Residential Sprinkler Plan Review (F0142)

Training Specialist

Woody Stratton
woody.stratton@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1380

View Schedule Below

Curriculum: Fire Prevention: Technical

The scope of this course looks at the following as the primary guidance for the approval of residential sprinkler systems:

a) National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standard 13, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems.

b) 13D, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in One- and Two- Family Dwellings and Manufactured Homes.

c) 13R, Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems in Residential Occupancies up to and Including Four Stories in Height.

d) International Residential Code (IRC) Standard P2904.

e) Manufacturer's Data Sheets.

f) The ability to read and interpret the design is an essential element of preventive fire safety.

Selection Criteria This course is appropriate for building and fire code officials whose responsibility is to review and approve residential sprinkler plans. Such officials include fire inspectors, fire marshals, and building code inspectors with at least 1 year of experience on the job. The audience should have an understanding of the history of water-based fire protection systems and methods used to verify hydraulic calculation.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites
ACE Recommendation
CEU's 0
Post-Course Requirements
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
August 19 - 20, 2014 Concord, New Hampshire

Robert Pragoff
Captain
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4223
robert.pragoff@dos.nh.gov

Joann Beaudoin
Program Coordinator
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
joann.beaudoin@dos.nh.gov

Course Coordination Plan
September 4 - 5, 2014 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
NFA State Training Program Coordinator
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Susan Schell
Training Supervisor
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2822
susan.schell@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course Coordination Plan
October 4 - 5, 2014 Edinburg , Texas

Rosendo Garcia
Region 3 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
rosendo.garcia@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Ubaldo D. Perez
District Coordinator
Edinburg Fire Department
(956) 383-7691
bprez@cityofedinburg.com

Course Coordination Plan
November 4 - 5, 2014 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
MA Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Joe Klucznik
Deputy Director
MA Fire Academy
(978) 567-3167
joe.klucznik@state.ma.us

Course Coordination Plan