Leadership in Supervision: Frameworks to Success F0648

Curriculum: Leadership and Executive Development
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
301-447-1069

Delivery type
2-day off-campus
Continuing education units
1.4
ACE recommendation
In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in leadership.

This two-day course provides the supervisor with the knowledge and skills to perform successfully in the fire and Emergency Medical Services environments. The course addresses professionalism, resilience, emotional intelligence, and situational awareness, as well as managing conflict, delegating mentoring, coaching, empowering, and building collaboration and synergy for professional growth.

Student pre-course materials and course syllabus:

Selection criteria

The primary target audience for this course are those individuals who are at the first line level of supervision. For purposes of student selection first line level is considered to be those at the Company Officer or Unit (fire prevention, fire education, communications, EMS, etc.) Supervisor level.

More specifically primary selection criteria are as follows:

  • First line supervisors in fire and emergency medical services organizations.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel due for promotion/appointment to a first line supervisory position within 18 months.
  • Fire and emergency medical services personnel who are regularly assigned acting supervisory positions.

Fire and EMS personnel currently enrolled in the National Fire Academy Managing Officer Program will be provided priority selection.

The secondary target audiences are fire and EMS personnel at the first line management level (Chief Officer or above). Students at this level may be given consideration on a space available basis.

Prerequisites

None

Post-course requirements

None

Upcoming offerings

Submit FEMA Form 119-25-2 to the contact(s) listed below for the course offering you are interested in attending.
Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP Train-the-Trainer?
August 13 - 14, 2020 Cancelled Ames, Iowa

Jim Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
August 13 - 14, 2020 Johnston, Iowa

John Kraemer
Bureau Chief
Fire Service Training Bureau
515-294-6817
kraemer@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
August 25 - 26, 2020 Cancelled Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.ms.gov

David Pitts
Instructor Advanced
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.ms.gov

Course coordination plan
August 28 - 29, 2020 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
Executive Development Program Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
Patrick.Giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan Yes
September 10 - 11, 2020 Cancelled Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Mark Waters
Program Planner
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-627-6363
mark.waters@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
860-627-6363
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2020 Cancelled Bell Buckle, Tennessee

Jason Sparks
Fire Service Program Director
Tennessee Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
423-341-3101
jason.sparks@tn.gov

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2020 Reno, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Richard Nachtsheim
Training Chief
Reno Fire Department
775-334-2328
nachtsheim@reno.gov

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2020 San Francisco, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CALFIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Supervising Deputy State Fire Marshal, III
CALFIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Joel Sato
Assistant Deputy Chief-Director of Training
San Francisco Fire Department
415-970-2030
joel.sato@sfgov.org

Course coordination plan
September 19 - 20, 2020 Cancelled Madison, Wisconsin

Angela White
Fire Service Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-7289
angela.white@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Education Specialist
Wisconsin Technical College System Office
608-266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Dawn Way
Fire Service Coordinator
Madison Area Technical College
608-246-6911
Dway@madisoncollege.edu

Course coordination plan
December 14 - 15, 2020 Cancelled Culpeper, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-2325
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Jeff Liebold
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-717-0096
jeffrey.liebold@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
December 14 - 15, 2020 Remington, Virginia

Dereck Baker
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
703-259-3232
dereck.baker@vdfp.virginia.gov

Jeff Liebold
Training Coordinator
Virginia Department of Fire Programs
540-317-7674
jeff.liebold@vdfp.virginia.gov

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2021 Lenexa, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

Don Tinsley
Deputy Chief
Lenexa Fire Department
913-477-7924
dtinsley@lenexa.com

Course coordination plan
February 8 - 9, 2021 Cancelled Derby, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

John Turner
Fire Chief
Derby Fire Department
316-788-4435
JohnTurner@DerbyWeb.com

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2021 Salem, Oregon

Eriks Gabliks
Agency Director
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2332
eriks.gabliks@state.or.us

Julie Olsen
Fire Program Manger
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2297
julie.olsen@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 2 - 3, 2021 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Program Coordinator
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@mass.gov

Heather Antell
Registration Assistant
Department of Fire Services, Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@mass.gov

Course coordination plan
March 8 - 9, 2021 Derby, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Coordinator
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
785-224-3244
rtgreene@ku.edu

John Turner
Fire Chief
Derby Fire Department
316-788-4435
JohnTurner@DerbyWeb.com

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2021 Kingman, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
Arizona Center For Fire Service Excellence
623-333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Rink Gordon
Battalion Chief
Kingman Fire Department
928-753-2891
rgordon@cityofkingman.gov

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2021 Concord, New Hampshire

Scott Cathy
Captain
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4223
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Scott Doherty
Bureau Chief
New Hampshire Fire Academy
603-223-4200
scott.doherty@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
May 5 - 6, 2021 McClellan, California

Kirsten Fonseca
Staff Services Analyst
CAL FIRE
916-568-2902
kirsten.fonseca@fire.ca.gov

Chris Fowler
Deputy State Fire Marshal III, Supervisor
CAL FIRE
916-508-4120
chris.fowler@fire.ca.gov

Mike Taylor
Assistant Chief
Sacramento City Fire Department
916-767-2207
mltaylor@sfd.sacramento.org

Course coordination plan

Student comments

This class is relevant for today's fire service and supervision for a successful future.