Leadership I for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Company Success F0803

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, public administration, emergency management, human resources management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

February 13 - 14, 2016 | February 27 - 28, 2016 | April 11 - 12, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course presents the Company Officer (CO) with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes techniques and approaches to problem-solving, ways to identify and assess the needs of the CO's subordinates, methods for running meetings effectively in the fire service environment, and decision-making skills for the CO.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 13 - 14, 2016 Bethel, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Daron Solesbee
Firefighter/Medic
Bethel Fire Department
(907) 543-2131
firedept@cityofbethel.net

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2016 Minot, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
Rob@ndfa.net

Tim Beach
Assistant Chief
Minot Fire Department
(701) 857-4740
tim.beach@minotnd.org

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2016 Edmond, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Joe Bennett
Chief
Oak Cliff Fire Department
(405) 473-6353
bennett_fac06@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
April 20 - 21, 2016 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
Rob@ndfa.net

Chad Cutshaw
Battalion Chief
Grand Forks Fire Department
(701) 746-2566
CCutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
April 25 - 26, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
April 28 - 29, 2016 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

Jim Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
May 12 - 13, 2016 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

William M. Higgins Jr.
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Mark P. Salafia
Fire Academy Trainer
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9268
mark.salafia@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
May 17 - 18, 2016 Cancelled Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
May 17 - 18, 2016 Wayland, Massachusetts

David Houghton
Coordinator
Massachusetts Fire Academy
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

David Houghton
Fire Chief
Wayland Fire Department
(508) 358-6910
dhoughton@wayland.ma.us

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2016 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Captain
Ruidoso Fire Department
(575) 257-4116
Michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
June 15 - 16, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Trainining Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2016 Lincoln, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief Training Division
SFM
(385) 205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Dennis Baber
Training Specialist
SFM-TD
(402) 947-1520
dennis.baber@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments