Leadership I for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Company Success F0803

Leadership and Executive Development
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, public administration, emergency management, human resources management or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Robert Neale
robert.neale@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

May 30 - 31, 2015 | June 8 - 9, 2015 | September 12 - 13, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course presents the company officer with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes techniques and approaches to problem-solving, ways to identify and assess the needs of the company officer's subordinates, methods for running meetings effectively in the fire service environment, and decisionmaking skills for the company officer.

Selection criteria

* Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.* Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within 6 months.* Training officers, staff, or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
May 30 - 31, 2015 Saint Francisville, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU FETI
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
June 8 - 9, 2015 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Susan Schell
Training Section Chief
Florida State Fire College
(352) 369-2822
susan.schell@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2015 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Administrative Assistant
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
October 3 - 4, 2015 Belen, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Jaime Finch
Captain
Valencia County Emergency Services
(505) 866-3334
jamie.finch@co.vlaencia.nm.us

Course coordination plan
October 10 - 11, 2015 Bellevue, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Mariha Berrett
Testing Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5488
mberrett@my.eitc.edu

Tom White
Training Captain
Wood River Fire & Rescue
(208) 788-5577
twhite@wrfr.com

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Peter Silva Jr.
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course coordination plan
October 27 - 28, 2015 Ridgeland, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
MSFA
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Nathan Bell
Training Officer
Ridgeland Fire Department
(601) 856-3760
Nathan.Bell@Ridgelandms.org

Course coordination plan
November 3 - 4, 2015 Temple, Texas

Jeff Rhoads
Region 7 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
jeff.rhoads@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Shane Pomykal
Captain
Temple Fire & Rescue
(254) 298-5989
spomykal@templetx.gov

Course coordination plan
November 12 - 13, 2015 Golden Valley, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Jack Yeager
Assistant Chief
Golden Valley Fire District
(928) 565-3479
j.yeager@goldenvalleyfire.org

Course coordination plan
November 14 - 15, 2015 Crescent City, California

Mike Garcia
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CALFIRE
(661) 775-5942
mike.garcia@fire.ca.gov

Curt Watkins
Training Officer
Crescent City Fire Department
(707) 464-2421
Watkins-curt@sbcglobal.net

Course coordination plan
December 5 - 6, 2015 Dillon, Montana

Dave Mason
Field Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 461-0570
david.mason3@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2016 Moscow, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Scott Williams
Captain/Safety Training Officer
Moscow Volunteer Fire Department
(208) 883-7082
swilliams@ci.moscow.id.us

Course coordination plan
January 9 - 10, 2016 El Cajon, California

Mike Garcia
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CAL FIRE
(661) 775-5942
mike.garcia@fire.ca.gov

John Kremensky
Battalion Chief/Training Officer
CAL FIRE, San Diego
(619) 590-3119
John.kremensky@fire.ca.gov

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2016 Andover, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Jerry Streich
Fire Chief
City of Andover Fire Department
(763) 767-5192
j.streich@andovermn.gov

Course coordination plan
February 6 - 7, 2016 Lewiston, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Gaylon Waits
Division Chief
Lewiston Fire Department
(208) 743-3554
gwaits@cityoflewiston.org

Course coordination plan
February 13 - 14, 2016 Bethel, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Daron Solesbee
Firefighter/Medic
Bethel Fire Department
(907) 543-2131
firedept@cityofbethel.net

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
May 12 - 13, 2016 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

William M. Higgins Jr.
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Mark P. Salafia
Fire Academy Trainer
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9268
mark.salafia@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2016 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Captain
Ruidoso Fire Department
(575) 257-4116
Michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments