Leadership I for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Company Success (F0803)

Training Specialist

Ken Farmer
ken.farmer@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1871

View Schedule Below

Curriculum: Management Science

This 2-day course presents the company officer with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes techniques and approaches to problem-solving, ways to identify and assess the needs of the company officer's subordinates, methods for running meetings effectively in the fire service environment, and decisionmaking skills for the company officer.

Selection Criteria * Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.* Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within 6 months.* Training officers, staff, or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites None.
ACE Recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, public administration, emergency management, human resources management or leadership.
CEU's 1.2
Post-Course Requirements None.
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
October 15 - 16, 2014 Yukon, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Asst. Director
OSU Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Coordinator
OSU Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Kyle Trumbly
Training Officer
Yukon Fire Department
(405) 354-2133
ktrumbly@cityofyukonok.gov

Course Coordination Plan
October 18 - 19, 2014 Bozeman, Montana

Jon Marshall
Public Education Specialist
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 771-4338
jonathan.marshall@montana.edu

Dave Mason
Regional Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 461-0570
bax821@wildblue.net

Sean Grabbe
Training Officer
Bozeman Fire Department
(406) 582-2354
sgrabbe@bozeman.net

Course Coordination Plan
November 12 - 13, 2014 Watertown, South Dakota

Doug Hinkle
Cheif Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Don Rowland
Assistant Fire Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
(605) 882-5030
drowland@watertownsd.us

Course Coordination Plan
November 15 - 16, 2014 Lincoln, Nebraska

Charles H. Hoffman
Manager,
Nebraska Fire Marshal Training Division
(308) 385-6892
chuck.hoffman@nebraska.gov

Melissa Bennett
Staff Assistant
Nebraska Fire Marshal Training Division
(308) 385-6892
melissa.bennett@nebraska.gov

Eric Rasmussen
Training Officer
Southeast Rural Fire Department
(402) 450-2523
ejrasmussen@inebraska.com

Course Coordination Plan
December 6 - 7, 2014 Great Falls, Montana

Jon Marshall
Public Education Specialist
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 771-4338
jonathan.marshall@montana.edu

Doug Lobaugh
Regional Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 750-6046
doug.lobaugh@montana.edu

Carl Thrasher
Chief
Gore Hill Fire Rescue
(406) 750-7130
cthrasher@ghvfd.com

Course Coordination Plan
December 13 - 14, 2014 Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Todd Miles
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9187
milesto@ku.edu

Course Coordination Plan
January 12 - 13, 2015 Yuma , Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Chris Flores
Training Captain
Yuma Fire Department
(928) 373-4863
chris.flores@yumaaz.gov

Course Coordination Plan
February 7 - 8, 2015 Juneau, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Jan Mitchell
State Fire Training Administrator
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Nathan Young
Captain
Capital City Fire Rescue
(907) 586-4972
nathan.young@ci.juneau.us

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course Coordination Plan
March 5 - 6, 2015 Peoria, Illinois

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Terri Hopper
Business/Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Paul Brodkorb
Division Chief of Training
Peoria Fire Department
(309) 494-8721
pbrodkorb@peoriagov.org

Course Coordination Plan
June 4 - 5, 2015 Honolulu, Hawaii

Socrates Bratakos
Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7105
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Course Coordination Plan