Decision Making for Initial Company Operations (F0457)

Training Specialist

Robert Bennett
robertj.bennett@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1483

View Schedule Below

Curriculum: Incident Management

Decision Making for Initial Company Operations is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. As a Company Officer (CO) with the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that they be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander (IC), the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the ICS organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position they are assigned, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection Criteria This course is specifically designed for newly appointed Company Officers, for firefighters who may have acting Company Officer responsibilities or who want to become a Company Officer. This course is an excellent review for experience Company Officers.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites None
ACE Recommendation ACE has not yet reviewed this new course.
CEU's 1.4
Post-Course Requirements
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments Not available.

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
November 8 - 9, 2014 Susanville, California

Mike Garcia
Deputy State Fire Marshal
CAL FIRE-OSFM-State Fire Training
(661) 775-5942
mike.garcia@fire.ca.gov

Dan Weaver
Training Captain
Susanville Fire Department
(530) 257-5152
Dweaver@cityofsusanville.org

Course Coordination Plan
November 8 - 9, 2014 Burley, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Training Coordinator/Program Manger
Fire Service Technology-State of Idaho-PTE
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Casey Harman
Captain/Training Officer
Burley Fire Department
(208) 878-7371
caseyharman@hotmail.com

Course Coordination Plan
December 13 - 14, 2014 Devils Lake, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 222-2799
rob@ndfa.net

Jim Moe
Fire Chief
Devils Lake Fire Department
(701) 662-3913
dlcfd@gondtc.com

Course Coordination Plan
December 15 - 16, 2014 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 222-2799
rob@ndfa.net

Dave Manthei
Training Officer
Grand Forks Fire Department
(701) 757-1191
dmanthei@grandforksgov.com

Course Coordination Plan
January 17 - 18, 2015 Ketchikan, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Jan Mitchell
State Fire Training Administrator
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Jon Dorman
Assistant Chief
Ketchikan Fire Department
(907) 225-9616
jond@ci.ketchikan.ak.us

Course Coordination Plan
January 24 - 25, 2015 Fargo, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 222-2799
rob@ndfa.net

Gary Lorenz
Assistant Chief
Fargo Fire Department
(701) 241-8129
glorenz@cityoffargo.com

Course Coordination Plan
February 6 - 8, 2015 Ely, Nevada

Lori DeGristina
State Training Officer
Nevada State Fire Marshal
(775) 684-7522
ldegristina@dps.state.nv.us

Ross Rivera
Fire Chief
City of Ely Fire Department
(775) 289-6633
elyvfd@mwpower.net

Course Coordination Plan
February 7 - 8, 2015 Sheridan, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
(870) 574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Tim Stuckey
Fire Chief
Sheridan Fire Department
(870) 942-2031
sheridanfd@windstream.net

Course Coordination Plan
February 7 - 8, 2015 Grand Junction , Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Administrative Asst.
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5862
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course Coordination Plan
February 18 - 19, 2015 Quincy, Illinois

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Terri Hopper
Business/Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Steve Salrin
Deputy Chief
Quincy Fire Department
(217) 228-4459
ssalrin@quincyil.gov

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
mark.ayers@state.or.us

Thelma Denney
Fire Program Admin Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2408
thelma.denney@state.or.us

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course Coordination Plan
March 14 - 15, 2015 Faribault, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Specialist
State Fire Marshal
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Dustin Dienst
Fire Chief
Faribault Fire Department
(507) 334-8773
ddienst@ci.faribault.mn.us

Course Coordination Plan
March 21 - 22, 2015 Globe, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Al Gameros
Fire Chief
Globe Fire Department
(928) 200-2626
agameros@cableone.net

Course Coordination Plan
April 11 - 12, 2015 Artesia, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
CarlosL.Chavez@state.nm.us

Rick Burks
Division Chief
Artesia Fire Department
(575) 746-5051
rburks@artesianm.gov

Course Coordination Plan
April 16 - 17, 2015 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
MA Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Joe Klucznik
Deputy Director
MA Fire Academy
(978) 567-3167
joe.klucznik@state.ma.us

Course Coordination Plan
April 17 - 18, 2015 Oklahoma City , Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training OSU
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Lynn Wojcik
Department Head
OSU OKC
(405) 945-6738
lwojcik@osuokc.edu

Course Coordination Plan
August 13 - 14, 2015 Honolulu, Hawaii

Socrates Bratakos
HI State Fire Council Administrator
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7151
sbratakos@honolulu.gov

Lloyd Rogers
Administrative Specialist
Hawaii State Fire Council
(808) 723-7176
lrogers@honolulu.gov

Course Coordination Plan
August 15 - 16, 2015 Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Todd Miles
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9187
milesto@ku.edu

Course Coordination Plan
August 24 - 25, 2015 Bartlesville, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training OSU
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Bill Hollander
Training Officer
Bartlesville Fire Department
(918) 338-4089
whollander@cityofbartlesville.org

Course Coordination Plan
September 15 - 16, 2015 Des Moines, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Todd Francisco
District Chief - Training
Des Moines Fire Department
(515) 283-4768
tafrancisco@dmgov.org

Course Coordination Plan
September 17 - 18, 2015 Lakeside , Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course Coordination Plan