Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Incident Management
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in Fire Science or Firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Bennett
robertj.bennett@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1483

Upcoming offerings

June 5 - 6, 2015 | August 15 - 16, 2015 | August 24 - 25, 2015 | View more

Course description

Decision Making for Initial Company Operations is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. As a Company Officer (CO) with the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that they be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander (IC), the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the ICS organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position they are assigned, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed Company Officers, for firefighters who may have acting Company Officer responsibilities or who want to become a Company Officer. This course is an excellent review for experience Company Officers.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
June 5 - 6, 2015 Wenatchee, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Andrew Schaffran
Batt Chief
WA Firefighters Association
(360) 754-0651
andrew@eofd.org

Course coordination plan
August 15 - 16, 2015 Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-1073
rtgreene@ku.edu

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-1073
Rtgreene@ku.edu

Course coordination plan
August 24 - 25, 2015 Bartlesville, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training OSU
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Bill Hollander
Training Officer
Bartlesville Fire Department
(918) 338-4089
whollander@cityofbartlesville.org

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2015 Des Moines, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Todd Francisco
District Chief - Training
Des Moines Fire Department
(515) 283-4768
tafrancisco@dmgov.org

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2015 Lakeside , Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Grand Rapids, Michigan

Michael Greis
Department Specialist
LARA, Bureau of Fire Services
(517) 335-3496
greism1@michigan.gov

Lee Finlayson
Training Chief
Grand Rapids Fire Department
(616) 490-5981
lfinlays@grcity.us

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2015 Chelan, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Washington State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Pat Moore
Training Captain
Chelan Fire and Rescue
(509) 682-4476
pmoore@cfr7.org

Course coordination plan
December 3 - 4, 2015 Warrenville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Terrence J. Jelinek
Training Chief
Warrenville Fire Protection District
(630) 393-1381
jelinekt@warrenvillefire.com

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2016 Nikiski, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Brian Crisp
Captain
Nikiski Fire Department
(907) 776-6408
bcrisp@kpb.us

Course coordination plan
August 27 - 28, 2016 CHAMPAIGN, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2016 Jacksonville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Brian Nyberg
Training Officer
Jacksonville Fire Department
(217) 479-4659
jfd@jacksonvilleil.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments Not available.