Incident Safety Officer (Revised) (F0729)

One or more offerings for this course have been cancelled. Refer to the Course Schedule below for more information.

Training Specialist

Wayne Yoder
wayne.yoder@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1090

View Schedule Below

Curriculum: Responder Health and Safety

This 2-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses. A specific focus on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer is a main theme. Response to all-hazards types of situations will be emphasized.

Selection Criteria Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations. Persons attending this course should have a working knowledge of the ICS, as taught by NFA, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable NFPA guidelines, and Federal regulations.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites None.
ACE Recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree or upper division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in Occupational Health and Safety, Fire Science, or Fire Administration.
CEU's 1.6
Post-Course Requirements None.
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
October 25 - 26, 2014 Lemmon, South Dakota

Douglas Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Chad Baumgarten
Class Coordinator
Lemmon Fire Department
(605) 222-9702
bummys@sdplains.com

Course Coordination Plan
November 6 - 7, 2014 Minot, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 222-2799
rob@ndfa.net

Tim Beach
Assistant Chief
Minot Fire Department
(701) 857-4740
tim.beach@minotnd.org

Course Coordination Plan
November 8 - 9, 2014 Cancelled Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Todd Miles
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9187
milesto@ku.edu

Course Coordination Plan
December 6 - 7, 2014 Hagerman, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Training Coordinator/Program Manger
Fire Service Technology--State of Idaho-PTE
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Tim Peterson
Fire Chief
Hagerman Fire Protection District
(208) 837-4552
hagermanfire9471@msn.com

Course Coordination Plan
December 13 - 14, 2014 Fairbanks, Alaska

Tori Clyde
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 451-9001
victoria.clyde@alaska.gov

Jan Mitchell
State Fire Training Adminstrator
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Course Coordination Plan
December 20 - 21, 2014 Somonauk, Illinois

Aaron Grandgeorge
Asst. Chief
Somonauk Fire Department
(815) 498-2300
agrandgeorge@somonaukfire.com

Course Coordination Plan
January 10 - 11, 2015 Roswell , New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
CarlosL.CHavez@state.nm.us

Jason Sweatfield
Divison Chief
Roswell Fire Station 1
(575) 624-6800
sweatfield163@yahoo.com

Course Coordination Plan
February 7 - 8, 2015 Grand Junction , Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Administrative Asst.
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5862
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course Coordination Plan
February 7 - 8, 2015 Lewiston, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Training Coordinator/Program Manager
Fire Service Technology-State of Idaho-FST
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.etic.edu

Travis Myklebust
Division Chief of Operations
Lewiston Fire Department
(208) 743-3554
tmyklebust@cityoflewiston.org

Course Coordination Plan
February 14 - 15, 2015 Rapid City, South Dakota

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Cliff Dahl
Deputy State Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 381-0716
cliff.dahl@state.sd.us

Course Coordination Plan
February 17 - 18, 2015 Loudon, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Director
TN Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
(931) 294-4151
Jeff.Elliott@tn.gov

Mike Brubaker
Fire Chief
Loudon Fire Department
(865) 408-0408
mbrubaker@loudonfd.org

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
mark.ayers@state.or.us

Thelma Denney
Fire Program Admin Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2408
thelma.denney@state.or.us

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Fort Wayne, Indiana

Brandon Wood
Fire Training Manager
Indiana Fire Marshal's Office
(317) 232-2447
BrWood@dhs.in.gov

Chris Walker
District 3 Fire Training Coordinator
Fire Academy Training System
(260) 427-5146
BrWood@dhs.in.gov

Chris Walker
District 3 Fire Training Coordinator
Fire Academy Training System
(260) 427-5146
chris.walker@cityoffortwayne.org

Course Coordination Plan
February 28, 2015 - March 1, 2015 Port Arthur , Texas

Ben Kennedy
Region 5 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Mike Free
Battalion Chief / Training
Port Arthur Fire Department
(409) 982-9597
mfree@portarthur.com

Course Coordination Plan
February 28, 2015 - March 1, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course Coordination Plan
March 14 - 15, 2015 Brunswick, Maine

Bill Guindon
Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2076
bguindon@smccme.edu

Jim Graves
Deputy Director of Operations
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Course Coordination Plan
March 28 - 29, 2015 Cancelled Pittsford, Vermont

Jessica Pomainivlle
Administrative Assistant
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
jessica.pomainville@state.vt.us

Daniel Zimmer
Southern Area Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
daniel.zimmer@state.vt.us

Course Coordination Plan
April 11 - 12, 2015 Pittsford, Vermont

Jessica Pomainivlle
Administrative Assistant
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
jessica.pomainville@state.vt.us

Daniel Zimmer
Southern Area Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
daniel.zimmer@state.vt.us

Course Coordination Plan
April 11 - 12, 2015 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course Coordination Plan
May 27 - 28, 2015 Lubbock , Texas

Michael Terry
Region 1 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
michael.terry@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Chris Addington
Battalion Chief
Lubbock Fire Department
(806) 775-2649
caddington@mylubbock.us

Course Coordination Plan
August 6 - 7, 2015 Kahului , Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Kristopher Sakamoto
Training Captain
Department of Fire and Public Safety County of Maui
(808) 270-7565
Kristopher.sakamoto@mauicounty.gov

Course Coordination Plan
September 12 - 13, 2015 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Administrative Assistant
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course Coordination Plan
September 17 - 18, 2015 Kailua-Kona, Hawaii

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Darwin Okinaka
Fire Captain/Training Officer
Hawaii Fire Department
(808) 961-8520
dokinaka@co.hawaii.hi.us

Course Coordination Plan