Shaping the Future F0602

Leadership and Executive Development
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation There is no ACE Credit Recommendation for this course effective 11/2013.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Neale
robert.neale@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

April 16 - 17, 2015 | May 16 - 17, 2015 | June 13 - 14, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course is the first of two courses on midlevel management covering the skills and techniques midlevel managers will need to provide leadership and direction for their departments. The first module focuses on identifying opportunities and/or problems. Topics include environmental scanning, paradigm shifts, and methods for reframing problems accurately. The second module deals with group problem-solving techniques. The third module explains the need to quantify, justify, and communicate decisions so they will be implemented effectively. Managing change will be discussed in the final module. Topics include people who resist change, overcoming that resistance, and monitoring and evaluating the change before, during, and after implementation.

Selection criteria

Individuals presently assigned to management positions who supervise first-line officers; and administrative officers responsible for significant staff functions within the organization and who report directly to top management. Individuals presently assigned to top-level management positions with limited opportunity for managerial development through formalized course work; and personnel who are upwardly mobile within their organizations and whose chiefs of department wish to prepare them for increased managerial responsibility.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
April 16 - 17, 2015 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Coordinator
MFRI
(301) 729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Wayne Colburn
Coordinator
MFRI
(301) 934-2600
wcolburn@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
May 16 - 17, 2015 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Administrative Assistant
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
June 13 - 14, 2015 Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-1073
rtgreene@ku.edu

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-1073
Rtgreene@ku.edu

Course coordination plan
September 9 - 10, 2015 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Susan Schell
Training Section Chief
Florida State Fire College
(352) 369-2822
susan.schell@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
September 19 - 20, 2015 Brunswick, Maine

Bill Guindon
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2076
bguindon@smccme.edu

Jim Graves
Deputy Director of Operations
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments