Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Incident Management
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in Fire Science or Firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Bennett
robertj.bennett@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1483

Upcoming offerings

September 15 - 16, 2015 | September 17 - 18, 2015 | October 13 - 14, 2015 | View more

Course description

Decision Making for Initial Company Operations is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. As a Company Officer (CO) with the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that they be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander (IC), the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the ICS organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position they are assigned, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed Company Officers, for firefighters who may have acting Company Officer responsibilities or who want to become a Company Officer. This course is an excellent review for experience Company Officers.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
September 15 - 16, 2015 Des Moines, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Todd Francisco
District Chief - Training
Des Moines Fire Department
(515) 283-4768
tafrancisco@dmgov.org

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2015 Lakeside , Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course coordination plan
October 13 - 14, 2015 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Grand Rapids, Michigan

Michael Greis
Department Specialist
LARA, Bureau of Fire Services
(517) 335-3496
greism1@michigan.gov

Lee Finlayson
Training Chief
Grand Rapids Fire Department
(616) 490-5981
lfinlays@grcity.us

Course coordination plan
October 17 - 18, 2015 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Peter Silva Jr.
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2015 Lawrence, Kansas

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 846-1073
rtgreene@ku.edu

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Knasas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 804-8841
gprib@ku.edu

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2015 Chelan, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Washington State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Pat Moore
Training Captain
Chelan Fire and Rescue
(509) 682-4476
pmoore@cfr7.org

Course coordination plan
December 3 - 4, 2015 Warrenville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Terrence J. Jelinek
Training Chief
Warrenville Fire Protection District
(630) 393-1381
jelinekt@warrenvillefire.com

Course coordination plan
December 9 - 10, 2015 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2015 Lewistown, Montana

Doug Lobaugh
Field Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 750-6046
doug.lobaugh@montana.edu

Keith Kucera
Chief
Lewistown Fire Department
(406) 366-7272
kkucera@ci.lewistown.mt.us

Course coordination plan
January 16 - 17, 2016 Big Lake, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Ken Halverson
Asst. Fire Chief
Big Lake Fire Department
(763) 286-8152
halversonjk@sherbtel.net

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2016 Milan, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Joe Desoto
Chief
Cibola County Chiefs Association
(505) 972-5258
jcdesoto@msn.com

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
firetraining_webcontacts@dpsst.state.or.us

Course coordination plan
March 12 - 13, 2016 Butte, Montana

Craig Jeppson
Field Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 498-5444
cjeppson911@msn.com

Course coordination plan
March 21 - 22, 2016 Nikiski, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Brian Crisp
Captain
Nikiski Fire Department
(907) 776-6408
bcrisp@kpb.us

Course coordination plan
April 23 - 24, 2016 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 338-6772
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
August 27 - 28, 2016 Champaign, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2016 Jacksonville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Brian Nyberg
Training Officer
Jacksonville Fire Department
(217) 479-4659
jfd@jacksonvilleil.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments Not available.