Leadership III for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Supervisory Success (F0805)

One or more offerings for this course have been cancelled. Refer to the Course Schedule below for more information.

Training Specialist

Ken Farmer
ken.farmer@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1871

View Schedule Below

Curriculum: Management Science

This 2-day course provides the company officer with the basic leadership skills and tools to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course covers when and how to delegate to subordinates, assess personal leadership styles through situational leadership, discipline subordinates, and apply coaching/ motivating techniques.

Selection Criteria * Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.* Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within 6 months.* Training officers, staff, or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.
Delivery Type 2-Day Off-Campus
Prerequisites None.
ACE Recommendation In the lower-division baccalaureate/associate degree category, 1 semester hour in fire service administration or public administration.
CEU's 1.2
Post-Course Requirements None.
Student Pre-Course Materials None.
NFPA Standards None.
Student Comments

Course Schedule Information

Dates Availability Location Contact(s)
November 6 - 7, 2014 Cancelled Chelan, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
WSP/FPB Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Pat Moore
Training Captain
Chelan Fire & Rescue
(509) 682-4476
pmoore@cfr7.org

Course Coordination Plan
December 6 - 7, 2014 Ames, Iowa

Randal E. Novak
Bureau Chief
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
novak@dps.state.ia.us

James Kenkel
Special Programs Coordinator
Iowa Fire Service Training Bureau
(888) 469-2374
kenkel@dps.state.ia.us

Course Coordination Plan
December 6 - 7, 2014 Chelan, Washington

Robert P. Jones
Program Manager
WSP/FPB Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
bob.jones@wsp.wa.gov

Pat Moore
Training Captain
Chelan Fire & Rescue
(509) 682-4476
pmoore@cfr7.org

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Owensboro, Kentucky

Jimmy VanCleve
Coordinator
State Fire Rescue Training
(270) 273-3187
jimmy.vancleve@kctcs.edu

Pat Thompson
Director
State Fire Rescue Training
(859) 256-3189
pat.thompson@kctcs.edu

Course Coordination Plan
February 21 - 22, 2015 Lawrence, Kansas

Glenn Pribbenow
Director
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9199
gprib@ku.edu

Todd Miles
Program Manager
Kansas Fire & Rescue Training Institute
(785) 864-9187
milesto@ku.edu

Course Coordination Plan
March 7 - 8, 2015 Galliano , Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
Carrol L. Herring LSU Fire and Emergency Training Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Wayne Cruse
Manager
Carrol L. Herring LSU Fire and Emergency Training Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course Coordination Plan
April 7 - 8, 2015 Bartlett, Tennessee

Jeff Elliott
Fire Service Program Director
TFACA
(931) 294-4151
jeff.elliott@tn.gov

Blake Boros
Training Officer
Bartlett Fire Department
(901) 385-6412
bboros@cityofbartlett.org

Course Coordination Plan