Shaping the Future F0602

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

February 27 - 28, 2016 | March 10 - 11, 2016 | March 12 - 13, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving. Topics include use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations; applying problem-solving methodologies; the importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations; how to quantify problems and solutions; factors in organizational and individual resistance to change; and strategies for implementing change. The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Selection criteria

• First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

• Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.

• Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 27 - 28, 2016 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2016 Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Barry Johnson
Conference Coordinator
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
(715) 495-3297
johnson@wi-state-firefighters.org

Peter Silva Jr.
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course coordination plan
March 12 - 13, 2016 Brunswick, Maine

Bill Guindon
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2076
bguindon@smccme.edu

Jim Graves
Deputy Director of Operations
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
March 17 - 18, 2016 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

William M. Higgins Jr.
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Mark P. Salafia
Fire Academy Trainer
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9268
mark.salafia@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 4 - 5, 2016 Bismarck, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
Rob@ndfa.net

Brooks Martin
Battalion Chief- Support Services
Bismarck Fire Department
(701) 355-1406
bmartin@bismarcknd.gov

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2016 Honolulu, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
SFC Admininstrative Assistant
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Edmund Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
April 9 - 10, 2016 Brentwood, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TN Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
(931) 294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Russ Peterson
Chief
Brentwood FD
(615) 371-0170
petersonr@brentwood-tn.org

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2016 Centreville, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
(301) 729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Jim Hearn
Regional Coordinator
MFRI
(410) 758-2112
jhearn@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
May 17 - 18, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Trainining Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
July 16 - 17, 2016 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Misissippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
July 26 - 27, 2016 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course coordination plan
August 11 - 12, 2016 Kahului, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Edmund Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
HI State Fire Council
(808) 723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Rylan Yatsushiro
Training Captain
County of Maui Fire Department
(808) 270-5545
Rylan.Yatsushiro@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
August 20 - 21, 2016 Bennington, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief Training Division
SFM
(385) 205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Joel Sacks
Training Specialist
SFM-TD
(402) 660-2130
joel.sacks@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2016 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
September 27 - 28, 2016 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Doherty
Captain
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments