affect health and safety aspects for emergency responders. Risk analysis, wellness, and other occupational safety issues will be the main emphasis of this course.

Selection criteria

Individuals who have department-level health and safety responsibilities. Individuals attending this course should have working knowledge of the Incident Command System as taught by the National Fire Academy, working knowledge of applicable National Fire Protection Association and Occupational Safety and Health Administration requirements and recommendations, and responsibility for setting policy for the department on such issues.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 11 - 12, 2017 Fort Wayne, Indiana

Jason Coffey
Fire Training Section Chief
Indiana State Fire Marshals Office
317-234-9717
jacoffey@dhs.in.gov

Chris Walker
Captain
Public Safety Academy - Ivy Tech
260-348-1287
chris.walker@cityoffortwayne.org

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2017 Ames, Iowa

Kyle Gorsh
Acting Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
gorsh@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
888-469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2017 Concord, New Hampshire

Jeffrey Phillips
Bureau Chief
NH Fire Academy
603-223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH DOS, Division of Fire Standards, Training and EMS
603-223-4200
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
April 28 - 29, 2017 Kennewick, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol, Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
Part Time
Washington State Patrol, Fire Prevention Bureau
425-407-7732
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Rob Kandle
Training Captain
Kennewick Fire Department
509-585-4418
rob.kandle@ci.kennewick.wa.us

Course coordination plan
May 1 - 2, 2017 Lawrence, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-1073
rtgreene@ku.edu

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Shaun Coffey
Training Chief
Lawrence-Douglas County Fire Medical
785-830-7000
scoffey@lawrenceks.org

Course coordination plan
September 16 - 17, 2017 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Walter Morris
Training Program Manager
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-205-2762
wmorris@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments