Leadership III for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Supervisory Success F0805

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration or public administration.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

May 6 - 7, 2016 | May 16 - 17, 2016 | May 21 - 22, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the Company Officer with the basic leadership skills and tools to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course covers when and how to delegate to subordinates, assess personal leadership styles through situational leadership, discipline subordinates, and apply coaching/motivating techniques.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
May 6 - 7, 2016 American Fork, Utah

Chuck Querry
Assistant Director of Fire Training
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
(801) 863-7740
querrych@uvu.edu

Austin Knight
Training Officer
American Fork Fire Department
(801) 763-3045
aknight@afcity.net

Course coordination plan
May 16 - 17, 2016 Norman, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Keith Nelson
Chief of Training
Norman Fire Department
(405) 501-1951
Keith.Nelson@normanok.gov

Course coordination plan
May 21 - 22, 2016 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Training Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
September 19 - 20, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
October 4 - 5, 2016 Ridgeland, Mississippi

Steven Ashby
Instructor Chief
Mississippi State Fire Academy
(601) 932-2444
sashby@msfa.state.ms.us

Nathan Bell
Training Officer
Ridgeland Fire Department
(601) 856-3760
Nathan.Bell@Ridgelandms.org

Course coordination plan
October 15 - 16, 2016 Edmond, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
(405) 722-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Rural Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Joe Bennett
Chief
Oak Cliff Fire Protection District
(405) 473-6353
bennett_fac06@yahoo.com

Course coordination plan
October 22 - 23, 2016 Ruidoso, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
NMFTA
(575) 835-7509
carlosl.chavez@state.nm.us

Michael Morrow
Captain
Ruidoso Fire Department
(575) 937-2829
michaelmorrow@ruidoso-nm.gov

Course coordination plan
December 1 - 2, 2016 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Manager
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course coordination plan
December 12 - 13, 2016 Ocala, Florida

Patrick Giacobbe
State Coordinator, NFA Training Programs
Bureau of Fire Standards and Training
(352) 369-2809
patrick.giacobbe@MyFloridaCFO.com

Course coordination plan
February 11 - 12, 2017 St. Cloud, Minnesota

Kevin Sedivy
Fire Service Specialist
MN State Fire Marshal Division
(651) 295-1639
kevin.sedivy@state.mn.us

Michael Thompson
Division Chief of Training
Saint Cloud Fire Department
(320) 492-7825
michael.thompson@ci.stcloud.mn.us

Course coordination plan
February 18 - 19, 2017 Salem, Oregon

Rich Daniel
Fire Training Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 373-0394
rdaniel@dpsst.state.or.us

Rebecca Carroll
Fire Program Support Specialist
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
(503) 378-2408
rebecca.carroll@state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 25 - 26, 2017 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 314-1050
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Marc Rudder
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
marc.rudder@kctcs.edu

Course coordination plan
March 6 - 7, 2017 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Special Projects Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
April 10 - 11, 2017 Minot, North Dakota

Robert Knuth
Training Director
North Dakota Firefighter's Association
(701) 516-4457
rob@ndfa.net

Tim Beach
Assistant Chief
Minot Fire Department
(701) 857-4740
tim.beach@minotnd.org

Course coordination plan
September 7 - 8, 2017 Windsor Locks, Connecticut

Jason Decremer
Program Manager
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9242
jason.decremer@ct.gov

William Higgins
Director of Training
Connecticut Fire Academy
(860) 264-9272
william.higgins@ct.gov

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments