Leadership I for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Company Success F0803

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, public administration, emergency management, human resources management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0803.pdf PDF http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0803.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

January 21 - 22, 2017 | January 27 - 28, 2017 | January 28 - 29, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course presents the Company Officer (CO) with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course includes techniques and approaches to problem-solving, ways to identify and assess the needs of the CO's subordinates, methods for running meetings effectively in the fire service environment, and decision-making skills for the CO.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 21 - 22, 2017 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
January 27 - 28, 2017 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Chad Cutshaw
Battalion Chief – Special Operations and Training
Grand Forks Fire Department
701-757-1191
CCutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Brattleboro, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2755
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Lead Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
802-483-2755
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Peter Lynch
Assistant Chief
Brattleboro Fire Department
802-254-4831
plynch@brattleboro.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 La Verne, California

Rodney Slaughter
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CALFIRE
916-445-4518
Rodney.Slaughter@fire.ca.gov

Dennis Mathisen
Chief of State Fire Training
OSFM-CALFIRE
916-445-8195
Dennis.Mathisen@fire.ca.gov

Kevin Greenway
Captain
La Verne Fire Department
909-596-5991
kgreenway@lavernefire.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
303-239-4600
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
303-239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 9 - 10, 2017 Boulder City, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Chuck Gebhart
Division Chief
Boulder City Fire Department
702-293-9228
cgebhart@bcnv.org

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Rapid City, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
SD Fire Marshal's Office
605-773-4093
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
SD Fire Marshal's Office
605-773-3417
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Casey Warren
Assistant Chief
Rapid Valley Volunteer Fire Department
605-390-2619
casey.warren@rapidvalleyvfd.org

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 21 - 22, 2017 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2017 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 23 - 24, 2017 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2017 Burlington, Wisconsin

Peter Silva
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
608-266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

John Dahms
Fire Training Coordinator
Gateway Technical College
262-767-5136
Dahmsj@gtc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2017 Anchor Point, Alaska

Jan Mitchell
Supervisor
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
907-269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Jon Marsh
Captain
Anchor Point
907-235-6700
jmarsh@kpg.us

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2017 Granite Falls, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol, Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
bob.Jones@wsp.wa.gov

Jim Haverfield
Fire Chief
Snohomish County Fire District #17
360-691-5553
jim.haverfield@gffd17.org

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 21, 2017 Driggs, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager/Training Coordinator
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Jon Wisby
Training Division Chief
Teton County Fire & Rescue
208-715-5201
jwisby@tetoncountyfire.com

Course coordination plan
May 27 - 28, 2017 Cancelled Olympia, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol, Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
bob.Jones@wsp.wa.gov

Andrew Schaffran
Battalion Chief
East Olympia Fire District 6
360-491-5533
andrew@eofd.org

Course coordination plan
June 3 - 4, 2017 Airway Heights, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Wasington State Patrol, Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Richard Galtieri
Training Lieutenant
Spokane County Fire District 10
509-244-2425
rgaltieri@scfd10.org

Course coordination plan
June 12 - 13, 2017 Bethany, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordinator
Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
Paddy.metcalf@osufst.org

S.R. Hunter
Batallion Chief
Bethany Fire Department
405-789-2218
S.R.Hunter@bethanyok.org

Course coordination plan
July 14 - 15, 2017 Grand Island, Nebraska

Brian Busse
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal - Training Division
402-984-3068
brian.busse@nebraska.gov

Alan Joos
Chief Training Division
State Fire Marshal - Training Division
308-385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
August 3 - 4, 2017 Anadarko, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
405-831-6103
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordiantor
Fire Service Training
405-744-5727
Paddy.metcalf@osufst.org

E. J. Sorrels
Training Officer
Anadarko Fire Department
405-247-3871
engine641@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
August 19 - 20, 2017 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-338-6772
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments