Fire Investigation: First Responders W0770

Course only available to on-campus weekend program students.
Curriculum: Fire Investigation
Training Specialist

Lester Rich
301-447-1209

Delivery type
2-day on-campus
Continuing education units
0.0
ACE recommendation
There is not an American Council on Education credit recommendation for this course.

This two-day course presents a basic overview of a fire investigation for the first responder. Students will review the basics of fire chemistry and develop an understanding of the role of the first responder in relation to fire suppression and fire investigation.

The course will stress the importance of fire scene awareness, evidence identification, preservation, and the basics of a fire investigation. Students will develop an appreciation of the convergence of suppression, investigation, science and law.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

Fire and emergency services personnel who respond to fires or might conduct preliminary investigations into the origin and cause of fires.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Apply online if you are interested in attending a state or national weekend program.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
NEW September 26 - 27, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland
November 21 - 22, 2020 Cancelled Emmitsburg, Maryland

Monna Gillespie
Administrative Assistant
North Carolina Office of the State Fire Marshal
919-647-0088
monna.gillespie@ncdoi.gov

Kim Williams
Deputy Director
North Carolina Office of the State Fire Marshal
919-647-0089
kim.williams@ncdoi.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Jack Beall
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
888-691-4628
jbeall@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
March 20 - 21, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
May 1 - 2, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA State Training Program Manager
Florida Division of State Fire Marshal
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@myfloridacfo.com

Course coordination plan
June 5 - 6, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Kent Neiswender
Supervisor - Office of Training & Certification
New Jersey Division of Fire Safety
609-341-3473
kent.neiswender@dca.nj.gov

Course coordination plan
June 26 - 27, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jack Smith
Superintendent
Ohio Fire Academy
614-644-0523
jack.smith@com.state.oh.us

Course coordination plan
July 10 - 11, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Tina M. Ahlborg
Clerk Secretary
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-667-3777
tina.ahlborg@dbr.ri.gov

Mark A. St. Pierre
Chief
Rhode Island State Fire Training Academy
401-767-9514
msp9551@aol.com

Course coordination plan
July 24 - 25, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire Rescue
270-314-1050
jommy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
KY State Fire Rescue
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
July 31, 2021 - August 1, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Terri Brooks
Administrative Officer I
Pennsylvania State Fire Academy
717-247-3747
tebrooks@pa.gov

Course coordination plan
August 7 - 8, 2021 Emmitsburg, Maryland

Reid Vaughan
Director of Regional Services
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Training Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan