Emergency Medical Services: Functions in the Incident Command System (F0166)

Training Specialist

Michael Stern
michael.stern@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1253

View Schedule Below

Curriculum: Emergency Medical Services

Students will practice use of the Incident Command System in coordination with other public safety responders. As a follow-up to ICS-100 and ICS-200 training, this course will present scenarios requiring responders to structure their EMS resources within the guidance of NIMS ICS, as appropriate to the needs of the different incident types. Through simulation and role-playing, students will demonstrate the implementation of EMS components in an ICS system at medium- or large-sized incidents.

Selection Criteria Emergency response personnel with responsibilities to implement the initial EMS functions of an Incident Command System at medium- or large-sized incidents.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites ICS 100 level and ICS 200 level training. Preferred courses are Q462 and Q463 available through NFA Online at www.nfaonline.dhs.gov. Chief's signature attests that the applicant has completed this required training.
ACE Recommendation In the upper-division baccalaureate degree category, 1 semester hour in emergency medical services, public administration, or fire science.
CEU's 1.3
Post-Course Requirements None
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments Not available at this time.

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
August 16 - 17, 2014 Ocean Park, Washington

Bob Jones
Deputy State Fire Marshal
WA State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Mike Karvia
Division Chief of Training
Pacific County Fire District #1
(360) 665-4451
karvia@pcfd1.org

Course Coordination Plan
October 6 - 7, 2014 Washington , District of Columbia

Charles Stewart
Captain
DC Fire and EMS Department
(202) 673-3251
charles.stewart@dc.gov

Michael Knight
Battalion Fire Chief
DC Fire and EMS Department
(202) 673-6601
michael.knight@dc.gov

Course Coordination Plan
October 14 - 15, 2014 Pittsford, Vermont

Jessica Pomainivlle
Administrative Assistant
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
jessica.pomainville@state.vt.us

Daniel Zimmer
Southern Area Training Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
daniel.zimmer@state.vt.us

Course Coordination Plan
October 29 - 30, 2014 Marysville, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Prpgram Manager
WSP/FPB Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Martin McFalls
Asst. Chief
Marysville Fire Department
(360) 363-8524
mmcfalls@marysvillewa.gov

Course Coordination Plan
February 24 - 25, 2015 Concord, New Hampshire

Bob Pragoff
Captain
NH Fire Academy
(603) 223-4200
robert.pragoff@dos.nh.gov

Course Coordination Plan