Decision Making for Initial Company Operations F0457

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire science or firefighting.
CEU’s 1.4
Training Specialist

Robert Bennett
robertj.bennett@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1483

Upcoming offerings

August 27 - 28, 2016 | September 14 - 15, 2016 | September 17 - 18, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course is designed to develop the decision making skills needed by Company Officers (COs) to accomplish assigned tactics at structure fires. All activities and scenarios used in this course are based on structure fires. With the real possibility of being the first to arrive at an incident, the CO’s initial decisions will have an impact throughout the entire incident. It is vital that COs be able to make good management decisions that have a favorable impact on the eventual outcome. In addition to a possible role as the initial Incident Commander, the CO may well be assigned a subordinate position within the Incident Command System organization. COs need to have a clear understanding of the system, the position that they are assigned to, and their role in the organization if they are to function effectively and help make the system work.

Selection criteria

This course is specifically designed for newly appointed COs and for firefighters who may have acting CO responsibilities or who want to become a CO. This course is an excellent review for experienced COs.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
August 27 - 28, 2016 Champaign, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Jim Keiken
Deputy Director
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 300-4275
jkeiken@illinois.edu

Course coordination plan
September 14 - 15, 2016 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
September 17 - 18, 2016 Jacksonville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Brian Nyberg
Training Officer
Jacksonville Fire Department
(217) 479-4659
jfd@jacksonvilleil.com

Course coordination plan
October 1 - 2, 2016 Ammon, Idaho

Dean Ellis
FST Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Steve Berg
Training Officer
Ammon Fire Department
(205) 612-4061
sberg@cityofammon.us

Course coordination plan
October 3 - 4, 2016 Burlington, Vermont

Jessica Pomainville
Administrative Services Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
jessica.pomainville@vermont.gov

Michael Skaza
Lead Program Coordinator
Vermont Fire Academy
(802) 483-2755
michael.skaza@vermont.gov

Scott Crady
Training Officer
Burlington Fire Department
(802) 865-7201
scrady@burlingtonvt.gov

Course coordination plan
October 8 - 9, 2016 Helena, Montana

Holly Harris
Public Education Coordinator
MSU - Fire Services Training School
(406) 771-4439
holly.harris@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2016 York, Nebraska

Alan Joos
Chief, Training Division
State Fire Marshal - Nebraska
(308) 385-6892
alan.joos@nebraska.gov

Joel Sacks
Training Specialist
State Fire Marshal - Training Division Nebraska
(402) 416-7585
joel.sacks@nebraska.gov

Course coordination plan
November 14 - 15, 2016 Kodiak, Alaska

Todd Kollar
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
(907) 465-3117
todd.kollar@alaska.gov

Aaron Griffin
Assistant
U.S. Coast Guard
(907) 487-5808
aaron.m.griffin@uscg.mil

Course coordination plan
December 2 - 3, 2016 Branson, Missouri

Doug Goodings
Assistant Deputy Chief Training and Certification
Missouri State Fire Marshal
(573) 526-5701
Doug.Goodings@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Kim Becker
Deputy Chief Training and Certification
Missouri State Fire Marshal
(573) 751-5301
Kim.Becker@dfs.dps.mo.gov

Mike Novak
Assistant Chief
Branson Fire Department
(417) 243-2780
mnovak@bransonmo.gov

Course coordination plan
December 5 - 6, 2016 Bismarck, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Brooks Martin
Battalion Chief-Support Services
Bismarck Fire Department
(701) 355-1406
bmartin@bismarcknd.gov

Course coordination plan
January 21 - 22, 2017 Wolf Point, Montana

Brandon Brunelle
Field Trainer
MSU - Fire Services Training School
(406) 230-2472
brandon.brunelle@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2017 Orland Park, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

David Piper
Training Officer
Orland Fire Protection District
(708) 873-2705
d.piper@orlandfire.org

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2017 Magnolia, Arkansas

James Rubow
Deputy Director
Arkansas Fire Training Academy
(870) 574-1521
jrubow@sautech.edu

Randal Stevens
Assistant Fire Chief
Magnolia Fire Department
(870) 234-5022
rstevens@magnolia-ar.com

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2017 Hayfork, California

Rodney Slaughter
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CALFIRE
(916) 445-4518
Rodney.Slaughter@fire.ca.gov

Dennis Mathisen
Chief of State Fire Training
OSFM-CALFIRE
(916) 445-8195
Dennis.Mathisen@fire.ca.gov

Roman Rubalcava
Fire Chief
Hayfork Volunteer Fire Department
(916) 207-3974
Chief3101@hayforkfire.org

Course coordination plan
March 11 - 12, 2017 Brunswick, Maine

James A. Graves
Deputy Director
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 844-2078
jgraves@smccme.edu

Walter Morris
Training Program Manager
Maine Fire Service Institute
(207) 205-2762
wmorris@smccme.edu

Course coordination plan
April 22 - 23, 2017 Greenville, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Henderson
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 338-6772
marc.henderson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
July 22 - 23, 2017 Jackson, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

David Pitts
Senior Instructor
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
dpitts@msfa.state.ms.us

Course coordination plan
August 12 - 13, 2017 Horizon City, Texas

David Rosier
Regional Manager
TEEX /ESTI
(903) 240-2219
david.rosier@teex.tamu.edu

Scott Matthews
Project Manager
TEEX /ESTI
(979) 204-2079
scott.matthews@teex.tamu.edu

Ron Larson
Administrator/FF/EMT
El Paso County ESD #1
(915) 852-3204
rlarson@epcesd1.com

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments Not available.