Leadership II for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Personal Success F0804

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, emergency management, public administration, human resource management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

July 11 - 12, 2016 | August 6 - 7, 2016 | September 15 - 16, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the Company Officer (CO) with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course addresses ethics, use and abuse of power at the CO level, creativity in the fire service environment, and management of the multiple roles of the CO.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
July 11 - 12, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Training Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
August 6 - 7, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2016 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

Jim Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
October 8 - 9, 2016 Camp Douglas, Wisconsin

Peter Silva
Education Director
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-7289
peter.silva@wtcsystem.edu

Shari Jacobson
Administrative Assistant
Wisconsin Technical College System
(608) 266-5859
shari.jacobson@wtcsystem.edu

Matt Davies
Fire Chief
Volk Field Fire Department
(608) 427-1217
Matthew.J.Davies4.mil@mail.mil

Course coordination plan
October 8 - 9, 2016 Pullman, Washington

John Stuckey
Deputy Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol
(425) 453-3000
john.stuckey@wsp.wa.gov

Gabriel Benmoussa
Deputy Fire Chief
Pullman Fire Department
(509) 338-3293
gabriel.benmoussa@pullman-wa.gov

Course coordination plan
October 11 - 12, 2016 Gulfport, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Tim Holliman
Training Chief
Gulfport Fire Station #1
(228) 868-5950
tholliman@gulfport-ms.gov

Course coordination plan
October 15 - 16, 2016 Bellevue, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Tom White
Training Officer
Wood River Fire & Rescue
(208) 788-5577
twhite@wrfr.com

Course coordination plan
November 5 - 6, 2016 Placitas, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
NMFTA
(575) 835-7509
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Brain Culp
Assistant Chief
Sandoval County Fire Department
(505) 867-0245
bculp@sandovalcountynm.gov

Course coordination plan
November 9 - 10, 2016 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
November 19 - 20, 2016 Crescent City, California

Rodney Slaughter
Deputy State Fire Marshal III
CALFIRE
(916) 445-4518
Rodney.Slaughter@fire.ca.gov

Dennis Mathisen
Chief of State Fire Training
OSFM-CALFIRE
(916) 445-8195
Dennis.Mathisen@fire.ca.gov

Curt Watkins
Training Officer
Crescent City Fire Rescue Department
(707) 464-2421
Watkins-curt@sbcglobal.net

Course coordination plan
November 28 - 29, 2016 Warrenville, Illinois

Terri Hopper
Business Administrative Associate
IL Fire Service Institute
(217) 244-7131
hopper@illinois.edu

Terrence J. Jelinek
Training Chief
Warrenville Fire Protection District
(630) 393-1381
jelinekt@warrenvillefire.com

Course coordination plan
December 2 - 3, 2016 Grand Forks, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Chad Cutshaw
Battalion Chief – Special Operations and Training
Grand Forks Fire Department
(701) 757-1191
CCutshaw@grandforksgov.com

Course coordination plan
December 3 - 4, 2016 St. Cloud, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
MN State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Michael Thompson
Division Chief of Training
Saint Cloud Fire Department
(320) 492-7825
michael.thompson@ci.stcloud.mn.us

Course coordination plan
January 14 - 15, 2017 Moscow, Idaho

Dean Elllis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Scott Williams
Training Officer
Moscow Fire Department
(208) 883-7082
swilliams@ci.moscow.id.us

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2017 Pierre, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-4093
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3417
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Course coordination plan
May 4 - 5, 2017 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments