Emergency Medical Services: Functions in the Incident Command System F0166

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the upper-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in emergency medical services, public administration, or fire science.
CEU’s 1.3
Training Specialist

Michael Stern
michael.stern@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1253

Upcoming offerings

October 12 - 13, 2015 | November 7 - 8, 2015 | January 19 - 20, 2016 | View more

Course description

Students will practice use of the Incident Command System in coordination with other public safety responders. As a follow-up to ICS-100 and ICS-200 training, this course will present scenarios requiring responders to structure their EMS resources within the guidance of NIMS ICS, as appropriate to the needs of the different incident types. Through simulation and role-playing, students will demonstrate the implementation of EMS components in an ICS system at incidents.

Selection criteria

Emergency response personnel with responsibilities to implement the initial EMS functions of an Incident Command System at incidents.

Prerequisites

1. ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online at www.nfaonline.dhs.gov. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training. 2. IS-201 Forms Used for the Development of the Incident Action Plan (http://training.fema.gov/IS/)

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 12 - 13, 2015 Washington, District of Columbia

Charles Stewart
Captain
DC Fire and EMS Department
(202) 673-3251
charles.stewart@dc.gov

Michael Knight
Battalion Fire Chief
DC Fire and EMS Department
(202) 673-6601
michael.knight@dc.gov

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2015 Indianapolis, Indiana

Brandon Wood
Fire Training Manager
State Fire Marshals Office
(812) 371-6045
BrWood@dhs.in.gov

Meg Sinclair
Division Chief of EMS
Pike Twp Fire Dept
(317) 347-5860
mbsinclair@pikefire.com

Course coordination plan
January 19 - 20, 2016 Kansas City, Missouri

Kevin Zumwalt
Associate Director
MU Fire and Rescue Training Institute
(573) 882-0678
zumwaltk@missouri.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments Not available at this time.