Leadership III for Fire and EMS: Strategies for Supervisory Success F0805

Delivery type 2-Day Off-Campus
ACE recommendation In the lower division baccalaureate/associate degree category, one semester hour in fire service administration or public administration.
CEU’s 1.2
Training Specialist

Kevin Brame
kevin.brame@fema.dhs.gov
301-447-1069

Upcoming offerings

February 20 - 21, 2016 | February 20 - 21, 2016 | February 20 - 21, 2016 | View more

Course description

This two-day course provides the Company Officer with the basic leadership skills and tools to perform effectively in the fire service environment. The course covers when and how to delegate to subordinates, assess personal leadership styles through situational leadership, discipline subordinates, and apply coaching/motivating techniques.

Selection criteria

• Line fire officers, unit commanders, or program supervisors.

• Fire or rescue personnel due for promotion/appointment to officer rank or supervisory position within six months.

• Training officers, staff or administrative officers of fire and rescue organizations.

Prerequisites

None

Upcoming offerings

Dates Availability Location Contact(s) CCP
February 20 - 21, 2016 Salem, Oregon

Mark Ayers
Fire Program Supervisor
Department of Public Safety Standards & Training
(503) 378-2726
firetraining_webcontacts@dpsst.state.or.us

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Kennewick, Washington

John Stuckey
Deputy State Fire Marshal
Washington State Fire Training Academy
(425) 453-3000
john.stuckey@wsp.wa.gov

Edward Dunbar
Captain/Training Officer
BCFD 4
(509) 967-2945
edunbar@bcfd4.org

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Cancelled Placitas, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
(575) 835-7509
CarlosL.Chavez@state.nm.us

Brian Culp
Assistant Chief
Sandoval County Fire Department
(505) 867-0245
bculp@sandovalcountynm.gov

Course coordination plan
February 20 - 21, 2016 Placitas, New Mexico

Carlos Chavez
NFA Course Coordinator
New Mexico Firefighters Training Academy
(575) 835-7509
CarlosL.Chavez@state.nm.us

Brian Culp
Assistant Chief
Sandoval County Fire Department
(505) 867-0245
bculp@sandovalcountynm.gov

Course coordination plan
May 6 - 7, 2016 American Fork, Utah

Chuck Querry
Assistant Director of Fire Training
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy
(801) 863-7740
querrych@uvu.edu

Austin Knight
Training Officer
American Fork Fire Department
(801) 763-3045
aknight@afcity.net

Course coordination plan
May 16 - 17, 2016 Norman, Oklahoma

Caroline Reed
Assistant Director
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-3234
creed@osufst.org

Paddy Metcalf
Fire Fighter Coordinator
Fire Service Training
(405) 744-5727
pmetcalf@osufst.org

Keith Nelson
Chief of Training
Norman Fire Department
(405) 501-1951
Keith.Nelson@normanok.gov

Course coordination plan
May 21 - 22, 2016 Loveland, Colorado

Marianne Maxfield
Certification Manager
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-5878
marianne.maxfield@state.co.us

Mark Quick
State Training Director
Division of Fire Prevention & Control
(303) 239-4600
mark.quick@state.co.us

Course coordination plan
August 18 - 19, 2016 Kenner, Louisiana

Wayne Cruse
Manager
LSU Fire and Emergency Trainining Institute
(225) 202-3722
jcruse1@lsu.edu

Course coordination plan
September 19 - 20, 2016 Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Reid Vaughan
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 343-7414
rvaughan@alabamafirecollege.org

Rick Gregg
Group Supervisor
Alabama Fire College
(205) 391-3753
rgregg@alabamafirecollege.org

Course coordination plan
Post-course requirements None
Comments