Leadership III for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Supervisory Success F0805

Leadership and Executive Development
Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration or public administration.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Russell Kuck
russell.kuck@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1009

Upcoming offerings

October 24 - 25, 2015 | November 3 - 4, 2015 | December 3 - 4, 2015 | View more

Course description

This 2-day course provides the company officer with the basic leadership skills and tools to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course covers when and how to delegate to subordinates, assess personal leadership styles through situational leadership, discipline subordinates, and apply coaching/ motivating techniques.

Selection criteria

* Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.* Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within 6 months.* Training officers, staff, or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None.

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
October 24 - 25, 2015 McCall, Idaho

Dean Ellis
Program Manager
Fire Service Technology
(208) 535-5442
dean.ellis@my.eitc.edu

Mark Billmire
Fire Chief
McCall Fire & EMS
(208) 634-5360
mark@mccallfire.com

Course coordination plan
November 3 - 4, 2015 Watertown, South Dakota

Mike Erickson
Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Fire Marshal's Office
(605) 773-3562
mike.erickson@state.sd.us

Doug Hinkle
Chief Deputy Fire Marshal
South Dakota Fire Marsha'ls Office
(605) 773-3562
doug.hinkle@state.sd.us

Scott Jongbloed
Battalion Chief
Watertown Fire Department
(605) 882-5030
sjongbloed@watertownfirerescue.com

Course coordination plan
December 3 - 4, 2015 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

Jim Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
January 7 - 8, 2016 Missouri City, Texas

Ben Kennedy
Region 5 Coordinator
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
ben.kennedy@teex.tamu.edu

Dallas Renfrew
Training Director
TEEX/ESTI
(979) 458-4603
dallas.renfrew@teex.tamu.edu

Jaime PonceDeLeon
Training Chief
Missouri City Fire Department
(281) 403-4304
jponcedeleon@missouricitytx.gov

Course coordination plan
January 11 - 12, 2016 Yuma, Arizona

Jeff Johnston
Certification Coordinator
AZCFSE
(623) 333-6502
jeff.johnston@azcfse.org

John Louser
Captain
Yuma Fire Department
(928) 373-4863
John.Louser@yumaaz.gov

Course coordination plan
January 23 - 24, 2016 Marshall, Minnesota

Bruce Roed
Fire Service Specialist
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 201-7218
Bruce.Roed@state.mn.us

Daryl Bartholomaus
Fire and Industrial Safety Training Coordinator
Minnesota West Community and Technical College
(507) 825-6821
daryl.bartholomaus@mnwest.edu

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
firetraining_webcontacts@dpsst.state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Kennewick, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
Washington State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Edward Dunbar
Captain/Training Officer
BCFD 4
(509) 967-2945
edunbar@bcfd4.org

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None.
Comments