Leadership I for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Company Success F0803

Leadership and Executive Development
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, public administration, emergency management, human resources management or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Robert Neale
robert.neale@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1209

Upcoming offerings

March 5 - 6, 2015 | March 14 - 15, 2015 | May 14 - 15, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course presents the company officer with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes techniques and approaches to problem-solving, ways to identify and assess the needs of the company officer's subordinates, methods for running meetings effectively in the fire service environment, and decisionmaking skills for the company officer.

Selection criteria

* Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.* Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within 6 months.* Training officers, staff, or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
March 5 - 6, 2015 Peoria, Illinois

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Terri Hopper
Business/Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Paul Brodkorb
Division Chief of Training
Peoria Fire Department
(309) 494-8721
pbrodkorb@peoriagov.org

Course coordination plan
March 14 - 15, 2015 Cancelled Atoka, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training OSU
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Course coordination plan
May 14 - 15, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
May 30 - 31, 2015 Saint Francisville, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU FETI
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
June 8 - 9, 2015 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Susan Schell
Training Section Chief
Florida State Fire College
(352) 369-2822
susan.schell@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
September 12 - 13, 2015 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Administrative Assistant
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Colorado Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments