Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Bennett
robertj.bennett@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1483

Upcoming offerings

February 20 - 21, 2016 | March 12 - 13, 2016 | March 21 - 22, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO. This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 20 - 21, 2016 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
firetraining_webcontacts@dpsst.state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 12 - 13, 2016 Butte, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Field Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2016 Cancelled Nikiski, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Brian Crisp
Captain
Nikiski Fire Department
(907) 776-6408
bcrisp@kpb.us

Course coordination plan
April 2 - 3, 2016 Sulphur, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Training Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2016 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 338-6772
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
August 27 - 28, 2016 Champaign, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2016 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2016 Jacksonville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Brian Nyberg
Training Officer
Jacksonville Fire Department
(217) 479-4659
jfd@jacksonvilleil.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments Not available.