Portions of our website and NFA course materials will not be available on Sept. 29-30 from 5 p.m. through 8 a.m. EDT. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience.

Residential Sprinkler Plan Review F0142

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, two semester hours in fire science or fire prevention.
CEU’s 1.6
Training Specialist

Woody Stratton
woodrow.stratton@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1380

Upcoming offerings

October 10 - 11, 2016 | October 20 - 21, 2016 | November 17 - 18, 2016 | View more

Course description

The scope of this course looks at the following as the primary guidance for the approval of residential sprinkler systems:

• National Fire Protection Association 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems.

• NFPA 13D, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One- and Two-Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes.

• NFPA 13R, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in Low-Rise Residential Occupancies.

• International Residential Code Standard P2904.

• Manufacturer's Data Sheets.

• The ability to read and interpret the design is an essential element of preventive fire safety.

Selection criteria

This course is appropriate for building and fire code officials whose responsibility it is to review and approve residential sprinkler plans. Such officials include fire inspectors, fire marshals, and building code inspectors with at least one year of experience on the job. The audience should have an understanding of the history of water-based fire protection systems and methods used to verify hydraulic calculation.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 10 - 11, 2016 Cancelled Concord, New Hampshire

Jeffrey Phillips
Bureau Chief
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
jeffrey.phillips@dos.nh.gov

Scott Cathy
Captain
NH DOS, Division of Fire Standards, Training and EMS
(603) 223-4200
scott.cathy@dos.nh.gov

Course coordination plan
October 20 - 21, 2016 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Dawn Stollenwerk
Fire Inspector
Fargo Fire Department
(701) 241-1311
DStollenwerk@cityoffargo.com

Course coordination plan
November 17 - 18, 2016 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
(978) 567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
MA Fire Academy
(978) 567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 16 - 17, 2017 Columbia, South Carolina

Bonita Watters
Instructional Design and Accreditation Supervisor
SC Fire Academy
(803) 896-4074
bonita.watters@llr.sc.gov

Course coordination plan
February 22 - 23, 2017 Carson City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Silvia Lee
Vice President
Fire Prevention Association of Nevada
(775) 657-4623
lees@reno.gov

Course coordination plan
March 29 - 30, 2017 Barre, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
Jessica.Pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Lead Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments