Leadership I for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Company Success F0803

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, public administration, emergency management, human resources management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

May 12 - 13, 2016 | May 17 - 18, 2016 | June 4 - 5, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course presents the Company Officer (CO) with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes techniques and approaches to problem-solving, ways to identify and assess the needs of the CO's subordinates, methods for running meetings effectively in the fire service environment, and decision-making skills for the CO.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
May 12 - 13, 2016 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

William M. Higgins Jr.
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
May 17 - 18, 2016 Wayland, Massachusetts

David Houghton
Coordinator
Massachusetts Fire Academy
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

David Houghton
Fire Chief
Wayland Fire Department
(508) 358-6910
dhoughton@wayland.ma.us

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2016 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Captain
Ruidoso Fire Department
(575) 257-4116
Michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
June 15 - 16, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Training Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2016 Lincoln, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief Training Division
SFM
(385) 205-7404
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Dennis Baber
Training Specialist
SFM-TD
(402) 947-1520
dennis.baber@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
October 5 - 6, 2016 Midwest City, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Rural Coordinator
Oklahoma State University
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Rodney Foster
Training Officer
Midwest City Fire Department
(405) 739-1355
mwc138@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
October 8 - 9, 2016 Placitas, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
NMFTA
(575) 835-7509
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Brain Culp
Assistant Chief
Sandoval County Fire Department
(505) 867-0245
bculp@sandovalcountynm.gov

Course coordination plan
October 8 - 9, 2016 St. Cloud, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
MN State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Michael Thompson
Division Chief of Training
Saint Cloud Fire Department
(320) 492-7825
michael.thompson@ci.stcloud.mn.us

Course coordination plan
October 10 - 11, 2016 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
October 11 - 12, 2016 Munford, Tennessee

Mark Boyd
Fire Service Instructor II
TN Fire Service & Codes Enforcement Academy
(615) 416-1812
mark.a.boyd@tn.gov

Josh Thompson
Training Officer
Munford Fire Department
(901) 837-5960
jthompson@munford.com

Course coordination plan
October 24 - 25, 2016 St Louis, Missouri

Doug Goodings
Assistant Deputy Chief Training and Certification
Missouri State Fire Marshal
(573) 526-5701
Doug.Goodings@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Kim Becker
Deputy Chief Training and Certification
Missouri State Fire Marshal
(573) 526-2426
Kim.Becker@dfs.dps.mo.gov

David Neighbors
Captain
Saint Louis City Fire Department
(314) 533-3406
neighborsd@stlouis-mo.gov

Course coordination plan
November 4 - 5, 2016 American Fork, Utah

Chuck Querry
Assistant Director
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
(801) 863-7740
querrych@uvu.edu

Kriss Garcia
Chief
American Fork Fire Department
(801) 763-3045
kgarcia@afcity.net

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2016 Naples, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(205) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Tony Rohrwasser
Fire Chief
South Boundary Fire Protection District
(208) 267-8052
chief@southboundaryfire.com

Course coordination plan
January 21 - 22, 2017 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Brattleboro, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Lead Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Peter Lynch
Assistant Chief
Brattleboro Fire Department
(802) 254-4831
plynch@brattleboro.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 La Verne, California

Rodney Slaughter
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CALFIRE
(916) 445-4518
Rodney.Slaughter@fire.ca.gov

Dennis Mathisen
Chief of State Fire Training
OSFM-CALFIRE
(916) 445-8195
Dennis.Mathisen@fire.ca.gov

Kevin Greenway
Captain
La Verne Fire Department
(909) 596-5991
kgreenway@lavernefire.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 9 - 10, 2017 Boulder City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
(775) 684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Chuck Gebhart
Division Chief
Boulder City Fire Department
(702) 293-9228
cgebhart@bcnv.org

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Rapid City, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
SD Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-4093
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
SD Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3417
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Casey Warren
Assistant Chief
Rapid Valley Volunteer Fire Department
(605) 390-2619
casey.warren@rapidvalleyvfd.org

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 21 - 22, 2017 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2017 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 23 - 24, 2017 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
August 19 - 20, 2017 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 338-6772
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments