Shaping the Future F0602

Leadership and Executive Development
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation There is no ACE Credit Recommendation for this course effective 11/2013.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Russell Kuck
russell.kuck@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1009

Upcoming offerings

September 9 - 10, 2015 | September 19 - 20, 2015 | October 2 - 3, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course is the first of two courses on midlevel management covering the skills and techniques midlevel managers will need to provide leadership and direction for their departments. The first module focuses on identifying opportunities and/or problems. Topics include environmental scanning, paradigm shifts, and methods for reframing problems accurately. The second module deals with group problem-solving techniques. The third module explains the need to quantify, justify, and communicate decisions so they will be implemented effectively. Managing change will be discussed in the final module. Topics include people who resist change, overcoming that resistance, and monitoring and evaluating the change before, during, and after implementation.

Selection criteria

Individuals presently assigned to management positions who supervise first-line officers; and administrative officers responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management. Individuals presently assigned to top-level management positions with limited opportunity for managerial development through formalized course work; and personnel who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose chiefs of department wish to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
September 9 - 10, 2015 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Susan Schell
Training Section Chief
Florida State Fire College
(352) 369-2822
susan.schell@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
September 19 - 20, 2015 Brunswick, Maine

Bill Guindon
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2076
bguindon@smccme.edu

Jim Graves
Deputy Director of Operations
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
October 2 - 3, 2015 St Paul, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Training Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Ken Gilliam
Deputy Chief
Saint Paul Fire Department
(651) 644-9133
ken.gilliam@ci.stpaul.mn.us

Course coordination plan
October 3 - 4, 2015 Edinburg, Texas

Rosendo Garcia
Region 3 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
rosendo.garcia@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Ubaldo D. Perez
District Coordinator
Edinburg Fire Department
(956) 383-7691
bperez@cityofedinburg.com

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Cicero, Indiana

Brandon Wood
Fire Training Manager
State Fire Marshals Office
(317) 232-2447
BrWood@dhs.in.gov

Lance Overholser
Assistant Fire Chief
Cicero Fire Department
(317) 984-4575
loverholser@cicerofire.org

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Gig Harbor, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Washington State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Tracy B. Lyon
Division Chief of Training
Gig Harbor Fire Headquarters
(253) 851-3111
tlyon@piercefire.org

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Peter Silva Jr.
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

Jim Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
November 20 - 21, 2015 Lav Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Dennis Pinkerton
Bureau Chief
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7520
dpinkerton@dps.state.nv.us

Gary Saun
Training Captain
Las Vegas Fire & Rescue
(702) 229-0735
gsuan@lasvegasnevada.gov

Course coordination plan
January 5 - 6, 2016 Columbia, Missouri

Kevin Zumwalt
Associate Director
MU Fire and Rescue Training Institute
(573) 882-0892
zumwaltk@missouri.edu

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2016 Meridian, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Sevice Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Kevin Fedrizzi
Division Chief of Training
Meridian Fire Department
(208) 888-1234
kfedrizzi@meridiancity.org

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2016 Weatherford, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Serivce Training Oklahoma State University
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordiator
Fire Serivce Training Oklahoma State University
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Mike Karlin
Fire Chief
Weatherford Fire Department
(580) 772-5345
firechief@cityofweatherford.com

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2016 Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Mike Clausen
Battalion Chief
Sioux Falls Fire Rescue
(605) 373-6961
mclausen@siouxfalls.org

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2016 Odessa, Texas

David Rosier
Region 2 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
david.rosier@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Rodd Huber
Training Captain
Odessa Fire Department
(432) 257-0535
RHuber@odessa-tx.gov

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 10 - 11, 2016 Stevens Point, Wisconsin

Barry Johnson
Conference Coordinator
Wisconsin State Firefighters Association
(715) 495-3297
johnson@wi-state-firefighters.org

Peter Silva Jr.
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course coordination plan
March 12 - 13, 2016 Brunswick, Maine

Bill Guindon
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2076
bguindon@smccme.edu

Jim Graves
Deputy Director of Operations
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
March 17 - 18, 2016 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

William M. Higgins Jr.
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Mark P. Salafia
Fire Academy Trainer
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9268
mark.salafia@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
July 26 - 27, 2016 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments