Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0457.pdf PDF http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0457.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Richard Sexton
Richard.Sexton@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-7687

Upcoming offerings

January 21 - 22, 2017 | January 23 - 24, 2017 | January 28 - 29, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO. This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 21 - 22, 2017 Wolf Point, Montana

Brandon Brunelle
Field Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
406-230-2472
brandon.brunelle@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2017 Orland Park, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
217-244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

David Piper
Training Officer
Orland Fire Protection District
708-873-2705
d.piper@orlandfire.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Magnolia, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
870-574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Randal Stevens
Assistant Fire Chief
Magnolia Fire Department
870-234-5022
rstevens@magnolia-ar.com

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2017 Hayfork, California

Rodney Slaughter
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CALFIRE
916-445-4518
Rodney.Slaughter@fire.ca.gov

Dennis Mathisen
Chief of State Fire Training
OSFM-CALFIRE
916-445-8195
Dennis.Mathisen@fire.ca.gov

Roman Rubalcava
Fire Chief
Hayfork Volunteer Fire Department
916-207-3974
Chief3101@hayforkfire.org

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2017 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Walter Morris
Training Program Manager
Maine Fire Service Institute
207-205-2762
wmorris@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 7 - 8, 2017 Brainerd, Minnesota

Kevin J Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
State Fire Marshal Division
651-295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Chip Lohmiller
Fire Chief
Crosslake Fire
612-868-6744
fire@crosslake.net

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2017 Watertown, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
605-773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
Department of Public Safety
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Rescue
605-882-5030
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
April 22 - 23, 2017 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-338-6772
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
April 27 - 28, 2017 Las Vegas, Nevada

Tom Martinez
Training Officer II
Nevada State Fire Marshal Division
775-684-7529
tmartinez@dps.state.nv.us

Kage Snyder
Battalion Chief
Clark County Fire Department
702-455-7700
Kage.snyder@clarkcountynv.gov

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 21, 2017 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Fire Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
July 6 - 7, 2017 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
July 22 - 23, 2017 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
601-932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 12 - 13, 2017 Horizon City, Texas

David Rosier
Regional Manager
TEEX /ESTI
903-240-2219
david.rosier@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX /ESTI
979-204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Ron Larson
Administrator/FF/EMT
El Paso County ESD #1
915-852-3204
rlarson@epcesd1.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments Not available.