Shaping the Future F0602

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

July 16 - 17, 2016 | July 18 - 19, 2016 | July 26 - 27, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to assist first- and second-level supervisors and Company Officers (COs) in developing knowledge and skills in contemporary approaches to organizational problem-solving. Topics include use of creative approaches to identifying trends within their organizations; applying problem-solving methodologies; the importance and application of continuous improvement within organizations; how to quantify problems and solutions; factors in organizational and individual resistance to change; and strategies for implementing change. The course incorporates facilitated, student-centered methodologies, including lecture, small and large group activities, and individual assessments.

Selection criteria

• First- and second-level supervisors and COs who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose department head wishes to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

• Administrative officers who are responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management.

• Emergency service workers assigned to positions with decision-making responsibilities.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
July 16 - 17, 2016 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
July 18 - 19, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
July 26 - 27, 2016 Lakeside, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course coordination plan
August 11 - 12, 2016 Kahului, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Edmund Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
HI State Fire Council
(808) 723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Rylan Yatsushiro
Training Captain
County of Maui Fire Department
(808) 270-5545
Rylan.Yatsushiro@mauicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
August 20 - 21, 2016 Bennington, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief Training Division
SFM
(385) 205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Joel Sacks
Training Specialist
SFM-TD
(402) 660-2130
joel.sacks@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
September 10 - 11, 2016 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
September 27 - 28, 2016 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Doherty
Captain
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
October 1 - 2, 2016 Grand Rapids, Michigan

T.J. Richardson
Region Coordinator
Bureau of Fire Services - Fire Fighter Training Division
(517) 335-3496
richardsont14@michigan.gov

Lee Finlayson
Chief of Training
Grand Rapids Fire Department
(616) 490-5981
lfinlays@grand-rapids.mi.us

Course coordination plan
October 3 - 4, 2016 Reynoldsburg, Ohio

Steve Goheen
Superintendent
Ohio Fire Academy State Fire Marshal
(614) 644-0523
steve.goheen@com.state.oh.us

Scott Walker
Deputy Superintendent
Ohio Fire Academy State Fire Marshal
(614) 752-7119
scott.walker@com.state.oh.us

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
November 17 - 18, 2016 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
January 7 - 8, 2017 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Jason Ness
Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
(701) 261-0786
JNess@cityoffargo.com

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2017 Cicero, Indiana

William Huffer
Fire Training Manager
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
(317) 234-6589
whuffer@dhs.in.gov

Lance Overholser
Fire Chief
Cicero Fire Department
(317) 984-4575
loverholser@cicerofire.org

Course coordination plan
January 18 - 19, 2017 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Moorhead, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshals Division
(651) 295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Rick Loveland
Fire Program Manager
M State - Moorhead Campus
(701) 261-5363
mfd@arvig.net

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 Socorro, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
NMFTA
(575) 835-7509
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Course coordination plan
March 16 - 17, 2017 Hilo, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
State Fire Council (SFC)
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Edmond Suzuki
Administrative Specialist
State Fire Council (SFC)
(808) 723-7169
esuzuki@honolulu.gov

Nathan Wilson
Fire Captain
Hawaii Fire Department
(808) 961-8520
Nathan.Wilson@hawaiicounty.gov

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2017 St. Cloud, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
MN State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Michael Thompson
Division Chief of Training
Saint Cloud Fire Department
(320) 492-7825
michael.thompson@ci.stcloud.mn.us

Course coordination plan
June 5 - 6, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
September 21 - 22, 2017 Concord, New Hampshire

Jeffrey Phillips
Bureau Chief
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Captain
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments