Leadership II for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Personal Success F0804

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration, fire tech, fire management, fire science, emergency management, public administration, human resource management, or leadership.
CEU’s 1.2
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0804.pdf PDF http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0804.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

January 14 - 15, 2017 | February 11 - 12, 2017 | February 18 - 19, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the Company Officer (CO) with the basic leadership skills and tools needed to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course addresses ethics, use and abuse of power at the CO level, creativity in the fire service environment, and management of the multiple roles of the CO.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
January 14 - 15, 2017 Moscow, Idaho

Dean Elllis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
208-535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Scott Williams
Training Officer
Moscow Fire Department
208-883-7082
swilliams@ci.moscow.id.us

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
April 1 - 2, 2017 Fairbanks, Alaska

Jan Mitchell
Supervisor
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
907-269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Victoria Clyde
Fire Chief
Ester Fire Department
907-479-6858
chief@esterfire.org

Course coordination plan
April 8 - 9, 2017 Pierre, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
605-773-4093
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
SD State Fire Marshal's Office
605-773-3417
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Course coordination plan
April 12 - 13, 2017 Midwest City, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordinator
Oklahoma State University
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Rodney Foster
Training Officer
Midwest City Fire Department
405-739-1355
mwc138@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
May 4 - 5, 2017 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
May 6 - 7, 2017 Granite Falls, Washington

Howard Scartozzi
Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Patrol, Fire Prevention Bureau
425-401-7732
howard.scartozzi@wsp.wa.gov

Bob Jones
bob.Jones@wsp.wa.gov

Jim Haverfield
Fire Chief
Snohomish County Fire District #17
360-691-5553
jim.haverfield@gffd17.org

Course coordination plan
May 17 - 18, 2017 West Jordan, Utah

Brad Wardle
Assistant Director of Training
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7718
Bradley.wardle@uvu.edu

Mike Powell
Training Captain
West Jordan Fire Department
801-260-7345
mikep@wjordan.com

Course coordination plan
May 20 - 21, 2017 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Fire Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
May 22 - 23, 2017 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments