Leadership II for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Personal Success F0804

Leadership and Executive Development
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, emergency management, public administration, human resource management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Russell Kuck
russell.kuck@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1009

Upcoming offerings

September 17 - 18, 2015 | October 3 - 4, 2015 | November 7 - 8, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course provides the company officer with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course addresses ethics, use and abuse of power at the company officer level, creativity in the fire service environment, and management of the multiple roles of the company officer.

Selection criteria

* Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.* Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within 6 months.* Training officers, staff, or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
September 17 - 18, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
October 3 - 4, 2015 Great Falls, Montana

Doug Lobaugh
Field Manager
MSU Fire Services Training School
(406) 750-6046
doug.lobaugh@montana.edu

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2015 Los Lunas, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Jamie Finch
Captain
Valencia County Emergency Services
(505) 866-3334
jamie.finch@co.valencia.nm.us

Course coordination plan
November 7 - 8, 2015 Idaho Falls, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Dave Coffey
Deputy Chief
Idaho Falls Fire Department
(208) 612-8339
dcoffey@idahofallsidaho.gov

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2015 Eagle River, Alaska

Tori Clyde
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 451-9001
victoria.clyde@alaska.gov

Matthew Lauer
Training Officer
Chugiak Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department
(907) 694-2010
mlauer@cvfrd.com

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2015 Cancelled Chugiak, Alaska

Tori Clyde
Fire Training Specialist
Alaska Division of Fire and Life Safety Training and Education Bureau
(907) 451-9001
victoria.clyde@alaska.gov

Matthew Lauer
Training Officer
Chugiak Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department
(907) 694-2010
mlauer@cvfrd.com

Course coordination plan
January 28 - 29, 2016 Golden Valley, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

Jack Yeager
Assistant Chief
Golden Valley Fire District
(928) 565-3479
j.yeager@goldenvalleyfire.org

Course coordination plan
January 30 - 31, 2016 Kennewick, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Washington State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Edward Dunbar
Captain/Training Officer
BCFD 4
(509) 967-2945
edunbar@bcfd4.org

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Silver City, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Milo Lambert
Fire Mashal
Silver City Fire Department
(575) 956-1237
MLambert@silvercitymail.com

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 31, 2016 - April 1, 2016 Duluth, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Paula Castleman
Director
Lake Superior College ERTC
(218) 733-1073
p.castleman@lsc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 26 - 27, 2016 Ridgeland, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
MSFA
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Nathan Bell
Training Officer
Ridgeland Fire Department
(601) 856-3760
Nathan.Bell@Ridgelandms.org

Course coordination plan
June 11 - 12, 2016 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Captain
Ruidoso Fire Department
(575) 257-4116
Michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments