Incident Safety Officer (Revised) F0729

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in occupational health and safety, fire science, safety, or fire administration.
CEU’s 1.6
Training Specialist

Wayne Yoder
wayne.yoder@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1090

Upcoming offerings

February 20 - 21, 2016 | February 20 - 21, 2016 | February 27 - 28, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course examines the Safety Officer's role at emergency responses. A specific focus on operations within an Incident Command System (ICS) as a Safety Officer is a main theme. Response to all-hazards types of situations will be emphasized.

Selection criteria

Individuals who have a Safety Officer responsibility at emergency operation situations. Individuals attending this course should have a working knowledge of ICS as taught by the National Fire Academy, building construction principles, hazardous materials management, applicable National Fire Protection Association guidelines, and federal regulations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 20 - 21, 2016 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
firetraining_webcontacts@dpsst.state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 El Paso, Texas

David Rosier
Region 2 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
david.rosier@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Jorge V. Cortez
Training Battalion Chief
El Paso Fire Department
(915) 775-7308
CortezJV@elpasotexas.gov

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

Jim Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Missoula, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Field Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2016 Kodiak, Alaska

Jan Mitchell
Supervisor
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 269-5789
Jan.Mitchell@alaska.gov

Aaron Griffin
Assistant Chief
U.S. Coast Guard
(907) 487-5808
aaron.m.griffin@uscg.mil

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2016 Juneau, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Course coordination plan
April 30, 2016 - May 1, 2016 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
Rob@ndfa.net

Jason Ness
Fire Training Captain
Fargo Fire Department
(701) 476-6760
JNess@cityoffargo.com

Course coordination plan
May 18 - 19, 2016 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
Rob@ndfa.net

Chad Cutshaw
Battalion Chief
Grand Forks Fire Department
(701) 746-2566
CCutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
May 21 - 22, 2016 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
July 16 - 17, 2016 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Misissippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
September 26 - 27, 2016 Fairbanks, Alaska

Jan Mitchell
Supervisor
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Ernie Misewic
Assistant Fire Chief
Fairbanks Fire Department
(907) 450-6615
edmisewicz@ci.fairbanks.ak.us

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments