Leadership III for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Supervisory Success F0805

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration or public administration.
CEU’s 1.2
Student pre-course materials and course syllabus

http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0805.pdf PDF http://nfa.usfa.fema.gov/ax/syll/syllabus_f0805.pdf?.fileSize,

Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

December 12 - 13, 2016 | February 11 - 12, 2017 | February 18 - 19, 2017 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the Company Officer with the basic leadership skills and tools to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course covers when and how to delegate to subordinates, assess personal leadership styles through situational leadership, discipline subordinates, and apply coaching/motivating techniques.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
December 12 - 13, 2016 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
352-369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 St. Cloud, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
MN State Fire Marshal Division
651-295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Michael Thompson
Division Chief of Training
Saint Cloud Fire Department
320-492-7825
michael.thompson@ci.stcloud.mn.us

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
503-378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2017 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
270-314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
859-256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 6 - 7, 2017 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
205-343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2017 Minot, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
701-516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Tim Beach
Assistant Chief
Minot Fire Department
701-857-4740
tim.beach@minotnd.org

Course coordination plan
April 12 - 13, 2017 Stow, Massachusetts

Alanna Malatos
Professional Development Coordinator
Department of Fire Services - Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3210
alanna.malatos@state.ma.us

Heather Antell
Massachusetts Firefighting Academy
978-567-3201
heather.antell@state.ma.us

Course coordination plan
April 29 - 30, 2017 Eagle River, Alaska

Jan Mitchell
Supervisor
Alaska Fire Training and Education Bureau
907-269-5789
jan.mitchell@alaska.gov

Chris Wilkins
Deputy Chief
Chugiak Volunteer Fire and Rescue Department
907-694-2010
chris.wilkins@cvfrd.com

Course coordination plan
May 19 - 20, 2017 West Jordan, Utah

Brad Wardle
Assistant Director of Training
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
801-863-7718
Bradley.wardle@uvu.edu

Mike Powell
Training Captain
West Jordan Fire Department
801-260-7345
mikep@wjordan.com

Course coordination plan
August 17 - 18, 2017 College Park, Maryland

Todd Dyche
Regional Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-729-0431
tdyche@mfri.org

Karen Layton
Program Coordinator
Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute
301-226-9971
klayton@mfri.org

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2017 Midwest City, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Oklahoma State University Fire Service Training
405-744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Programs Coordinator
Oklahoma State University
405-744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Rodney Foster
Training Officer
Midwest City Fire Department
405-739-1355
mwc138@gmail.com

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2017 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
860-264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
September 9 - 10, 2017 Black Hawk, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
Fire Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention and Control
303-239-5862
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments