Leadership II for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Personal Success F0804

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, emergency management, public administration, human resource management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

February 20 - 21, 2016 | February 27 - 28, 2016 | February 27 - 28, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the Company Officer (CO) with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course addresses ethics, use and abuse of power at the CO level, creativity in the fire service environment, and management of the multiple roles of the CO.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 20 - 21, 2016 Cancelled Silver City, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Milo Lambert
Fire Mashal
Silver City Fire Department
(575) 956-1237
MLambert@silvercitymail.com

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Cancelled Grand Junction, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
February 27 - 28, 2016 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 929-9551
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 31, 2016 - April 1, 2016 Duluth, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Paula Castleman
Director
Lake Superior College ERTC
(218) 733-1073
p.castleman@lsc.edu

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2016 American Fork, Utah

Chuck Querry
Assistant Director of Fire Training
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
(801) 863-7740
querrych@uvu.edu

Austin Knight
Training Officer
American Fork Fire Department
(801) 763-3045
aknight@afcity.net

Course coordination plan
April 13 - 14, 2016 Minot, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
Rob@ndfa.net

Tim Beach
Assistant Chief
Minot Fire Department
(701) 857-4740
tim.beach@minotnd.org

Course coordination plan
April 26 - 27, 2016 Ridgeland, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
MSFA
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Nathan Bell
Training Officer
Ridgeland Fire Department
(601) 856-3760
Nathan.Bell@Ridgelandms.org

Course coordination plan
May 9 - 10, 2016 Norman, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Keith Nelson
Chief of Training
Norman Fire Department
(405) 501-1951
Keith.Nelson@normanok.gov

Course coordination plan
May 23 - 24, 2016 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Western Maryland Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute (MFRI)
(301) 729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
MFRI
(301) 226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
June 4 - 5, 2016 Edmond, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Joe Bennett
Chief
Oak Cliff Fire Department
(405) 473-6353
bennett_fac06@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
June 11 - 12, 2016 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
Instructor/Coordinator
NMFTA
(505) 795-2351
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Captain
Ruidoso Fire Department
(575) 257-4116
Michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
June 15 - 16, 2016 Stow, Massachusetts

David Houghton
NFA Coordinator
Department of Fire Services
(978) 567-3171
david.houghton@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
July 11 - 12, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Trainining Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
August 6 - 7, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
September 15 - 16, 2016 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

Jim Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments