Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Incident Management
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in Fire Science or Firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Bennett
robertj.bennett@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1483

Upcoming offerings

April 10 - 11, 2015 | April 11 - 12, 2015 | April 16 - 17, 2015 | View more

Course description

Decision Making for Initial Company Operations is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. As a Company Officer (CO) with the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that they be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander (IC), the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the ICS organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position they are assigned, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed Company Officers, for firefighters who may have acting Company Officer responsibilities or who want to become a Company Officer. This course is an excellent review for experience Company Officers.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
April 10 - 11, 2015 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 222-2799
rob@ndfa.net

Dave Manthei
Training Officer
Grand Forks Fire Department
(701) 757-1191
dmanthei@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
April 11 - 12, 2015 Artesia, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
CarlosL.Chavez@state.nm.us

Rick Burks
Division Chief
Artesia Fire Department
(575) 746-5051
rburks@artesianm.gov

Course coordination plan
April 16 - 17, 2015 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
MA Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Joe Klucznik
Deputy Director
MA Fire Academy
(978) 567-3167
joe.klucznik@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
April 17 - 18, 2015 Oklahoma City , Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training OSU
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Lynn Wojcik
Department Head
OSU OKC
(405) 945-6738
lwojcik@osuokc.edu

Course coordination plan
June 5 - 6, 2015 Wenatchee, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Andrew Schaffran
Batt Chief
WA Firefighters Association
(360) 754-0651
andrew@eofd.org

Course coordination plan
August 15 - 16, 2015 Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-1073
rtgreene@ku.edu

Russell Greene
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-1073
Rtgreene@ku.edu

Course coordination plan
August 24 - 25, 2015 Bartlesville, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training OSU
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Bill Hollander
Training Officer
Bartlesville Fire Department
(918) 338-4089
whollander@cityofbartlesville.org

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2015 Des Moines, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Program Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Todd Francisco
District Chief - Training
Des Moines Fire Department
(515) 283-4768
tafrancisco@dmgov.org

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2015 Lakeside , Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Richard Wallace
Assistant Chief
Pinetop Fire Department
(928) 367-2199
rwallace@pinetopfire.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements
Comments Not available.