Incident Safety Officer W0729

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety
Training Specialist

George Morgan
301-447-1407

Delivery type
2-day on-campus
Continuing education units
1.6
ACE recommendation
In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science safety, or fire administration.

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses. A specific focus on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer is a main theme. Response to all-hazards types of situations will be emphasized.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations.

Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Prerequisites

ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed required training.

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Apply online if you are interested in attending a state or national weekend program.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
November 14 - 15, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
March 20 - 21, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Brian Benstead
Deputy Chief
NYS Divsion of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
716-847-3934
brian.benstead@dhses.ny.gov

John Gilmore
State Fire Training Director
NYS Divsion of Homeland Security & Emergency Services - Office of Fire Prevention & Control
518-242-5249
john.gilmore@dhses.ny.gov

Course coordination plan
May 1 - 2, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA State Training Program Manager
Florida Division of State Fire Marshal
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
July 31, 2021 - August 1, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
Administrative Officer I
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov

Course coordination plan
August 7 - 8, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan