Emergency Response to Terrorism: Strategic and Tactical Considerations for Supervisors F0549

Emergency Response to Terrorism
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in Fire Science or Emergency Management.
CEU’s 1.6
Training Specialist

Wayne Yoder
wayne.yoder@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1090

Upcoming offerings

October 14 - 15, 2015 | November 5 - 6, 2015 | December 5 - 6, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course is designed for the responder(s) who may be responsible for initial and expanded command of incidents involving terrorism. The course is intended to build upon the students' existing skills as an Incident Commander (IC), a practitioner of ICS, with knowledge of NIMS, the National Response Framework, and terrorism. The class will assist the officer in preparing an effective response to the consequences of terrorism. IC's must be prepared to operate as part of a multiagency, multidiscipline, and multijurisdictional response. The course utilizes lecture supported by case studies and practice scenarios to address the command and control challenges that likely will confront the IC. This will enable the students to apply their knowledge of preincident planning, managing emerency incidents, and operating as part of a Unified Command structure to ensure the safety of responders while bringing the incident to a successful conclusion.

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course is individuals (chief officers, shift supervisors, etc.) who hold command-level positions in their organizations. These people should have command and control responsibilities of incidents involving terrorism, and be familiar with operating in an incident management structure.

Prerequisites

1) ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online at www.nfaonline.dhs.gov. 2) W/F806 NIMS ICS for the Fire Service or W/F163 NIMS ICS for EMS. 3) Q534 Emergency Response to Terrorism: Self Study; or Q890 Introduction to Emergency Response to Terrorism; or ERT: Basic Concepts. Q890 is available through NFA Online at www.nfaonline.dhs.gov

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 14 - 15, 2015 Henderson, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Dennis Pinkerton
Bureau Chief
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7520
dpinkerton@dps.state.nv.us

Terry Wilfred
Training Division Chief
Henderson Fire Department
(702) 267-2291
Terry.Wilferd@cityofhenderson.com

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2015 Warrenville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Terrence J. Jelinek
Training Chief
Warrenville Fire Protection District
(630) 393-1381
jelinekt@warrenvillefire.com

Course coordination plan
December 5 - 6, 2015 Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Mike Clausen
Battalion Chief
Sioux Falls Fire Rescue
(605) 373-6961
mclausen@siouxfalls.org

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2016 Little Rock, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
(870) 574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Bob Hunthrop
Division Chief of Training
Little Rock Fire Department
(501) 831-5439
BHunthrop@littlerock.org

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments Not available at this time.